Customer Reviews


210 Reviews
5 star:
 (147)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Reconciliation starts here!"
This is a cracking film about the growth of courageous mental and physical athleticism of
two leaders and their groups which are divided by race, conflict and politics, who find
a meeting of minds and begin to be reconciled.

The arena is South African politics and the sporting stage of the Rugby World Cup held in
South Africa in 1995...
Published on 16 May 2012 by P. Worthington

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A film of two halves...
Invictus is a good film; if you love rugby, then it is an excellent film. It retells the 1995 world cup in South Africa (SA) and the political weight that the team carried throughout the competition. Morgan Freeman plays Nelson Mandela, the recently-liberated and newly-elected president of SA who sees the importance of uniting the heavily divided country behind the...
Published on 20 April 2010 by J. Morris


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Reconciliation starts here!", 16 May 2012
By 
P. Worthington (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invictus [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This is a cracking film about the growth of courageous mental and physical athleticism of
two leaders and their groups which are divided by race, conflict and politics, who find
a meeting of minds and begin to be reconciled.

The arena is South African politics and the sporting stage of the Rugby World Cup held in
South Africa in 1995.

The protagonists are the newly appointed President of South Africa, Nelson Mandela (Morgan Freeman)
and his supporters and the Springboks Captain Francois Pienaar (Matt Damon) and his team and his
fans. Mandela realizes for the peaceful harmony of the country they need mutual respect and the
success of each other. This is his goal and ambition.

There are obstacles off the rugby field and on it in the form of teams like England, Australia
and the New Zealand 'All Blacks'.

This film should find many fans for its themes of sport, conflict resolution and reconciliation.

It's a great endeavour and exciting to the final whistle and the celebrations beyond!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 5 July 2010
This review is from: Invictus [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I really enjoyed Invictus. Being a big Rugby fan I was drawn by the fact that the 95 world cup was the backdrop and could remember the building passionate support for the Springboks but of course there was so much more behind it. I though t Morgan Freeman played Mandela superbly and Matt Damon was also good (if you could overlook his size as a supposed International Lock / Flanker). The script was very well written and although Rugby was seen as the link to uniting society, I just wished (as a Rugby fan) the actual game scenes could have been a bit more realistic as they had the feel of a Sunday league match rather than a hard hitting international.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I am the master of my fate: I am the captain of my soul", 29 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Invictus [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I bought this at the supermarket yesterday (although I wish I'd checked the price on Amazon first though, it's much cheaper!), it was a toss up between Meet the Parents/Meet the Fockers box-set, or this film. And I'm so pleased I chose the latter.

Invictus is the story of Nelson Mandela, and how with the help of Springboks Rugby Captain François Pienaar, he helped unite black & whites throughout Africa by winning the 1995 Rugby World Cup.

Nelson Mandela was right when he said that only Morgan Freeman could portray him on the big screen. It baffles me how he did not receive an Oscar for his amazing performance. From the moment the film starts to the very end you believe that he and only he, is Nelson Mandela.

You don't realise how much work Matt Damon put in to prepare for the film until you watch the behind the scenes feature on the DVD. He trained as if he was the Springboks captain. And personally, I don't mind that he doesn't look exactly like the real François Pienaar, because the way he portrays him through dialogue and action is brilliant. He spent days 'hanging' out with François so he could learn how he spoke, walked etc. And all the work that Damon put in was all worth it, as the end result is fabulous.

In the final match against the All Blacks, you find yourself on the edge of your seat. Every time the Springboks score, you find you and your family doing the Mexican wave. It is just that invigorating.

The poem which gave Nelson Mandela the strength to stand up when he just wanted to lie down during his time at Robbin Island, is where the title of the film comes from.

All in all this is brilliant and one I would and will recommend to all my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warning - The Digital copy expired 14/06/2011, 14 July 2011
By 
D. Richards (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Invictus (Blu-ray + DVD Combi Pack) [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is a great film, and i very much enjoyed it, however this is not a "review" as such but a warning / note of caution to anyone buying this version AFTER June 2011.

The digital copy that comes with this film has a code that Expires on 14/06/2011 which means that you will be unable to transfer the digital copy after this date. I bought my copy on 12th July 2011, I tried it anyway and had the "code is expired" message - no joy in trying get around it either as it connects to the Warner Server to authorise the transer/download. The Warner Bros support site is not much help either as it simply states that the digital copy is a "bonus" and the code should have been redeemed by the cut off date. Aparently this is what Warner do to "reward" people who buy the film early on dvd/blu ray. I have emailed them about it, asking for a new one off code, but again they simply told me it was a bonus that has expired there was nothing they could do and that was that. A bit harsh, but there we go.

So, while you do get the Blu ray and DVD versions of this great film at a pretty good price, you won't (sadly) be getting the digital copy if you buy it from after 15th June 2011 making this a "double play" not "triple play" version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest feel-good movies - and not just for rugby fans, 2 April 2013
By 
Nat Whilk (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Whilk," said my PE teacher, "you hardly seem to be playing rugby at all. You just wander around the field like some nomad who's lost his camel."

I venture this autobiographical self-indulgence only to demonstrate that you really, really don't need to be a sports fan to enjoy this extraordinary film. What it's fundamentally about is the great Nelson Mandela, and how, released from a quarter-century's imprisonment to save his country from the septic trauma of apartheid, he saw how the Springboks might help to heal South Africa's terrible injury.

The invaluable Matt Damon, surely as reliable a star as any, gives a powerfully eloquent performance as the Springboks' much-burdened captain, but the film is dominated by Morgan Freeman's masterly portrait of the president. A more perfect conjunction of actor and role it's difficult to imagine: this, I feel, is the part Morgan was born to play. The rest of the huge cast is without a weak link, and Clint Eastwood's direction is as assured as I've come to expect, whether capturing minute nuances of character, putting us amidst the violent drama of the rugby pitch, showing us the beauty of Table Mountain and the poverty of a shanty town or celebrating the splendour of a crowd of sixty thousand in an ecstasy of patriotic fervour.

Warner Brothers have done a fine job of preparing their film for blu-ray. Although the picture doesn't quite match the startling sharpness of the very best demonstration discs, neither does it have any grungy grain to complain about, and the audio gives an equally good account of some magnificent music and the thuds and roars of rugby action. The extras are very generous.

This is, I think, as uplifting a film as I can remember. The tale of Mandela's heroism, wisdom and magnanimity is surely one of the most inspiring of our era. I doubt whether anyone could reach the closing credits of this disc without feeling very, very lucky to have watched it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'TRULY INSPIRING', 10 Jan. 2015
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
'Clint Eastwood' rarely delivers disappointment with the films he directs....this film i can assure you does not 'buck' the trend.
The film starts with 'Nelson Mandela's' (Morgan Freeman) release after '30' years imprisonment and of his rise to President.
However, how does he convince a nation to unite,he sets out to integrate both white and black in within his new Government.
But, many problems lie ahead, the white population are suspicious, and many of the black population remain less than equall.
The national 'Rugby' team are primarily supported by the white population, the opposition are usually cheered on by the black community.
So much division, 'Nelson Mandela' see's an opening that might get the whole country backing the national team during the World-Cup, the team do have a habit of losing however.
'Nelson Mandela' makes it a priority to befriend the 'rugby' captain 'Francois Pienar' (Matt Damon)and get to know the team by name.
This is a brilliantly up-lifting movie, and has obviously been researched to offer authenticity.
'Morgan Freeman' one of today's most respected actor's gives a convincing performance as the man who has the courage to forgive those who done him wrong.
'Matt Damon' an inspiring role as the 'Springbok' Captain who's team along with the presidents support helped unite that which had been divided---a Nation.
Clint Eastwood' has surely directed another 'classic in waiting'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting and inspiring - but oh, no, Matt Damon!, 10 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invictus [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This is a hugely enjoyable movie which charts the rise of Nelson Mandela and his role in bringing in the nation of South Africa together during the 1995 Rugby World Cup. It would be considered corny if it didn't happen to be true. I'm not sure about all the details but the basic facts are there, that Mandela, newly elected to the presidency of South Africa chose reconciliation rather than confrontation with the white minority who had so long oppressed the people he represented. One gesture was to support the Springboks - a major symbol of white supremacy in the past - and to bring the nation together around them in spite of what many of his own supporters who wanted them for ever abolished.
This is steering stuff with Morgan Freeman giving a stunning performance of Mandela. Just why he didn't receive an Oscar for this performance is something only the vagaries of the Academy award system can tell us. He looks like and sounds like the great man himself - it's worth watching the movie just for this one performance. Elsewhere the movie is solidly cast with one unfortunate exception. Well as Matt Damon acts as the Springbok captain François Pienaar, he is simply not physically big enough to be credible in the role. Pienaar was a huge man in every respect and Damon just doesn't have the size to convince. The rugby scenes are quite well done but not in the same league as, say, the action scenes in Friday Night Lights.
However, the rugby is actually incidental to the main action of the film which is about a great statesman rising above the prejudice and hate that were fundamental to the country he inherited. Do see this movie and be inspired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really good watch, 28 Mar. 2012
By 
A. devlin "goodmusic" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Invictus [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I'm a rugby fan, but am also interested in issues surrounding apartheid and the impact this had on South Africa. I watched the 1985 World Cup and was really rooting for the Springboks in the final. I wasn't aware at the time of the significance of Mandela wearing the springbok kit. Nor was I aware of the potential effect of winning or losing on South Africa. I verified the accuracy of some of the content and was impressed by how accurate the dialogue and background was. It really demonstrates Mandela's insight and common sense, wonderfully acted by Morgan Freeman. Although Matt Damon's accent has attracted some criticism, it does not take away from his portrayal of Francois Pinaar, particularly as the pressure upon him begins to sink in. This movie demonstrates the hopelessness and hatred created by apartheid, and you really get a sense of the brilliance and wisdom of Mandela. Morgan Freeman and Matt Damon are believable and manage to transfer how fragile and potentially explosive the situation between blacks and whites was at that time. Well worth watching by sports fans and non sports fans alike. For me, it was more about using the sport, seen as very sensitive by both sides, to unite a nation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invictus DVD, 19 July 2010
By 
M. Varney "Mrs V" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invictus [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
What a fantastic film, especially if you like Rugby and what being part of a squad representing your country is of interest. The story line is also very emotive and it was refreshing to watch such a good film. Morgan Freeman as ever was just fantastic in his role as Nelson Mandella and Matt Damon was pretty hot too. All in all good value for money. Thank you Amazon for such a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Digital Download Version Does Not Work, 3 July 2011
By 
Terry Carter (Dural, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invictus (Blu-ray + DVD Combi Pack) [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Unfortunately the Digital Download version of the movie that is included with this package does not work - it expired on 14 June 2011 and is no longer available
I suggest the product description be amended to reflect this as what I recieved does not deliver a working Digital download
The Blu Ray itself is fine - love the quality of the HD version
and it's a GERAT movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Invictus (Blu-ray + DVD Combi Pack) [2010] [Region Free]
£13.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews