Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Buzzing
Mad Men continues to be excellent drama. For fans, series 3 will be must-watch TV. Those who find the series somewhat static would not see anything here to change their mind. Although the series does build up to a very dramatic final couple of episodes interwoven with the Kennedy assassination. Stuff happens, the writers just take time to make their dramatic point. No...
Published on 27 Feb 2010 by Graham Chapman

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars let down
Unfortunately I didn't find this series "buzzing". I found it slow and a little weak. Disappointing because it's great television.
Published on 2 Nov 2010 by Louisa Maud


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Buzzing, 27 Feb 2010
Mad Men continues to be excellent drama. For fans, series 3 will be must-watch TV. Those who find the series somewhat static would not see anything here to change their mind. Although the series does build up to a very dramatic final couple of episodes interwoven with the Kennedy assassination. Stuff happens, the writers just take time to make their dramatic point. No different to the Sopranos really.

Don and Betty dominate the story lines. I must say, though, I increasingly liked the story threads that came out of the other characters. I perk up when Pete, Peggy, Sal and Roger are on screen. Jon Hamm's anxious, slightly constipated expression can be a bit wearing, though friends continue to insist on his handsomeness.

Series 3 has some good fun with the Brits, coming to spoil the July 4th celebrations. The British agency is called Putnam, Powell and Lowe. (David Puttnam, of course, a Brit - from an advertising background - who took over an American film studio, with not very good results). Although some of the Brit characters are fairly ghastly, one can't say they are more so than the Americans. Treatment is fair and often funny.

Race relations is a recurring theme in this series, My Kentucky Home a standout episode. (Wish I could dance like Vincent Kartheiser.) Pete's suggestion of integrated advertising also a great scene. Mad Men buzzes when this character is in motion. Don, of course, doesn't like to dance.

There is also plenty of screen time for the drama of Don, Betty and family - young and old. Less interesting to me, although the young actress playing the daughter does a great job.

The pleasure remains in the details - the supporting cast, the natty 60s clothes, the colours of the sets and, of course, the excellent script.

'I'm Peggy Olsen. And I want to smoke some marijuana.'

Know the feeling, girl!

If you missed the series on TV, and you were a fan of 1 and 2, I think most would enjoy 3 just as much. Though some of the initial novelty of the show has gone, of course. If you haven't got the dvd, the chance to own the series on blu-ray is also massively appealing. There haven't been many shows more suitable than this for the blu-ray treatment. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every bit as good as the first two seasons - TV at its best!, 13 Mar 2010
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
The third installment in the Mad Man fanchise has not lost any of the sparkle of the first two seasons. The show still does a splendid job of portraying the world of a 1960s Madison Avenue ad agency and the 60s American life more broadly, this time under the new British ownership, with all the strugles that entails.

It is incredibly well researched, with faultless attention to detail and is great at capturing the subtleties of life and work almost 50 years ago.

Don Draper's character perhaps does not develop as much as in the earlier seasons, although more of his past is revealed. The Stepford wives' veneer is starting to crack with some of the spouses and the change of characters is natural and rather better suited to the more realistic pace it could actually take in real life - something that might be somewhat frustrating in the 'immediate gratification' world of today.

The big historical event that is woven into the story is the assasination of JFK. The reaction of the nation is shocking to observe for someone, who was born decades later - in some ways it really seems those were more innocent times.

The ratio between life in the office, at home and in 'extra-curricular activities' is aptly chosen and issues are given adequate time and attention, so as not to fall flat but to be sufficiently multidimensional to actually contribute to the story.

The professional aspect of work in an ad agency is interesting for two reasons - for how the realtionships have changed seismically in some aspects and how in others, shockingly litte progress has been made in the dvertising field for over 4 decades. Sure enough, new media has entered the scene since but having worked in the field, many of the same approaches and methods are being 're-invented' year in, year out, with the industry on the whole largely standing still. On the other hand both the gender and race issues, that are showing the first harbingers of change in the series, are shocking to observe for someone growing generations later. I'd also applaud the show for not coming across as judgemental but showing a portrayal of the world and allowing the audience to draw their own conclusions.

I still believe that this is the best TV show I have seen so far and can warmly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series, 2 Aug 2010
By 
S. Patel (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent TV series based on the advertising world in late 50s and early 60s. More than anything else it provides a glimpse of how corporate life was in that era.

Took me a while to get the hang of it but since then I have been hooked - Just finished watching Series 3.

Buy the boxset, sit back and re-live the old days!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just waiting for season 4 ...., 17 April 2010
By 
dolcevita (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Thank goodness the sun has decided to pay this country a call because I think, without it, I (along with many others, I'm sure!) would have gone into a steady decline with the final eposode of the third series of Man Men having aired on Wednesday evening.
TV viewing will be so much poorer for its finish.

In many ways, this third series has taken more time to get moving and I do agree with other reviewers that its a shame that most of the story lines have revolved around Don & Bettys' seemingly doomed marriage. However, I think to do this sub-plot justice, time had to be spent. And well spent it was indeed, delving deeper into Don's past helps us understand so much more clearly the man behind the persona.

Interestingly, whilst having more sympathy with Betty as the betrayed wife, at the start of season one, throughout this latest series, I have found her to be increasingly irritating. So much so in fact that when her determination to 'open the locked drawer' eventually pays off and she confronts Don with the evidence of his past, every bit of support I ever felt for her left instantly and my heart literally ached for Don's character.
A truly superb piece of acting by Jon Hamm in this scene.

Overall, viewed as a total series, I now believe season three to be more superior to both seasons one and two. However, I also hope that with season four (which the lucky US will start viewing shortly), Matthew Weiner does focus more on the other characters ~ they are all such interesting but so intrincially flawed in their own individual ways ... as are we all I guess!

Again, to reiterate other reviewers, this DVD cannot be viewed as a 'stand alone' as without having seen seasons one & two, it will make little sense.
However, viewed in its entirety, it is, in my personal opinion, without doubt quite the finest piece of television you could ever wish to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant little series.., 3 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This was recommended by a friend and I loved it from the first episode. Great characters, marvellous stereo typing - women should be in the kitchen and not the boardroom. It is very slick - so you don't mind the womanising, excess smoking, excess drinking and appalling child care methods!
It has still got the edge - 3 seasons later, which is impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best ever!, 5 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Mad Men is the best ever series that has been on television. Everything else will be a disappointment in comparison.
The series captures the age perfectly in terms of attitudes and dress of the late 1950s and the early 1960s in the advertising industry in America. The series is cleverly written with plenty of character pauses and reflections. I now have all three dvds in the series and shall certainly look out for more in the future. I shall watch them again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic really, 12 Jun 2010
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Along with Sons of Anarchy this is my other favorite recent US drama, post-The Wire/Sopranos. HBO has since stopped producing the goodies, though of course they produced excellent miniseries in John Adams & The Pacficic, but nothing since in series.

Mad Men seems like every episode is made with so much care, so much sensitivity and atmosphere. The setting is simply stunning, feels very real and draws you in. A great cast of characters, several lead characters. Not a very action driven show but very intriguing, superb dialogue and actors that seem to become immersed in the setting they are portraying. As good as tv gets really, and this 3rd season is no worse than the first two, in fact the plot comes to quite a climax at the end.

Excellent music in this series as well, I know it's already much applauded by others as well. Closing that final episode with Orbison's "Shadaroba" was wonderful, after such an emotional episode. I'll be there for season 4, airing as of this July in the US. 5 stars out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every bit as good as the first two seasons - TV at its best!, 1 Feb 2010
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The third installment in the Mad Man fanchise has not lost any of the sparkle of the first two seasons. The show still does a splendid job of portraying the world of a 1960s Madison Avenue ad agency and the 60s American life more broadly, this time under the new British ownership, with all the strugles that entails.

It is incredibly well researched, with faultless attention to detail and is great at capturing the subtleties of life and work almost 50 years ago.

Don Draper's character perhaps does not develop as much as in the earlier seasons, although more of his past is revealed. The Stepford wives' veneer is starting to crack with some of the spouses and the change of characters is natural and rather better suited to the more realistic pace it could actually take in real life - something that might be somewhat frustrating in the 'immediate gratification' world of today.

The big historical event that is woven into the story is the assasination of JFK. The reaction of the nation is shocking to observe for someone, who was born decades later - in some ways it really seems those were more innocent times.

The ratio between life in the office, at home and in 'extra-curricular activities' is aptly chosen and issues are given adequate time and attention, so as not to fall flat but to be sufficiently multidimensional to actually contribute to the story.

The professional aspect of work in an ad agency is interesting for two reasons - for how the realtionships have changed seismically in some aspects and how in others, shockingly litte progress has been made in the dvertising field for over 4 decades. Sure enough, new media has entered the scene since but having worked in the field, many of the same approaches and methods are being 're-invented' year in, year out, with the industry on the whole largely standing still. On the other hand both the gender and race issues, that are showing the first harbingers of change in the series, are shocking to observe for someone growing generations later. I'd also applaud the show for not coming across as judgemental but showing a portrayal of the world and allowing the audience to draw their own conclusions.

I still believe that this is the best TV show I have seen so far and can warmly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It just gets better., 1 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a late comer to Mad Men - someone let me borrow Season 1, and I thought nothing of it til the last two episodes. Then I was intrigued. Season 2 continued the intrigue and then I bought Seasons 3 and 4 just on the off-chance it would be worth the money, and it was.

While a slower pace than "modern" programmes, once you realise that is purposeful, you relax and enjoy it a bit more.

It honestly does get better as you watch more of it. I find watching the commentaries good as you can get an insight into what the director/producer/actor was aiming for in the episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best show on TV!, 1 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Season 3 still keeps it real!

Don: It's your job. I give you money. You give me ideas.
Peggy: But you never thank me.
Don: That's what the money is for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mad Men - Season 3 [DVD]
Mad Men - Season 3 [DVD] by Matthew Weiner (DVD - 2010)
15.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews