Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best album without a doubt
Gone is the aggressive nature of past albums, though some tracks do retain a hint of edginess.
On the whole a very melodic album, full of beautiful sounding electronic songs which manage to utilise other rhythms rather than sticking to a 4/4 beat all the time.
All of the tracks make the album a great listening experience and as such there is no real highlight,...
Published on 1 Jun 2002

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing
I guess they have done better.

Officianados may approve of this, but it sounds very same-y to general electronica from the period. Perhaps was expecting a bit too much.

Ok as filler on the iPod, but not making it to the five-star list.
Published on 15 Sep 2011 by Darren H.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best album without a doubt, 1 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Gorgeous (Audio CD)
Gone is the aggressive nature of past albums, though some tracks do retain a hint of edginess.
On the whole a very melodic album, full of beautiful sounding electronic songs which manage to utilise other rhythms rather than sticking to a 4/4 beat all the time.
All of the tracks make the album a great listening experience and as such there is no real highlight, all songs are of equal, high quality. (But do check out 'Southern Cross' and 'Nimbus'!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the price for CD2 alone, 17 Dec 2008
This review is from: Gorgeous (Audio CD)
I was initially disappointed with this album after the tougher acid grooves of 90 and ExEl, so much so that I sold my copy. Having got the remastered deluxe editions of those 2 albums and been well chuffed I got the deluxe version of Gorgeous. While CD1 has grown on me the real deal is the CD2 mix of remixes and rarities. This is by far the best offering of all the remixes and rarities that come with the deluxe editions of the four albums from 90 to Don Solaris. The tunes are generally big and pumping but melodic dancefloor numbers, the only surprise being why they werent included on any album first time around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 808 great, 25 Jan 2005
By 
Chandrabhuti/Bhikkshu (Christchurch, Canterbury New Zealand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gorgeous (Audio CD)
this is the only 808 State lp I've heard but have loved it since it came out eons ago. I bought it just because of the cover. I usually only bought hip hop but this was hard enuff to satisfy and with only a couple cheesy vocals I was opened to a whole new world. I bought it again recently and it's still a very diverse lp. I love the raw sounds. Definately a precursor to Chemical Bros soul and other likes but stand well on it's own. great to see it here on amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Bernard.....In reference to the information bar above...., 10 July 2008
This review is from: Gorgeous (1992) (Audio CD)
Moses is sung by Ian McCullough of Echo and the Bunnymen - Not Bernard Sumner of New Order. Bernard sang on Spanish Heart which appeared on Ex:el, their previous album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing, 15 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gorgeous (deluxe edition) (2CD) (Audio CD)
I guess they have done better.

Officianados may approve of this, but it sounds very same-y to general electronica from the period. Perhaps was expecting a bit too much.

Ok as filler on the iPod, but not making it to the five-star list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware-unclean!, 3 Sep 2011
By 
J. Harrison (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gorgeous (MP3 Download)
I feel almost guilty to write a bad review as so many others rate it so highly. However, like the plague, and many other transmittable diseases, avoid this at all costs! It doesn't even sound like a rubbish/lesser band trying to sound like the 808's. If you must, audition it on the 'MP3 Downloads' section. This isn't music or pleasureable and you can't even make a fruit bowl out of it! (that's what happened to unworthy vinyl by the way).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gorgeous (deluxe edition) (2CD)
Gorgeous (deluxe edition) (2CD) by 808 State (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews