Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Final Tour 2004!
This DVD is of The Shadows Final Tour 2004 in Cardiff.
It featurs all the favourites like Apache, FBI, The Savage, Wonderful Land and The Rise and Fall Of Flingel Bunt and many many more.
I loved the slightly altered version of Guitar Tango.
In some songs they use the new Burns Marvin reissue guitar that was released in the same year as the tour.
The...
Published on 26 Oct 2005 by G. K. CHAMPION

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
OK, good points first. This is excellent value - the DVD packs in a lot of music. And the music itself is well played, note perfect throughout. But to an extent that's part of the problem because the show is totally lifeless. There is no soul, no atmosphere. The boys grin and play their music just like they always have, the audience claps politely, and that's it...
Published 14 months ago by Mr. M. Thorpe


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Final Tour 2004!, 26 Oct 2005
By 
This DVD is of The Shadows Final Tour 2004 in Cardiff.
It featurs all the favourites like Apache, FBI, The Savage, Wonderful Land and The Rise and Fall Of Flingel Bunt and many many more.
I loved the slightly altered version of Guitar Tango.
In some songs they use the new Burns Marvin reissue guitar that was released in the same year as the tour.
The bonus feature is an interview with Hank Marvin and Bruce Welch, which I really enjoyed.
This DVD deserves an A*!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out With Style, 25 Nov 2004
By 
K. J. Bertrand "movie lover" (Suffolk England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Final Tour [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
If this really is their final tour, The Shads have really gone out in style. Having been fortunate to attend one of the Final Tour concerts, this DVD is everything the concert was. The sound, picture quality and presentation are of the very best quality, and the price is a snip.
If you are truly a Shads fan, this DVD is a MUST.
Well Done Eagle for a superb production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "A Shadows Dream", 24 Nov 2004
By 
W. Davey (Perth West Aust) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Final Tour [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
As a long time Aussie Shadows fan since 1969, who owns 99% of their recorded output, I have to rate this DVD as the best yet. It bought tears to my eyes!! 41 Classic Shadows tracks, beatifully performed, recorded and filmed. Alas I could not get to the UK for the concerts, but can now have them perform right in my living room. Extra nice to have the audience in the sound background, not the foreground like a lot of "Live" Recordings.
If you like instrumental music, you must have this DVD. Their vocal tracks are good too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu Star Shadows, 23 Jun 2010
By 
W. Davey (Perth West Aust) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Final Tour [Blu-ray] [2010]
Having been a long time Shadows Fan, I have owned their music on every recorded form ever available (except Edison Drum and 78, which were in just before the Shadows started). It is only fitting that their fabulous work gets aired on Blu-ray. This concert was wonderfull on DVD as it was an excellent recording of these master musicians. The Blu-ray is excellent too. Maybe not the best HD Picture quality around, but still quite good. The DTS HD Master Audio sound makes it worth the new investment. It could only be better if they were actually playing in your lounge room, they wont fit in mine, so the Blu-ray will do just fine.
My only complaint is Amazon cutting he price by 33% after release. So Much for Pre-ordering!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just great, 7 Aug 2010
By 
B. Woodend (PRESTON LANCASHIRE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Final Tour [Blu-ray] [2010]
i have bought this on blu-ray and just love it i have been a fan since the the late fifties up to know not just on there own even when they backed cliff as well i saw them twice live at preston but missed there final tour so this blue -ray makes up for it all i want know is HANK PLAY'S LIVE on blue-ray and CLIFF and THE SHADOWS FINAL REUNION on blue-ray and then i will be happy.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than ever, 10 Nov 2004
This review is from: The Final Tour [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Got my DVD today, the 10th of november.
These guys seem to be in better shape than ever, hopefully
they can be around for many decades to come, good musicians
seem to age slowly ;) Looking forward to see them in April
when they will have a concert in Gothenburg.
The DVD is superb,excellent picture and sound,
and I love the interview section,
which gives us interesting information about their career.
This is a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Any Shadows fan MUST buy this (I'd give it four and a half), 30 Sep 2005
With just a couple of very minor niggles, this is a superb DVD. Absolutely wonderful.
The track list is immense. Think of a hit they recorded, and it's here .. and they really look as if they're enjoying themselves as well. Sound and vision are excellent and the performance is a veritable marathon.
Even better, the bonus 'Final tour interview' is actually very interesting (45 minutes) and isn't riddled with the usual looning that Hank would sometimes give in to. Hank and Bruce (and later, Brian) give a detailed and fascinating insight into the history of the group and their relationships.
And the niggles?
I was never a massive fan of the Shadows as singers or as Cliff's backing group, and there are maybe a few too many songs for my taste. Not all that many, it must be said, so don't be put off. At least you can skip over them. Also, some fans may snipe at Cliff's involvement - but he was, after all, a key part of their history and it's only right he should be included. You can always skip past him as well if you wish.
But when all is said and done - it's the Shadows as instrumentalists that you and I probably want to see and hear - and of that there is a veritable feast on this excellent DVD.
My copy is Region 1 NTSC - so check to see what other versions may be available or to make sure you can play it on your machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a way to go!!!!, 5 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Final Tour [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Someone once said "always leave them wanting a bit more"
Well The Shadows have done that. I will always want more and more, so I guess I will be playing this DVD many times.
It is superb in every way. Each member of The Shadows is well featured throughout. It is well produced especially the sound balance.
Eagle you have a winner on your hands here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Shadows - The Final Tour, 16 Jan 2005
This review is from: The Final Tour [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Their finest concert ever! The whole show is on this DVD, some 41 insrumentals and songs. The sound is outstanding, and Bruce Welch's rhythm playing is a joy to listen to! Brilliant!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best ever concert dvd, 22 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Final Tour [Blu-ray] [2010]
This is awesome. The sound and picture on blue ray is brilliant as is the playing of the shads, still fantastic to the end. Sell your soul for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Final Tour [Blu-ray] [2010]
The Final Tour [Blu-ray] [2010] by The Shadows (2010)
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews