Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb series which travels far beyond the Pyramids
This excellent short series traces the path of the Nile through five countries, from its famous flood-plains in Egypt upriver to the scorching landscape of Sudan, through the flourishing countryside of Ethiopia and the Rwandan jungles, back to its source. Along the way Joanna Lumley meets the people who live next to and depend upon the river, and she looks at how it has...
Published on 9 May 2010 by Rowena Hoseason

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Where's the Nile
I thought nthat this was going to be a tavel DVD but there is too much Joanna Lumley and not enough Nile.
Published 3 days ago by James Wells


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb series which travels far beyond the Pyramids, 9 May 2010
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Joanna Lumley's Nile [DVD][2010] (DVD)
This excellent short series traces the path of the Nile through five countries, from its famous flood-plains in Egypt upriver to the scorching landscape of Sudan, through the flourishing countryside of Ethiopia and the Rwandan jungles, back to its source. Along the way Joanna Lumley meets the people who live next to and depend upon the river, and she looks at how it has influenced their lives, culture and the history of the regions.
Throughout each programme JL is charming and self-effacing. She always treats the people she meets with respect, never mocking their customs or patronising them. There are moments where she joins in the humour of the moment - or makes a joke at her own expense - but unlike some travelogue presenters she refrains from raising an ironic eyebrow or imposing western judgment onto older traditions.

The series examines how the Nile works as a form of transport (now and in ancient history: it's how the building materials for the pyramids were delivered), how it provides irrigation for agriculture, and how it offers the luxury of holidays alongside the basic necessity of life. JL travels over 4000 miles - some of it on the river but much alongside, driving through the wilds to meet the people of the region. This provides some stunning film of truly awesome landscapes - not least in Ethiopia which is radically different to the normal newsreel footage of drought and desperation.
There are many high point in this series which make it well worth watching. For instance, some of the lakes featured are so big they appear to be inland seas; JL plainly adored the camel she rode, and she meets some amazing people - like the girls who train to be international runners in the mountain of Ethiopia, cheerful and determined, with holes in their shoes. She's also brave enough to undergo a somewhat unusual, traditional beauty treatment, all done very graciously and with an open mind.

When JL finally hacks her way through the jungle (avoiding biting ants, long grass, swamps and such) she is rewarded by a sign which says `you have found the source of the Nile'. It brings a lump to you throat!

So overall this is a very entertaining travelogue which offers a broader view of life near the Nile than you'd normally see. JL is an excellent presenter. The series works particularly well on DVD, without being interrupted by commercial breaks. This series doesn't pretend to offer an in-depth history or a gritty social commentary, but it makes for surprisingly rewarding and informative entertainment. I would have liked to see longer or more episodes in more depth.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's worth getting this to avoid the adverts, 3 May 2010
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Joanna Lumley's Nile [DVD][2010] (DVD)
This series has literally just finished on TV and it has been an enthralling journey. One thing that always spoils ITV documentaries is the preponderance of adverts so that alone makes the DVD release welcome, as well as the promised extras. Ms Lumley is the gracious host you would expect and her obvious awe, excitement and enjoyment of the journey means that the programmes rattle along. Of course such a massive endeavour cannot be totally faithfully reproduced in this medium which means that some of the interesting features and people she meets are dealt with a bit swiftly and we wish there was time to go into some subjects in greater detail. However some of the wildlife we come across is totally fascinating (watch out for the mubwindi bird!) and Ms Lumley's reverance and delight at being at the newly discovered true source of the Nile is truly heartwarming.
The camera work is superb and some of the images are breathtaking. A top notch documentary series all told and it is just a shame that ITV seem to make so few programmes of this quality - more please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joanna Lumley's Nile, 11 Jun. 2010
By 
Dr. Keith Snow (Ongar Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joanna Lumley's Nile [DVD][2010] (DVD)
A fascinating journey down the Nile from its outlet in the Mediterranean to its source in deepest Africa. Joanna Lumley's enthusiatic presentation adds to the entertainment of the programme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD version of the fantastic TV series., 7 Jun. 2010
By 
Peter Jackson "pip" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joanna Lumley's Nile [DVD][2010] (DVD)
If you missed the TV series this is a must. If you watched it, then this is surely one to keep.
Gives lots of facts about the whole length of the Nile - absolutely charming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joanna's Travelogue, 15 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joanna Lumley's Nile [DVD][2010] (DVD)
Like many people I find anything Joanna does throughly captivating. I bought this DVD as a present for my daughter who lives in the USA. I hoped that it would give her a taste of star of England she misses and it did. Joanna's commentary is friendly and real and always perfectly presented, and here again she winkles out some unusual people and places for us to see. In her commentary Joanna seems so genuinely interested in the many people she meets, and places she sees in this memorable odyssey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Of The Nile, 10 Jan. 2015
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Joanna Lumley's Nile [DVD][2010] (DVD)
We have all heard of the Nile, that mysterious river that flows through Africa. I have friends who have taken a Nile cruise, but not the entire river. In fact, seeing the Nike all by River is impossible. There are too many warring tribes in some parts of Uganda and Rwanda to make this possible. This is all an informational note to let you know what a wonderful experience you are about to have once you watch this 4 part series. Joanna Lumley, the English actress, takes us along on her experience, exploring the Nile from the top in Egypt to Rwanda, the source for the Nile, 4,000 miles later. Johanna has a lovely whispery voice that puts yes at ease right away. She is kind and welcoming to all the porters, guides, trades people, she meets along the way. She has quite a retinue who are filming this documentary, and the result is superb. I enjoyed this documentary immensely, each of the four parts is about 45 minutes long, filmed expertly, and filled with sights that are just spectacular.

This four-part series goes through five countries, variety of cities and communities, and Joanna tales part in excursions along the way. It begins in Egypt with a side trip to the pyramids. We are privy to the private train cars and luxurious river cruises, that Joanna takes part. Then to historical sites in Khartoum, crossing the desert by car, and into the luxurious beauty of Ethiopia. Johanna loved her experiences and the beauty of Ethiopia. We meet the famous 'Girls Gotta Run', girls from small towns in Ethiopia, who train to run in the thin mountain air, they run to become first class runners. What an extraordinary adventure to meet them. And, then, finally to Lake Victoria in Uganda and then deep into the wilderness in Rwanda in hopes of finding the source of the Nile.

Joanna Lumley is beautiful, a vegetarian and maintains a lithe figure. She wears heavy eye make-up all the time, but, indeed, her eyes are a beautiful feature. Her clothing for the most part is beige, whitish/ tan linen. But, when needed,she puts on the boots and the gear needed to climb into the mountains. She has a very stoic nature, and her adventures are many and varied. Her temperament is warm and welcoming. She is a superb guide. She has a good sense of humor and is self deprecating.

We are privy to all the cultures along the Nike. Joan a talks with families and other native people's, so that we get a feel for this part of the country. She tries native found and drink. One if the more fascinating parts for me was the interview and climb with Cam McLeay, the explorer who discovered the true source of the Nile in 2006.

I found the entire four part series superb. Joanna Lumley has a similar series on a trip to Greece. That is my next view.

Highly Recommended. prisrob 01-10-15
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating series - review of the programmes not DVD, 2 Dec. 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joanna Lumley's Nile [DVD][2010] (DVD)
I had just returned from a fabulous Nile cruise studying the archaeology, temples, Valley of the Kings and so on when this series started. It instantly brought it all back again, although she spent part of her time on the Nile, she did not go to all the typical tourist destinations, but Egypt's dry heat (40 degres plaus which I loved) came through the screen.

Her journey to find the sources of the Nile is not one everyone can enjoy and she made the best of, showing off the countries and their peoples to perfection. For anyone looking far afield who loves travel or is just interested in these parts of the world, it is an excellent introduction and Lumley is a good presenter who does not get in the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real adventure, 20 Oct. 2011
By 
Dianne Hardwick (Brisbane) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joanna Lumley's Nile [DVD][2010] (DVD)
This series begins with Joanna Lumley taking us from comfortable rail travel and hotel luxury into the heart of African desert. She is always enthusiastic and has genuine interest in the people she speaks with on her way to find the cource of the Nile. An unusual and light hearted travel story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh the pleasure!, 20 Oct. 2012
By 
Nanfran (CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joanna Lumley's Nile [DVD][2010] (DVD)
Oh the pleasure of traveling with the charming Joanna Lumley on this long journey! Joanna undertakes this journey with her usual enthusiasm, grace and spirit, and the result is superb. In anyone else's hands this journey would be an incredible experience (even to the armchair traveler) but with this classy lady as our host it is beyond incredible. I especially appreciate her genuine respect for the local people she encounters, and the ease with which she interacts with them. This admirable trait of hers comes through in all three of the Lumley travel DVDs I own. It's pure joy to watch them multiple times! I hope she continues to make travel documentaries for a long time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joanna Lumley's NILE DVD, 10 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joanna Lumley's Nile [DVD][2010] (DVD)
I watched to the first two parts in the uk on the bbc, and as I was going to miss the last two parts I decieded to buy the DVD from Amozon to take back to Australia.
This DVD is absolutly fabulous, I just love Joanna and how she puts things across, my husband and I laughed with her all the way through and I so related to Joanna as I myself also an army brat of the same age.

Everyone should watch this if you are interested in this part of the world. its great.

Thank you Joanna, looking forward to your next big trip.

Carol jones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Joanna Lumley's Nile [DVD][2010]
Joanna Lumley's Nile [DVD][2010] by Joanna Lumley (DVD - 2010)
£9.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews