Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars312
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 February 2016
Beautiful human
Down from the trees
And on to the moon
Dreaming the future
And where it will lead

Beautiful human
Don't be afraid
Time is a constant
River of change
Without night or day

Beautiful human
As good as it gets
Earth was made for you
Don't fight each other
Over the right to be
Equally human.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
As a person who has a strong interest in the stars, skies and the planets this seemed like a natural buy for me; and I wasn't wrong.

Presented by the brilliant Brian Cox, this follows the story of our solar system as it leads from planet to planet, including moons, asteroid belts and even massively active volcanoes that you see close up. Brian Co is enigmatic and superb as the presenter, explaining things in simpler and easier detail for those less-able to easily understand. this makes the program open to all audiences - and this series is even used within schools to teach the kids about our solar system and the universe around us.

Top-notch graphics help explain this as we whizz around our universe seeing unseen things and travelling to distant worlds, where Cox explains about the planet, its features moons and even how habitable it is.

If you are interested in the solar system, you should definitely get this. Following this, there is also the exciting Wonders of the Universe that is just as entertaining, exciting and egotistically rammed full of facts.

This comes highly recommended both in a personal and academic sense.

5*****
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
I think that even if I didn't like astronomy I'd learn to love it - Prof. Cox's enthusiasm for his subject is infectious. On top of that, the series contains breathtaking images of our solar system, the intricacies of which are demystified using simple terms and a down-to-earth manner. Sometimes what happens on other planets is explained using analogies from Earth phenomena, which means that we get to see some amazing places of our planet too. All in all a must-have series for the astronomy buff and a feast for the eyes and ears of everyone else.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
Nice but a bit dull on the long term. The description of alien worlds is strengthened by parallel with wonders of our own planet, which is a very nice idea and a new point of view. Only thing Cox is everywhere, goes everywhere fills everything... a bit invasive ego, that's it. But altogether this is very nice and my son liked it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
The very modern Prof Brian Cox stretches the resources of the BBC to come up with a new standard of audio/visual documentary that will have most people watching it again and again. With Wonders Of The Universe, plus recent news of Prof Cox's fellow scientists at the Large Hadron Collider at Cern having found the so-called "God Particle", the "Higg's Boson", many more people will go just one step further, and try to understand "what the dickens are they on about". If you do not want to do even that, just watch the pictures, they will astound you. Luxury Armchair Travel .
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is just placing us in space. We tend to imagine we live on Earth alone when in fact we are totally a part of 'out there'. This is a very accessible look at our nearest 'out there'. Brilliantly done in a way others have tried and failed to do - by a bright 'pop star' no less! This should be in everyone's Bluray library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
Brian Cox is a very enthusiastic presenter of science from his "wide-eyed" perspective grounded in physics. This is the sort of programme that will stimulate enthusiasm for science (in this case astronomy based) that is much needed to encourage the next generation of scientist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
Another amazing DVD from the professor Brian cox stable.This guy really knows his subject and not only is he passionate about it,but he has a knack for conveying his enthusiasm to the viewers .I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
After watching Dr. Iain Stewart's 'Earth: The Power Of The Planet' and reading the great book to go with it, I didn't think a Geological/Astronomical BBC series could get much better or more interesting. I was wrong. The Wonders Of The Solar System is a magnificent series which had me facinated from the get go, to the very last sentence
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
EASILY understood and enthusiastically presented, went on a little bit too much on some topics, for e.g on IO, one of the moons of Saturn. But engagingly explained that made the Physics behind it all sound fun and easy to understand. One of its strongest points were the great graphics.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)