Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars313
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£5.44+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 October 2013
As a person who has a strong interest in the stars, skies and the planets this seemed like a natural buy for me; and I wasn't wrong.

Presented by the brilliant Brian Cox, this follows the story of our solar system as it leads from planet to planet, including moons, asteroid belts and even massively active volcanoes that you see close up. Brian Co is enigmatic and superb as the presenter, explaining things in simpler and easier detail for those less-able to easily understand. this makes the program open to all audiences - and this series is even used within schools to teach the kids about our solar system and the universe around us.

Top-notch graphics help explain this as we whizz around our universe seeing unseen things and travelling to distant worlds, where Cox explains about the planet, its features moons and even how habitable it is.

If you are interested in the solar system, you should definitely get this. Following this, there is also the exciting Wonders of the Universe that is just as entertaining, exciting and egotistically rammed full of facts.

This comes highly recommended both in a personal and academic sense.

5*****
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
I think that even if I didn't like astronomy I'd learn to love it - Prof. Cox's enthusiasm for his subject is infectious. On top of that, the series contains breathtaking images of our solar system, the intricacies of which are demystified using simple terms and a down-to-earth manner. Sometimes what happens on other planets is explained using analogies from Earth phenomena, which means that we get to see some amazing places of our planet too. All in all a must-have series for the astronomy buff and a feast for the eyes and ears of everyone else.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
Nice but a bit dull on the long term. The description of alien worlds is strengthened by parallel with wonders of our own planet, which is a very nice idea and a new point of view. Only thing Cox is everywhere, goes everywhere fills everything... a bit invasive ego, that's it. But altogether this is very nice and my son liked it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
The very modern Prof Brian Cox stretches the resources of the BBC to come up with a new standard of audio/visual documentary that will have most people watching it again and again. With Wonders Of The Universe, plus recent news of Prof Cox's fellow scientists at the Large Hadron Collider at Cern having found the so-called "God Particle", the "Higg's Boson", many more people will go just one step further, and try to understand "what the dickens are they on about". If you do not want to do even that, just watch the pictures, they will astound you. Luxury Armchair Travel .
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is just placing us in space. We tend to imagine we live on Earth alone when in fact we are totally a part of 'out there'. This is a very accessible look at our nearest 'out there'. Brilliantly done in a way others have tried and failed to do - by a bright 'pop star' no less! This should be in everyone's Bluray library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
Brian Cox is a very enthusiastic presenter of science from his "wide-eyed" perspective grounded in physics. This is the sort of programme that will stimulate enthusiasm for science (in this case astronomy based) that is much needed to encourage the next generation of scientist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
Another amazing DVD from the professor Brian cox stable.This guy really knows his subject and not only is he passionate about it,but he has a knack for conveying his enthusiasm to the viewers .I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
After watching Dr. Iain Stewart's 'Earth: The Power Of The Planet' and reading the great book to go with it, I didn't think a Geological/Astronomical BBC series could get much better or more interesting. I was wrong. The Wonders Of The Solar System is a magnificent series which had me facinated from the get go, to the very last sentence
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
EASILY understood and enthusiastically presented, went on a little bit too much on some topics, for e.g on IO, one of the moons of Saturn. But engagingly explained that made the Physics behind it all sound fun and easy to understand. One of its strongest points were the great graphics.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2012
Wonders totally blew me away when it was on the telly, I've always has an interest in everything astronomical and this explains in easy terms what's going on out there and how everything is connected in fascinating ways. Loved watching this and I would highly recommend this bluray for a greater understanding of our close planetary neighbours and moons to anyone with even a slight interest.

1. "Empire of the Sun"
The first episode illustrates how the formation and behaviour of the Sun affects each planet in the Solar System. During this episode, Cox visits India to view and explain the workings of a total solar eclipse. The Aurora Borealis is also seen in Norway and an explanation of the power of the Sun occurs in Death Valley, California, USA.

2. "Order Out of Chaos"
Cox starts this episode in Al-Qayrawan, Tunisia to analyse the orbit of the planets around our Sun, with details on how the tilt of the Earth creates the seasons. He also visits the Atlas Mountains and provides an explanation of the how we see the orbit of Mars. This episode also provides an insight on the rings of Saturn and the geysers of Enceladus, including images shown as seen from the Cassini-Huygens space probe.

3. "The Thin Blue Line"
The third episode looks at the atmosphere of the planets and moons of the Solar System, with Earth, Mars, and Titan being the main focus. The episode starts with Cox taking a journey in an English Electric Lightning piloted by "Mike Beachy Head" up to an altitude "between 55 and 60 thousand feet" where the "thinness and fragility" of the atmosphere could be observed in the middle of the day transitioning "from light blue to dark blue to black". Later, the Namib Desert is seen and used to give an explanation on how the Earth keeps its temperature, along with comparisons made to Mars. An in-depth look at Titan is seen with footage shown from the Huygens probe descent down to the surface of the moon.

4. "Dead or Alive"
The fourth episode begins at the Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA, and immediate comparisons are drawn to Mars and the Valles Marineris. A trip to Kîlauea on Hawaii shows the geological activity of Earth, and again a comparison to Mars and Olympus Mons is seen. An analysis of Jupiter's gravitational effect is given with how it could potentially send an asteroid on a collision course with Earth. The same gravitational force is also shown to give the Jovian moon Io geological life.

5. "Aliens"
The final instalment covers life surviving in extreme environments, and how the search for life on other worlds follows the search for water, focusing on Mars, and on Jupiter's moon Europa. Cox begins by travelling to the deep ocean to draw comparisons between space travel. The Atacama Desert in South America is also viewed, which is seen to explain the lack of life found there. A trip to the Scablands in North-West America is also made with an explanation of the Missoula Floods that once occurred there, and how it shaped the landscape geologically. More examinations of life come with a trip to Mexico and how life survives in caves.

All in all a mesmerising journey presently beautifully in bluray format with stunning 5.1 truehd audio.

Great value for money, go for it.

Billion,Billion,Billion,Billion,Billion,Billion,Billion,Billion,Billion,Billion,Billion lol ;D
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)