Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant and Classic!
This is a wonderful piece of social history brought to life. Don't be put off by thinking it is just another lesbian drama made for cheap thrills. Whatever your sexual preferences this is a touching and thought provoking film.

It is the true story of Miss Anne Lister of Shibden Hall, Yorkshire, who thwarted the pre-Victorian ideal of marrying a wealthy man and...
Published on 7 Jun. 2010 by Grace Poole

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but I was expecting more...
It's not a bad film, but I was expecting more from it...I didn't like the main character of Anne Lister at all while watching the film...she's a bit of a "predator" when she's trying to seduce women and I didn't find her at all interesting. Sometimes she's even mean and tactless. But she was very brave and wasn't afraid of being a lesbian at the time, so I do...
Published 15 months ago by Valentina Marangoni


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant and Classic!, 7 Jun. 2010
By 
Grace Poole (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Diaries of Miss Anne Lister [DVD] (DVD)
This is a wonderful piece of social history brought to life. Don't be put off by thinking it is just another lesbian drama made for cheap thrills. Whatever your sexual preferences this is a touching and thought provoking film.

It is the true story of Miss Anne Lister of Shibden Hall, Yorkshire, who thwarted the pre-Victorian ideal of marrying a wealthy man and providing an heir. I think she must have been one gutsy lady to live her life true to her heart despite knowing that people were sniggering behind her back and even calling her "gentleman Jack". She was also a learned lady and had a head for business. Very interesting from a historical point of view. I've no doubt many women at that time must have lived together as a couple, but in denial and with an excuse of some kind. Anne Lister was ahead of her time in thinking that she could live openly with her female lover as a married couple and be accepted by society. I thought Maxine Peake's performance was amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yearning on the moors...with corsets, 18 May 2010
By 
Clare (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Secret Diaries of Miss Anne Lister [DVD] (DVD)
This film dramatises a little piece of lesbian history - the extraordinarily explicit diaries of Halifax lesbian Anne Lister, which she wrote in a complicated code. If you are a lesbian and you don't know about Anne, you're in for a real treat, and if you do know about her, this is a great realisation of her story on screen. Anne is fairly wealthy, totally unabashed in pursuing her alliances and yet also has a yearning restlessness about her which is perfectly brought out in the film. The objects of her affections are often more susceptible to societal pressure and the film turns on her search for a woman who will be her 'one true companion'a quest with several false leads, including her best friend who loves her but who isn't loved in return.

It's heartwarming rather than sexy (although there are some charged love scenes) but this film shouldn't be dismissed as a worthy curiosity. There's some great performances, a real sense of connection between the actresses and a great story, which just happens to be true. Who knew Halifax was so exciting?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but I was expecting more..., 11 Jan. 2014
By 
Valentina Marangoni (Barcelona, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Diaries of Miss Anne Lister [DVD] (DVD)
It's not a bad film, but I was expecting more from it...I didn't like the main character of Anne Lister at all while watching the film...she's a bit of a "predator" when she's trying to seduce women and I didn't find her at all interesting. Sometimes she's even mean and tactless. But she was very brave and wasn't afraid of being a lesbian at the time, so I do admire her for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE SECRET DIARIES OF ANN LISTER, 18 Aug. 2010
By 
MISS UPTON (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Diaries of Miss Anne Lister [DVD] (DVD)
A BELOVED AND BEAUTIFULL TALE BROUGHT TO SCREEN. ONE WOMAN'S POWERFULL STORY OF THE SEARCH FOR TRUE LOVE, ANN, OFTEN DESPAIRING AT THE ATTITUDE'S, AND OFTEN SNOBBISH BEHAVIOUR OF HER SO CALLED SOCIAL CIRCLE.
I HAVE READ THE BOOK ( IT TAKE'S A WHILE TO ADAPT TO THE WAY PEOPLE SPOKE, CIRCA 1800'S ) BUT IF YOU FIND THE BOOK " HEAVY GOING " THIS DVD FROM AMAZON EXPLAIN'S ALL.
A TRUE TALE OF LESBIAN LOVE IN A " MAN'S WORLD "
HEARTILY RECOMMENDED. 4****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is a lovely and exciting story about a woman who suffered so much for her real love and struggled against society, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Diaries of Miss Anne Lister [DVD] (DVD)
the secret diaries of miss anne lister is a lovely and exciting story about a woman who suffered so much for her real love and struggled against society in those years. I really love this film, it really worth to watch it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film!, 27 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Diaries of Miss Anne Lister [DVD] (DVD)
Interesting storyline and good acting. Reminded me of 'Tipping the Velvet'. Well worth watching if you like lesbian period dramas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant! a must watch!, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Diaries of Miss Anne Lister [DVD] (DVD)
Great story, great acting, Maxine peak is one of my favourite thespians.
My only gripe would be that it was to short!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great value, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Diaries of Miss Anne Lister [DVD] (DVD)
love the product and the price was excellent. I rate this item very highly and would recommend to other buyers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars check out the extras, 5 Jan. 2013
By 
This review is from: The Secret Diaries of Miss Anne Lister [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this after visiting Anne Lister's home, Shibden Hall in Halifax (really, really interesting visit). Wasn't hugely impressed with the drama itself to be honest; seemed to lack a certain depth of character and warmth; however the accompanying biographical featurette with Sue Perkins is an absolute joy. Worth viewing on its own as a stand-alone documentary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable but surely there is much more to Anne Lister..., 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Diaries of Miss Anne Lister [DVD] (DVD)
Thoroughly enjoyed this especially as my Wife and I had visited Shibden Hall no more than 2 weeks prior to seeing it. Another Plus is watching MAxine Peake playing the part of this Formidable 19th Century Pro-Feminist and I hesitate to add... Lesbian. On being a Lesbian, there is no doubt about her sexuality but I fear too often, Miss Anne Lister is remembered for this alone. The film focuses on her sexuality, played convincingly by Peake, and only partly, I fear, manages to convey the strength and determination of this unique woman, rubbing shoulders with many peers who openly frown upon her demeanour, indeed, she managed to stand up to not only formidable women but also men, who towered above her, socially speaking and still she managed to come out fighting, very often winning many battles. In particular I recall her determination not to rent some of her land to a successful Mining Entrepreneur and so set off in deliberate defiance to build a colliery of her own at the end of her garden. And build it she did. I suspect this film is but only a small fragment of a much larger and perhaps more rich tapestry which made up the complex, studious and determined being we know as Miss Anne Lister. Are there not some 4 million words recorded in her many detailed diaries? We are told they have been de-ciphered. Much of her life was obviously spent in a loveless existence, almost entirely due to her first true love's tratorious marriage. Following on from this rejection, Anne vowed to spend the rest of her life wearing only black, thus...'freeing myself of the tyranny of fashion'. One of these awful black costumes appears in many scenes quite often resembling a flock of starlings, squashed and glued to her...Although a great film to watch, I am left feeling there could or rather SHOULD have been more footage. Pehaps a 6 part series?? It still is there for the making I am sure. Perhaps I need to get a copy of the translated diaries and discover for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Secret Diaries of Miss Anne Lister [DVD]
£6.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews