Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good
Melody is out-of-work and out-of-love and now she finds out she's dying. She decides to spend her remaining days holed up in a penthouse apartment with a phone and her credit cards, and she also wants to rekindle her childhood love affair with a shiny, red electric guitar.

I hadn't heard of this movie and didn't expect it to be any good, but happily, I was...
Published on 22 Feb. 2009 by Kona

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Two And A Half Stars
Beautiful New Yorker Melody Wilder is diagnosed with terminal cancer, loses her job and gets dumped by her boyfriend all in the space of one day (very believable), so decides to live out the rest of her days impulsively and without regard for the consequences. She moves into a big appartment and proceeds to fill it with all the material possessions she never had. Saffron...
Published on 23 Dec. 2011 by BoatDrinks


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 22 Feb. 2009
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Melody is out-of-work and out-of-love and now she finds out she's dying. She decides to spend her remaining days holed up in a penthouse apartment with a phone and her credit cards, and she also wants to rekindle her childhood love affair with a shiny, red electric guitar.

I hadn't heard of this movie and didn't expect it to be any good, but happily, I was wrong! This is a well-made indie film with a compelling script, convincing actors, and clever direction and photography that keeps it moving at a brisk pace. Saffron Burrows ably carries the film as the ailing Melody. She was very sympathetic and I was pulling for her from the start. I felt her reaction to having a short time to live was believable and endearing. Filmed on location in New York City, there is a real urban feel to the movie; it's full of energy but also overflowing with desperation and the all-alone-in-a-crowd feeling.

This didn't look or feel like a low-budget movie at all; it felt like a labor of love for the cast and especially for the director, whose commentary is very interesting. Engrossing and entertaining!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolutely Stunning film........!!!!, 23 Mar. 2014
By 
Mrs. M. L. Scurfield (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guitar [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I would recommend this film to everyone! A very heart warming story! Teaching us ALL to live in the moment, and make the most of our lives. Love is ALL we need!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely and quirky surprise!, 6 Jan. 2015
This review is from: The Guitar (Amazon Instant Video)
A little gem of a movie. I thought this was going to be a weepie and depressing film about a young girl dying that might be cliche-ridden and was about to switch to something else. Then from nowhere it produced a bagful of surprises and became funny, poignant, uplifting and powerful. It makes you feel refreshed and makes you question much about your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thoroughly watchable, 1 Feb. 2015
This review is from: The Guitar (Amazon Instant Video)
uplifting. slightly daft but thoroughly enjoyable. Ms Burrows is great. some naff guitar-miming towards the end but it didn't detract.I would definitely welcome a series to continue the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Living life to the max, 9 Mar. 2009
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Short Attention Span Summary (SASS):

1. Once upon a time there was a young woman named Melody (Saffron Burrows)
2. Her doctor (Janeane Garofalo) gives her the truth about life and tumors
3. Her boss gives her the axe
4. Her boyfriend needs space
5. After brief contemplation of death, she decides to live a little
6. She rents a spacious loft on a short term lease, and proceeds to fill it with everything her heart desires, including an axe (a Fender Stratocaster 1963, if you want to be specific)
7. She gets special deliveries from the parcel guy and the delivery girl.
8. Life goes on.

Most of the good stuff in this movie can be seen in the trailer, which if made a little longer might actually have been better than the movie itself. Great trailer that!

Normally this isn't the kind of movie that you'd go out of your way to watch, but the thing that holds your attention is the transformation of the down-trodden young woman of the first few scenes into this sensuous guitar-wielding free spirit, achieved purely through a total disregard for consequences.

Unrealistic situations almost overpower this movie, but it's still a lot better than I expected, largely due to a haunting (and offbeat) performance by Burrows.

Recommended for those with the urge for something a little different. Rated: 3.5 stars

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Two And A Half Stars, 23 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guitar [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Beautiful New Yorker Melody Wilder is diagnosed with terminal cancer, loses her job and gets dumped by her boyfriend all in the space of one day (very believable), so decides to live out the rest of her days impulsively and without regard for the consequences. She moves into a big appartment and proceeds to fill it with all the material possessions she never had. Saffron Burrows tackles the role with conviction and looks gorgeous swanning around her swanky new pad, having bi-sexual affairs and playing electric guitar in the nude.

The film's twist is ludicrous but necessary since without it the story serves no real purpose. I suppose the writer is suggesting that we should live our lives in the moment and with spontaneity. However, I felt the movie's central message was that if you sleep with delivery drivers all your problems will just fade away. I know for a fact this is untrue because my sister had a one night stand with a bloke from Comet and she ended up with syphillis.

The Guitar is a watchable movie but it's not particularly engaging or involving, and I think many will find it quite tedious to sit through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I adore this film and have watched it numerous times ..., 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guitar [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I adore this film and have watched it numerous times. It speaks of what happens when you just let go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars None of the characters are interesting enough and the film is overall very boring., 29 Dec. 2014
This review is from: The Guitar (Amazon Instant Video)
Based on some the customers reviews i thought I gave the film a chance but it was highly disappointing. The storyline is completely absurd and filled with stereotypes and cliches that I found incredibly irritating. The ending just tops it up with even more stupidity. None of the characters are interesting enough and the film is overall very boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 30 Jan. 2015
This review is from: The Guitar (Amazon Instant Video)
Excellent offbeat movie , very touching with funny moments, makes one think about how precious life is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 21 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guitar (Amazon Instant Video)
This is pretty poor fare. I think you could find a better way to spend a couple of hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Guitar [DVD] [2007]
The Guitar [DVD] [2007] by Amy Redford (DVD - 2010)
£5.68
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews