Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bitter-sweet delight
The film features one day of Yokoyama family, when they are reunited to commemorate the 12 anniversary of death of the eldest son. The family shares nostalgia, humour, sadness and tension as memories are shared and ceremonies performed. Its a very down-to-earth movie, with touching beauty of moments which we disregard as routine while our beloved ones are still alive, and...
Published on 30 May 2010 by Ekaterina

versus
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't feel at home with this family
If the title music is anything to go by this will be a gentle sentimental sad little film.

Grandma is wrapping sea urchin in cucumber. The sushi preparations made me hungry for some (corn tempura anybody?)

It bimbles along, amiable in-house family chat.

By about half way I've got bored by it though, even slightly irritated; the...
Published on 12 Dec 2011 by Jan Mecir


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bitter-sweet delight, 30 May 2010
This review is from: Still Walking [DVD] (DVD)
The film features one day of Yokoyama family, when they are reunited to commemorate the 12 anniversary of death of the eldest son. The family shares nostalgia, humour, sadness and tension as memories are shared and ceremonies performed. Its a very down-to-earth movie, with touching beauty of moments which we disregard as routine while our beloved ones are still alive, and recall as the happiest in our lives when those who shared it with us are gone.
Very good actors works, and I was striked by amazing resemblance of the male lead, Hiroshi Abe with inimitable Gregory Peck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still walking., 21 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Walking [DVD] (DVD)
This is simple tale of family life and visits from relatives. Once seen, the images will stay with you for ever. There is a slender plot but in that plot there is love and friendship and compassion and weariness and growing old and children and life. The director has made this film without pretensions and artefacts; he has made it from his own gently recalled family memories and he has done it with fondness for the myriad details of family life. It is clear that the director has wanted to share the love he has of his own memories of family. As I say: images from this film will sty with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Corn fritter memories, 26 April 2011
By 
technoguy "jack" (Rugby) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Still Walking [DVD] (DVD)
In Still Walking we alight on the anniversary of an eldest son's death 15 years before on this ordinary Japanese family's life like a yellow butterfly,which enters the family home like the spirit of Junpei come home.The spirit of Ozu's Tokyo Story breathes in this lovely drama of Japanese manners.Ryota(Hiroshi),a freelance art restorer,the central character,is dreading the occasion.His mother Toshiko(Kirin Kiki) bristles,as he's wed a widow Yukari with a son(Atsushi),and recently lost his job.His father, Kyohei (Harada), a retired doctor,rarely speaks to him.His favourite was the deceased Junpei,who was going to inherit his doctor's practice.His death hovers over the rituals of the family's day,including watering the grave stone.The idea that people don't go away is explored in a conversation Yukari has with her son about the presence of his deceased father inside of him along with her spirit as well.

Alongside this we see Ryota's sister Chinamee(You),her feckless husband Nobuo,and their lively children,her desire to move with her family back into the parental home. Ryota's father Kyohai is a cantankerous brooder,trying to manipulate Atsushi,his grandchild,to become a doctor.Toshiko reveals beneath her gentle hospitality and cooking skills,to have a reservoir of anger:one the ungainly stranger,the young man Junpei saved from drowning,socially awkward and made to squirm by the parents, only invited back to each commemoration so she has someone to hate;the other revolves around the playing of an old(favourite) song,reminding her of Kyohai's infidelity.There are better moments,Toshiko's corn fritters bring back happy memories and old photos and stories come out.Chinamee and family leave without resolving their future plans,while Ryota and company spend the night,though his mother is chilly about him and Yukari having children.

The coda is of Ryota's return with his prosperous,extended family to tend his parents' grave a few years hence. Director Kore-eda `s feelings of filial inadequacy following his own mother's death,led to his attempt to recapture lost time but with honesty,no rosy-tinted memoir.Nothing of real consequence happens in the course of a single summer day,merely ripples on the surface,only where the essence of life can be found.The parents drift towards death brims with life,moments captured like photos in an old family album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A splendid walk, 5 Oct 2010
This review is from: Still Walking [DVD] (DVD)
Still Walking by Hirokazu Kore-Eda is a
wonderful film in many respects. It's
very different from the movies the casual
moviegoer is likely to see in some nearby
theatre. I've now seen four films by HK,
and while all the others are really good,
maybe this one is his masterpiece. His
complete control of the "emotional palette"
is admirable, his vision is original
without having to stretch out to any
extremes. One could say this film is
in some ways related to the later Ozu
films, but Kore-Eda is very much his
own man, and is on equal footing with
the old master in my humble opinion.
I highly recommend this film for those
who are seeking something different
from the daily (and stale) bread of
American money-making enterprises,
and Koreeda manages to deliver
this quietly but convincingly. I feel
certain that this film will withstand
the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well observed portrait of a family, 12 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. Robert Marsland (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Walking [DVD] (DVD)
Still Walking is not for those wanting a lot of drama in a movie. On the other hand it is a very well observed portrait of the tensions and sorrows in a family and an examination thereof of status. A Japanese family meet for the day to comemmorate the death of one of their members. The unemployed son of the aging doctor and his wife, tries to hide the fact that he is not working at the moment and he feels he has to defend his lowly status in the family hierarchy. The whole thing has a very natural feel, and it as though you were watching real people, rather than actors with a script. very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sometimes they really return, 3 Oct 2011
By 
Anna Spinelli "bibliophile" (Ravenna, Italie) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Walking [DVD] (DVD)
The movie is exactly what critics said, a little precious masterpiece of ordinary life, never boring, on the line of classic Ozu movies. That's where they return, and with new, subtile psychology. The subtitles are exhaustive, so one can get all the shades of said and unsaid. Actors all perfect, and the extras will say more about this. I have personally enjoyed Yoshio Harada, known for his "desperado" samurai roles in the 70s and over, with his jazz voice at the top here. For those who love good movies, and of course for the fans of Japanese movies. It's really worth having it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully done, 26 Jun 2011
By 
Margaret Gallagher (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Walking [DVD] (DVD)
The writing, acting and direction in this quiet snapshot of life is excellent. The relationships, attitudes, hurts and family dramas are detailed with beautiful and heartfelt accuracy. As someone who tends to get involved with the things I watch, I found it sad that nobody seemed to gain any insight or empathy across the years, even in the final scenes. Everyone was so closed to each other. So, while it was very beautifully done, and very true to life for many families, I could not give it five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An overlooked work of Japanese art-house cinema, 14 Dec 2010
By 
P. Hughes "Peter Hughes" (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Still Walking [DVD] (DVD)
It is interesting reading the other reviews for this movie, which demonstrate the possibility of experiencing the same thing differently. Still Walking is 'a comedy of manners', reminiscent of the movies of Eric Rohmer. (Comedy as distinct from tragedy, not in the sense of being humorous.) Like a haiku, nothing is brightly coloured, overstated, or has the impoliteness to stand out in some way. Typical of Japanese etiquette, the characters rarely say or act on what they really mean, and this is revealed only as the movie progresses. Characterisation is superbly handled through the script, direction and acting. Unlike in western movies, there are neither heroes/saints, nor dastards/demons. It would be too easy to watch this movie through western eyes and miss the subtle, the nuanced, and the quiet reversals that culminate in overall balance. In western culture it is held that the more extreme the expression, the more deeply the emotion is felt. However, the emotions that are addressed in this Japanese drama appear muted, and as a result it is possible to arrive by another route at a sense of how deeply those emotions are felt. The movie is perfectly paced for its material (not the high-octane outbursts of Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf, or of Look Back in Anger), but may be considered intolerably slow by people who enjoy thrillers, adventure movies and rom coms. (Think Tarkovsky.) Unlike a Woody Allen movie, Still Walking is not an easy watch, although neither is is especially difficult: the plot is interesting enough for me not to require it to entertain me cheaply (I enjoy the jokes in Wasabi). There is no feel-good pay-off at the end. There is no 'the end' (cf Lost in Translation). I do not know the other work of director Hirokazu Kore-eda, but I now feel motivated to find out more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very touching film., 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Walking [DVD] (DVD)
A wonderfully atmospheric and heart warming tale. The film provides an insight into the everyday life of a family with all it's up's and down's, very engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Subtle sentiment, 13 Sep 2011
By 
Tyke (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Still Walking [DVD] (DVD)
This is a touching and gentle contemporary drama which portrays overnight events in the household of Ryo's elderly parents during his reluctant but dutiful annual visit to them, with his own young family. The purpose of the visit is to commemorate the death of his older brother, some years earlier.

There are long-simmering tensions between father and son, which are never confronted, yet this suppression and avoidance many perhaps will recognise from their own lives. The father is frustrated by old age and the trivial life to which retirement condemns him, his wife is patient and solid and their son Ryo feels he has nothing in common with them.

The family put on a polite face to each other and in particular to a young man whom the elderly couple detest, but who is invited each year to share their commemoration, since it was in saving his life that their son lost his own.

There is no high drama in this film, but it is all the richer for that. Filmed in a naturalistic style, its focus is on the unspoken feelings, the suppressed sentiments and the distance between generations. Ryo wants his father's approval yet his father cares more for the memory of his dead son than for the presence of his living son. Filial duty keeps a lid on matters, as it has always done and Ryo realises that this is somehow in the natural order of families.

While there is no distinct resolution to the tensions in the family, there is a sense of learning and acceptance at the end of the film and a quiet emphasis on how life progresses in fundamentally the same way from one generation to the next.

DVD quality is good and extras include a documentary about the making of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa587f390)

This product

Still Walking [DVD]
Still Walking [DVD] by Hirokazu Kore-Eda (DVD - 2010)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews