Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as the first one
I have now read all of the "In her name" books to date the next one "Dead Soul" should be coming out soon. I thought that the first "Empire" was the best with the others just not quite as good however this latest one "Legend of the Sword" is every bit as good as Empire. It is I think because there is a better balance between the Kreelans and humans with more interaction...
Published on 29 Aug 2011 by Bob

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It is a good read but not what I would class as sci-fi ...
It is a good read but not what I would class as sci-fi (as I believe the author acknowledged). Humankind has conquered the 'light' barrier but does not appear any further forward than we are today and the aliens although technologically vastly superior to us would appear backward as far as morals exist (or not) whose soul aim in life is to serve an Empress by bringing...
Published 9 months ago by roy h


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Legend of the sword, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend Of The Sword (The Last War Trilogy, Book 2) (In Her Name) (Kindle Edition)
Brilliantly written set in the future but evocative hints of such books as shougun this book is actually the 5th in the series, I will happily re-read this book often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Damn it, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend Of The Sword (The Last War Trilogy, Book 2) (In Her Name) (Kindle Edition)
Now I have to buy part three.excellent series of books I'm really enjoying them and would highly recommend .you should buy them too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Legend of the Sword, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend Of The Sword (The Last War Trilogy, Book 2) (In Her Name) (Kindle Edition)
SYNOPSIS:
This is the second book in the first (chronologically) trilogy about the Kreelan war. I would suggest reading the first book before this one as it will make far more sense. It continues following some of the characters from the first book, while introducing new ones. The actual plot is not that dissimilar- Kreelans invade, humans fight back, just set on a different planet, the war continues.

PROS:
As with the first book the writing style carries you along, the characters are engaging, the battles are exciting. This book explains more about Tesh-Dar's background and helps give more insight to the Kreelan POV.

CONS:
None of this feels very original, the plot, characters and even aliens have been seen before and St. Petersburg was a disappointing stereotype, but none of this seems to matter when reading it.

OTHER:
This series reminds me a little of Peter Hamilton, though I can't quite put my finger on why, and the insectile/reptilian aliens bring Raymond E Feist's Cho-ja to mind. This series feel like a fun, exciting indulgence and I look forward to seeing where it goes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book 2 is as just good as Book 1, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend Of The Sword (The Last War Trilogy, Book 2) (In Her Name) (Kindle Edition)
This 2nd book of the series is just as good as 1st - gripping, pacy and a damn good read. This one develops a few characters from book one, and adds some new ones for you to be gripping your kindle tightly, just willing them on to survive (well this is a war series). It also develops Tesh-Dar, and a few other alien characters, and I found those really intriguing. Although these are good sci-fi, I think a lot of people who do not normally go near sci-fi/battle fiction will also enjoy this. It should also be mentioned that it has good strong female as well as male characters, another rarity these days, which just makes it all the better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend Of The Sword (The Last War Trilogy, Book 2) (In Her Name) (Kindle Edition)
If you read a book and worry about minor errors then this may not be for you. The story continues at the same pace as book one. It is a military soap opera. The Kreelens seem an unrealistic race till you think about the animal world and some of the human extremist in world society / religions and they become more plausible. Some of the hero's difficulties are overcome very tongue in cheek from impossible odds. The science disregards the current laws of physics, but why not. Fast moving and a good light read. Intellectual, no.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not as good as book 1, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend Of The Sword (The Last War Trilogy, Book 2) (In Her Name) (Kindle Edition)
i was a bit disapointed after the 1st book was so good,hope book 3 is better as it is a clever idea
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book..., 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend Of The Sword (The Last War Trilogy, Book 2) (In Her Name) (Kindle Edition)
After reading the first In Her Name book, I was hooked and absolutely needed to know how the story unravels. The series is right up my alley with the Scifi and action combo with some interesting female characters. It was very interesting to get to know more about Tesh-Dar but I did feel let down a few times with a lot of build up around several characters what amounted to nothing. However I love the suspense and the fact that no one is safe...anyone can die at any moment! So went right ahead and got Dead Soul after reading Legend of the Sword.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great SF series, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend Of The Sword (The Last War Trilogy, Book 2) (In Her Name) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book. this series will stand proud on the shelf - the kindle one.
This series will become a classic SF, space opera style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book 2 review, 3 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. Henry Y. Jones "CymruHarry" (Swansea S Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend Of The Sword (The Last War Trilogy, Book 2) (In Her Name) (Kindle Edition)
Again a good read, and it continues in a very similar format. Again I feel it is aimed at the American market, in so far as it reads like an extention of An American Dream. (Anti-Communist, American political structure, with only lip service to other national identities). This bearing in mind the world seems to have expanded outwards, there is no mention of the European Union or other rising technically advancing nations like India or Brazil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good number two, 16 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. Pk Dickinson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend Of The Sword (The Last War Trilogy, Book 2) (In Her Name) (Kindle Edition)
Once again I raced through the book. Some of the political side slowed things down but it still had good pace. Looking forward to book three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews