Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST PRESLEY ALBUM OF THE '70s (if not of all time)
This album sends shivers up and down my spine. Here's why: The King was simply at his absolute very best vocally. His delivery is breathtaking and the voice is unbelievable - right from the first note to the last chord of the last track. Ten gold-plated songs filled with awesome power and soaked with pure emotion. He sounds Rock; Country; Rhythm; Blues; Ballad; and...
Published on 31 Dec 2003 by tommyboo

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Album, But Not A Classic
Released in 1975, Elvis Today failed commercially, but did include some exceptional performances from the King.
The best tracks on the album are T.R.O.U.B.L.E, Shake a Hand, Pieces Of My Life and I Can Help.
T.R.O.U.B.L.E is excellent, a fast rocker and in fine form by Presley and the accompanying band.
Shake a Hand is outstanding, Elvis deliveres a fine...
Published on 12 April 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST PRESLEY ALBUM OF THE '70s (if not of all time), 31 Dec 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Today (Audio CD)
This album sends shivers up and down my spine. Here's why: The King was simply at his absolute very best vocally. His delivery is breathtaking and the voice is unbelievable - right from the first note to the last chord of the last track. Ten gold-plated songs filled with awesome power and soaked with pure emotion. He sounds Rock; Country; Rhythm; Blues; Ballad; and Gospel - all in one album!!!

Elvis kicks off with T-R-O-U-B-L-E and you can tell immediately that he means business. This is his heaviest and fastest rock track of the 70's. He just attacks it head on. No one else can deliver with the same aggression. And the 'hiccup' sounds at the end are mesmerising.

AND I LOVE YOU SO comes next and Elvis does true justice to this classic. Just listen to that voice. Suddenly you are a ballads fan! SUSAN WHEN SHE TRIED would have sounded too country but Elvis turns it into a brilliant country-rock piece. It ranks as one of my favourites here. WOMAN WITHOUT LOVE takes you into another world as backing vocals come in very prominently and beautifully here.

The rest of the album is truly superb with notable outstanding tracks such as, well, all of them. Just listen to the phenomenal power of SHAKE A HAND and decide for yourself if this is a blues, rock or gospel - or the emotion-filled PIECES OF MY LIFE. The beautiful FAIRYTALE shows us how country music should sound - Presley style!

Next the Billy Swan number I CAN HELP and you can sense how much Elvis is into it just by that powerhouse ending. BRINGIN' IT BACK is so good that words alone cannot even come close to a description - those few minutes are worth the album alone. The Tom Jones hit GREEN GREEN GRASS OF HOME is the last magic spell on this CD. But this is a very different version with Elvis and backing vocals merging beautifully to really blow you away.

ELVIS TODAY was released in mid 1975 - when Elvis had turned 40 and the world was watching his waistline rather than his work. Glam rock was at its peak and Presley was now more of a concert performer than a recording artist, having not recorded anything in a studio since late '73. The puzzling crime however was that although Elvis was performing sellout concerts to screaming fans all over America, this album should have gone to number one but didn't.

I hope you enjoy Elvis Today as much I do. Just turn it up loud! Today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most Under-rated Elvis Album, 3 May 2003
This review is from: Today (Audio CD)
There are few albums i listen to without skipping a track but this one is so good that all you have to do is sit back and listen. Vocally Presley is fantastic - from songs such as the fast T-R-O-U-B-L-E or the slow Pieces Of My Life, he carries it off superbly. I think this version of Green, Green Grass Of Home not only matches but betters Tom Jones' version. With much more emotion and strength in his voice. I can see that maybe it wasnt the right choice of songs for the average music fan in 1975. But for Elvis fans i fail to see how its been so overlooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Album, But Not A Classic, 12 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Today (Audio CD)
Released in 1975, Elvis Today failed commercially, but did include some exceptional performances from the King.
The best tracks on the album are T.R.O.U.B.L.E, Shake a Hand, Pieces Of My Life and I Can Help.
T.R.O.U.B.L.E is excellent, a fast rocker and in fine form by Presley and the accompanying band.
Shake a Hand is outstanding, Elvis deliveres a fine performance, one of his best, far surpassing the Great Jackie Wilson's version, and Paul McCartneys version a couple of years ago pales miserably in comparison.
Pieces Of My Life is outstanding. This song is emotional, and powerful, and again a defining song for Presley. His phrasing, voice and breath control are still unsurpassed, I can only say WOW about this song.
I Can Help is the Billy Swan classic, and although Elvis version is not as good as Swan's, it is faster, and a lot of fun for the listner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Late Elvis - variable and melancholy, 21 Mar 2001
By 
Simon Lydiard (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Today (Audio CD)
Released just two years before his tragic death, Elvis Today showcases the artist at his vocal best, but the song selection is at best variable and conveys an undertone of dark melancholy. The King attempts a rather limp return to rock 'n' roll, with the pulsing-piano underscored T-R-O-U-B-L-E, but the true feeling of the album comes out on the prophetic Pieces Of My Life and Tom Jones' Green Green Grass Of Home. Elvis is always worth listening to, but this one's probably more suited to the collector than the casual fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rock - with soul and a great voice. 4.5 stars, 12 Jan 2005
By 
Mr. C. Glen "bluekite2" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Today (Audio CD)
You'd have to be lacking in everything not to enjoy this album. It's got it all, from a stomping opening track to the reflective and deeply melancholic "Pieces of My Life". Another highlight is the power ballad "Bringin' it Back" - deep, rich and soulful. And everything else is either very good or good. A great CD for impromptu in-car karaoke...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars elvis today tommorow and forever!, 25 Jan 2005
This review is from: Today (Audio CD)
The only thing about this album you need to know is that it is fantastic- I am a teenager and listen to all kinds of music but this album is the best one I own - I have listened to it so much the lp is worn out and I only got it before christmas- and if you think this is the only album I own your wrong I own over 300 titles. Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still The King in 1975, 21 April 2013
This review is from: Today (Audio CD)
By 1975 Elvis's health problems were causing increasing concern amongst his inner circle but despite what some of the critics might have been saying about his output at the time, "Elvis Today" demonstrates that Elvis was still "The King". Although not concentrating on rock 'n' roll at this point Elvis attacks 'T.R.O.U.B.L.E' with gusto and negotiates the almost tongue twisting lyrics with ease. This should have been a bigger hit than it was for that alone. Like the previous Promised Land album, "Today" then contains a mix of country ballads and mid tempo songs all expertly performed. "I Can Help" is here too, which made the top 30 when released as a single in the UK in 1984, thus demonstrating the enduring appeal of Elvis. "Fairytale" became a popular performance in Elvis latter concerts.
I'll end with a challenge to Elvis critics in relation to this period of Elvis career - Can you get your tongue round "T.R.O.U.B.L.E." and sound within 10% of Elvis's performance, can you belt out the ballads with the same feeling?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the great Elvis Presley, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Today (Audio CD)
My wife loved the cd that i bought for her, i think she is considering on buying another one
thank you Henry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis Today., 16 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Today (Audio CD)
Again i have this it is a good cd and i would recommend this to all Elvis fans who don't have this in there collection should.

Anne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this, 9 Oct 2009
This review is from: Today (Audio CD)
Not something I say very often but I do love this CD. It showcases Elvis in different moods, different tempos and all with the distinctive energy and drive that he brings to all performances. I don't know, without burrowing through my countless books, how many takes some of these tracks went through to get the way they are, but whatever it was, it was worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Today
Today by Elvis Presley
Buy MP3 Album£5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews