Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars11
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
4
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 May 2015
I bought this on vinyl back in the 70s and have just updated my collection with it on mp3. I've never liked "Kathleen" much - I really bought it for Fool, Padre and Don't Think Twice, It's Alright. Love Me, Love the Life I Lead is also not a favourite as it doesn't seem to know where to end and the chorus just goes on repeating.

So, not his best, not for anyone new to Elvis - but still some good tracks on it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2006
Released in the Summer of '73 and affectionately known as the 'FOOL' album, this has got to be one of The King's most underrated 70's LPs.

It consists of material from recording sessions in March and May of 1971, March 1972 and 1 Live track from February, 1972. Elvis is in fine voice throughout with some passionate performances including "Love Me, Love The Life I Lead" and "Padre". The first song on the album "Fool" became the inspiration for the album's unofficial title as RCA couldn't come up with anything other than - ELVIS. The title track was coupled with "Aloha From Hawaii" concert's magnetic "Steamroller Blues" to create a hit single for Elvis in '73.

Three stand-out performances on the album are "It's Still Here", "I Will Be True" and "I'll Take You Home Again, Kathleen" which features Elvis accompanying himself on piano. These performanes are hauntingly wonderful to hear and it's a shame they didn't release these songs without the overdubbed bass and strings to begin with - we had to wait another 7 years to hear these in their stripped down raw state when the complete performances were released on 1980's Silver Box Set "Elvis Aron Presley".

This album has become such an odd rarity due to the fact that the material was over a year old when first released and appeared to be deleted from the catalogue fairly quickly on a couple of occasions. Nevertheless, please don't hold back if you are in a position to obtain a copy on CD - it's worth it just to hear Elvis' jamming "Don't Think Twice, It's Allright" albeit the edited version. The cover of the album is very distinctive paying homage to the landmark "Aloha" TV Special in January of that year - some great promotion here, and it's a shame that this album suffered in that respect.

A Musical Must-Buy!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2006
As an album this is very uneven. Three of the tracks were issued on the 'Burning Love' album (the second album of that name) and in themselves are not worth buying the record for. The remaining material that follows these rather ordinary offerings is very good to outstanding and the songs with the sparsest of accompaniements particularly 'I'll Take You Home Again Kathleen' confirm what I've always believed that with Elvis less is more. Less production means more of the voice of Elvis Presley and, for me, enhanced enjoyment of the musical experience. The last track is an incomplete take of 'Don't Think Twice It's Allright' and it's masterful. Why not a complete recording of this? (Could RCA or FTD find Elvis takes on other Bob Dylan songs?).

In short, I have given three stars because as an album it is not as consistently good as other 70's albums ('Promised Land', for instance) but it does contain some unusual and outstanding performances which I would not want to be without.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 September 2007
Known as the Fool album because RCA simply entitled the release, Elvis, like several other albums. And so in order to identify this album this is known as the fool album after the first track. And in all fairness it's a damn fine slice of late period Elvis. Course it would be nice if BMG extended the release with tracks from the same period, way down, serpate ways to name but two which would make it an essential release. But as it stands it's still a must have for the devoted fan and those just getting into the king's music.
Oh and the tracks that's what you get for loving me and the Dylan cover, Don't think twice are superb.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
I really liked this on vinyl.
There's a real mix
Fool is great.
Its Impossible & Padre I don't like as songs .
Elvis feels like he's trying, which he didn't always.
But there's sum gems like the slow ones - "Its still here" & "I will be True"
- Elvis without vocal backup & minimal instruments but wonderful piano.

Altho' used it was v.good condition & delivery was fast.

I must have 25 Elvis CDs & more on vinyl, which I hwill have to convert.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2015
One of the mid 70 albums so a bit hit and miss. Bought to complete my collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2014
This was a present for a friend who's a HUGE Elvis fan, he loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2002
The biggest tragedy of Elvis career, was an impatient RCA rushing out this album and the inferior "Raised on Rock" as the follow up to the legendary "Aloha From Hawaii."
Why the never waited, and pushed a double Lp from the Stax sessions is a mystery. Instead, this compilation is a huge dissapointment and went nowhere fast.
Not that the songs are bad; "Don't Think Twice" is a career highlight, yes, it is the Bob Dylan classic. But these songs; some live, were recorded a year and two years previous and make no sense being here.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2015
Happy with cd thank you very much seller
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2015
loved the cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)