Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not such a Fool!
Released in the Summer of '73 and affectionately known as the 'FOOL' album, this has got to be one of The King's most underrated 70's LPs.

It consists of material from recording sessions in March and May of 1971, March 1972 and 1 Live track from February, 1972. Elvis is in fine voice throughout with some passionate performances including "Love Me, Love The Life...
Published on 12 July 2006 by Callum G

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hidden quality
As an album this is very uneven. Three of the tracks were issued on the 'Burning Love' album (the second album of that name) and in themselves are not worth buying the record for. The remaining material that follows these rather ordinary offerings is very good to outstanding and the songs with the sparsest of accompaniements particularly 'I'll Take You Home Again...
Published on 18 Nov 2006 by B. Pimley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not such a Fool!, 12 July 2006
This review is from: Elvis - The Fool Album (Audio CD)
Released in the Summer of '73 and affectionately known as the 'FOOL' album, this has got to be one of The King's most underrated 70's LPs.

It consists of material from recording sessions in March and May of 1971, March 1972 and 1 Live track from February, 1972. Elvis is in fine voice throughout with some passionate performances including "Love Me, Love The Life I Lead" and "Padre". The first song on the album "Fool" became the inspiration for the album's unofficial title as RCA couldn't come up with anything other than - ELVIS. The title track was coupled with "Aloha From Hawaii" concert's magnetic "Steamroller Blues" to create a hit single for Elvis in '73.

Three stand-out performances on the album are "It's Still Here", "I Will Be True" and "I'll Take You Home Again, Kathleen" which features Elvis accompanying himself on piano. These performanes are hauntingly wonderful to hear and it's a shame they didn't release these songs without the overdubbed bass and strings to begin with - we had to wait another 7 years to hear these in their stripped down raw state when the complete performances were released on 1980's Silver Box Set "Elvis Aron Presley".

This album has become such an odd rarity due to the fact that the material was over a year old when first released and appeared to be deleted from the catalogue fairly quickly on a couple of occasions. Nevertheless, please don't hold back if you are in a position to obtain a copy on CD - it's worth it just to hear Elvis' jamming "Don't Think Twice, It's Allright" albeit the edited version. The cover of the album is very distinctive paying homage to the landmark "Aloha" TV Special in January of that year - some great promotion here, and it's a shame that this album suffered in that respect.

A Musical Must-Buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hidden quality, 18 Nov 2006
By 
B. Pimley (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis - The Fool Album (Audio CD)
As an album this is very uneven. Three of the tracks were issued on the 'Burning Love' album (the second album of that name) and in themselves are not worth buying the record for. The remaining material that follows these rather ordinary offerings is very good to outstanding and the songs with the sparsest of accompaniements particularly 'I'll Take You Home Again Kathleen' confirm what I've always believed that with Elvis less is more. Less production means more of the voice of Elvis Presley and, for me, enhanced enjoyment of the musical experience. The last track is an incomplete take of 'Don't Think Twice It's Allright' and it's masterful. Why not a complete recording of this? (Could RCA or FTD find Elvis takes on other Bob Dylan songs?).

In short, I have given three stars because as an album it is not as consistently good as other 70's albums ('Promised Land', for instance) but it does contain some unusual and outstanding performances which I would not want to be without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT SO FOOLISH, 12 Sep 2007
By 
G. M. Dobbs "gmdobbs" (wales, uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis - The Fool Album (Audio CD)
Known as the Fool album because RCA simply entitled the release, Elvis, like several other albums. And so in order to identify this album this is known as the fool album after the first track. And in all fairness it's a damn fine slice of late period Elvis. Course it would be nice if BMG extended the release with tracks from the same period, way down, serpate ways to name but two which would make it an essential release. But as it stands it's still a must have for the devoted fan and those just getting into the king's music.
Oh and the tracks that's what you get for loving me and the Dylan cover, Don't think twice are superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A sadly neglected album, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis (Audio CD)
I really liked this on vinyl.
There's a real mix
Fool is great.
Its Impossible & Padre I don't like as songs .
Elvis feels like he's trying, which he didn't always.
But there's sum gems like the slow ones - "Its still here" & "I will be True"
- Elvis without vocal backup & minimal instruments but wonderful piano.

Altho' used it was v.good condition & delivery was fast.

I must have 25 Elvis CDs & more on vinyl, which I hwill have to convert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What Fools!, 17 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Elvis (Audio CD)
The biggest tragedy of Elvis career, was an impatient RCA rushing out this album and the inferior "Raised on Rock" as the follow up to the legendary "Aloha From Hawaii."
Why the never waited, and pushed a double Lp from the Stax sessions is a mystery. Instead, this compilation is a huge dissapointment and went nowhere fast.
Not that the songs are bad; "Don't Think Twice" is a career highlight, yes, it is the Bob Dylan classic. But these songs; some live, were recorded a year and two years previous and make no sense being here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GREAT COVER ELVIS NOT AT BEST, 14 Aug 2008
By 
Mr. Stephen Brown (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis - The Fool Album (Audio CD)
The songs on this CD are not that good. At this time and at this session Elvis was ill. Also with the breakup with his wife, Elvis sounds tied. In this Album there is still a little light that comes from time to time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elvis (Fool)
Elvis (Fool) by Elvis Presley
Buy MP3 Album5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews