Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars19
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 December 2015
Mountain were very much a 'band of their times'. Very good heavy metal band, before 'heavy metal' was invented. I spent weeks and weeks with a soldering iron, and various electronic magazines, trying to reproduce Pappalardi's bass sound. No wonder he is now registered deaf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
These CDs are a bit of a bargain at the price I paid. Another group that I only heard bits and pieces of, in the 70's, and thought it was worth trying these for the money. There is a lot of good stuff here and excellent musicianship, if you like rock music.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
crunching guitar riffs throughout,just play as loud as you can the quality is there through out all five cd's, my favorite is nantucket sleighride as well as the title track it has some great rockers on this album, also it has the loveley lady on the cd which is my favorite mountain track,or is it theme from a imageinery western
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2011
If you've only heard "Nantucket Sleighride" or "Flowers of Evil", or never heard Mountain at all, listen again (preferably, as usual, without Mother). The first of the Cream soundalike bands, but with a harder edge, and boasting Cream's producer, Felix Pappalardi, on bass and Leslie West and Corky Laing, who later teamed up with Jack Bruce on the ear-pounding "Why Dontcha", Mountain is a band not to be missed. Here you have the first five albums by the band in its heyday for the same price as one full-priced newly produced CD by such as Robbing Twitliams or Lady BaaBaa, or, if you measure your money in alcohol, about five pints of beer. Remastered too and with bonus live tracks here and there. Mississippi Queen, Crossroader, Tired Angels, Nantucket Sleighride, Blood of the Sun and loads more. Don't muck about: buy it. (But - here's your risk assessment - when you have, do be careful in transit as the individual CDs in their miniaturised covers easily slip out of the larger case).
33 comments|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
5 albums for the price of 1. this particular set gives you all of the output from the original line up and the live album with a 30 minute rendition of Nantucket Sleighride too, (with no breaks as on the LP). Proper rock from a proper band.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2011
Oh the memories,i never heard the "Climbing" album until about three years after its release,it still sounds fuzzy,but with" Mississippi queen" and "Theme from an imaginary western" included its sounds reflect the times well.
I remember i was a young schoolboy and was shopping in Harlequin records at the top of the Haymarket in Londons west end,when i saw "Nantucket sleighride" in the racks,its stunning cover on full display,i bought it,took it home,and played it full blast,much to my neighbours disdain,it still sounds great today.
"Flowers of evil " followed much the same course as did the live "Twin peaks"the fifth album is "Avalanche" which i never heard until now.
Buy this set!!!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
Worthwhile purchase. Solid mainstream hard rock early material from these underrated exponents of the rock music world. Great to hear again.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
I wasn't even born when Mountain were around but I love good guitar work and Leslie west is an excellent player, really tasty bends in his lead playing, again simillar to montrose, you can hear were van halen got their inspiration from, alot of this reminds me of a heavier version of Cream. Standouts for me include Mississippi queen, Don't look around, Nantucket Sleigh ride,Flowers of Evil, One Last Cold Kiss, and the Leslie west guitar workout Dream Sequence. 8/10 as there are a few week cuts but can't complain when you've only paid about 2.00 for each of the 5 cd's. Recommended, especially if you like Cream, Zeppelin etc.
55 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2011
If you bought the albums 40 years ago, this box set is a convenient way of listening to the music without all the messing about that goes with LPs. If you want to find out what Mountain was all about, never having heard of the band before, this is a cheap introduction. And if you don't like the sound, you can always give the set to someone else as a Xmas present. So it's a no-lose proposition. Just don't expect to read what's printed on the CD sleeves without a real struggle!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2015
The only complaint I have with this is the quality of recording of some of these albums, a problem with Mountain, I have to say that my vinyl copies are better but I don't have all of these and I can't take my Hi-Fi with me on the move and too lazy to digitise all of my vinyl.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£16.64

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)