Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars11
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 25 October 2010
There are quite a few John Foxx compliations out there, and if you want a decent overview of his singles and studio songs, this isn't perhaps the one for you. But if you like hearing Underpass four times, you'll be happy! Disc 1 misses out too many early classics like Plaza and Europe After the Rain, simply because the man's back catalogue is now so extensive. The focus here is very much on cementing his credentials as the synth pioneer that he is, though it doesn't neglect some of his later stuff with Louis Gordon such as The Noise, Broken Furniture and Drive. Nice to hear the extended original version of Underpass, which I don't think I've heard on CD before. Disc 2 is half concert recording (from a 2008 Australian tour) and half remixes and unreleased mixes, including a sleek updating of Underpass by Mark Reeder (slightly reminscent of Gary Numan's 90s makeover of "Cars") that's well worth the price of entry. But the best is saved for the DVD: a (very) selected collection of promo videos and some other films. These include some live footage of The Noise and Shifting City, with LG bouncing around at his keyboard like some mad muppet, and one of the Tiny Colour Movies films (Smokescreen). Nice to see the black and white version of the Underpass video, which looks like it was made on a shoestring, but still oozes urban alienation and isolation, and there's also a colour version to accompany the Reeder remix. Pity there aren't more vids from this period of John's career like Dancing Like a Gun off of "The Garden". I felt a little short-changed in the end, and those vids are out there only on a VHS collection dating from the late 80s. Still, a reasonable price for a 2xCD/DVD set and quality packing, as one expects from Mr F.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 13 May 2010
what a superb disc for die hard fans.2 cds of music including a live in sydney disc and a dvd!all for a great price!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 25 June 2010
Apart from great melodies, inspired lyrical imagery, catchy riffs, deep atmospheres, tight rhythms and memorable basslines, this CD also *sounds* superb. It's been expertly mastered, especially considering the material spans 20+ years, and really kicks without the horrible strangled compression you get on most CDs these days. Even the more subdued tracks like "Never Let Me Go" sound better than ever.

No loudness war casualties here, just a real treat to listen to!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 20 May 2010
There are a few compilations out there, and Modern Art was also compiled with the help of John - so what do we get here that sets it apart?

The answer is simple, the DVD, albeit rather short and not playable as a continuous playlist (as far as I can see, anyway). I had never seen these early vids, and the live tracks plus the colour 'montage' video for the special remix of "Underpass" are interesting. I wonder if the more pop promo videos will surface as part of the rumoured Metadelic one day (a sister compilation of his more psychadelic pop moments)? Then Endlessly and the like might see the light of day on DVD.

But for now we get a well-thought compilation of his sparser electronic material across the years, including a slightly extended "Underpass" (original, not a remix). Despite the lack of chronology, this works very well as a disc, and the second CD live tracks are really good too. The bonus tracks are a mixed bunch though, and Mark Reeder's remix of "Underpass" is sympathetic to the point of being slighty too close to the original to add anything. It does exist as a longer mix, and maybe it would've been nice to have that version instead, leaving the radio edit for the DVD.

The price makes this pretty much a bargain if you haven't got any of his other compilations, and there is enough previously unreleased (or on CD) material here to generally satisfy hardcore fans too. But the bonus tracks could've been a bit more interesting.

Final minor gripe is the fact the case is a 4-CD thickie, so the booklet has to sit in a CD tray and over time will probably bend/get dented by the central ring. Hence 4 stars for a 5 star artist, this time around!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 22 May 2010
As a sort of overview taster of the more electronic moments of Foxx's solo career over the last thirty years (yes it really is that long since Metamatic...)this isn't a bad selection.

I'm well impressed by the "Sinister Subway" mix of Underpass and it's video which is a "cut up" from at least 3 older vids (Underpass, No-one Driving & Endlessly), don't really see the point of the B+W version of the original Underpass vid and would definitely like to see more of the "Tiny Colour Movies" films translated to DVD soon.

May have been a better idea to put tracks like "Underwater Dreamsex" and "Making Movies" on here though rather than the "Single mixes" of "Broken Furniture" & "Drive", as these (to my knowledge) only appear in their original studio forms as extras on the "Drive EP" which is hard to get hold of.

Overall, another reasonable compilation with a few bits on for the die-hards.

Not bad.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 15 May 2010
Great to see this compilation get a bit of exposure this week. Just read a brilliant interview with Foxx on the BBC site, and I immediately snapped this up. I love the DVD - but it's also a nice surprise to discover material I didn't know. I can't agree about there being too much Metamatic material on here that another reviewer has criticised this for. There are tracks from across Foxx's career. In fact as someone who hasn't bought a Foxx album since 1983 this compilation is something of a revelation. It just seems a little sad that it's taken this long for people like myself to catch up with what he's been doing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 5 January 2011
If you like electronic music you'll love this.some cleared up and remixed material
pure synth and drum sequencing .. good vocals .. electronic genius .. up there with jarre and kraftwerk .. very musical and well mixed .. second disc is a sort of extra bonus and the dvd i've not even watched yet .. well worth the money just for the first disc alone .. stand out tracks are "underpass" and "the noise" .. fades a bit towards the end of disc 1 but not dissapointingly .. excellent buy .. hope foxxy keeps on making music.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 27 May 2010
An interesting mix of John Foxx's output. Some actually new to me. The Sydney concert is good. Best though is the DVD! Some I don't remember seeing since I was a student in the early 80s.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 15 May 2010
For fans of electronic music, this album is a must. I think the most impressive thing about it is that it reveals some great music from the 90s and last ten years that Foxx has created - From Trash, Never Let Me Go, Broken Furniture, Automobile -fantastic stuff.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2011
Disc 1 is great and is a step back in time to the early days of synth - loved it. A worthwhile addition to any early electro fans collection. The DVD is bit limited, there's no autoplay and the video effects are well dated as they are a fair few years old now.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Metadelic by John Foxx (Audio CD - 2013)

Glimmer: The Best Of
Glimmer: The Best Of by John Foxx (Audio CD - 2008)

The Virgin Years (1980 - 1985)
The Virgin Years (1980 - 1985) by John Foxx (Audio CD - 2014)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.