Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prototype For All Reissues
An amazing reissue. Edsel Records and Sony/BMG have amassed a complete and satisfying 2 CD set. They have included all the relevant remixes, B-sides and tracks many of which had only been available on vinyl in the 80's such as Bruno's Mix of My Arms Keep Missing You. The sound quality is superb and the organization of the 2 discs is thoughtful. Now I hope either the...
Published on 17 April 2010 by Music Mixer 101

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Downhill
Compared to the first album it falls flat on its face. The songs are weaker than the first, although 'she wants to dance with me' hits the spot, 'take me to your heart' is punchy but this is quickly followed by the embarrassing mis-step of 'I don't want to loose her' which is even worse than what SAW put out with the Reynolds girls. After this the tracks get worse and...
Published 4 months ago by Ricardo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prototype For All Reissues, 17 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hold Me In Your Arms...Plus (Audio CD)
An amazing reissue. Edsel Records and Sony/BMG have amassed a complete and satisfying 2 CD set. They have included all the relevant remixes, B-sides and tracks many of which had only been available on vinyl in the 80's such as Bruno's Mix of My Arms Keep Missing You. The sound quality is superb and the organization of the 2 discs is thoughtful. Now I hope either the original label or Edsel reissue Donna Summer's Another Place and Time CD. Many of the PWL reissues during the last year have been stellar. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take Me To Your Heart, 22 July 2009
This review is from: Hold Me in Your Arms (Audio CD)
Rick Astley has a superb, distinctive voice. Anyone who regularly listens to pop music must have heard 'Never Gonna Give You Up'(from the album 'Whenever You Need Somebody')and surely realised what a fine voice Rick has. This second Album further showcases Rick's vocals. His singing of the uptempo songs and the slower songs is perfect. The album contains the excellent hit singles 'She Wants To Dance With Me','Take Me To Your Heart' and 'Hold Me In Your Arms'. I absolutely adore the synths and pumping bass line on 'Take Me To Your Heart', it is a Stock Aitken Waterman Classic. I wish SAW would return to enrich the present day charts with their music.
'Till Then (Time Stands Still)' also written and produced by Stock Aitken Waterman has an amazing catchy chorus and such wonderful backing vocals. The whole Album is a joy to listen to. Enjoy.
Tracks 2,3,5,6 produced by Stock Aitken Waterman
Tracks 4,7,8,9 produced by Daize Washbourn and Rick Astley
Tracks 1 Produced by Astley,Harding and Curnow
Track 10 Produced by Phil Harding and Ian Curnow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A collector's dream come true, 10 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Hold Me In Your Arms...Plus (Audio CD)
This is Rick Astley's second album after his first and best selling album 'Whenever You Need Somebody'. This one did not appear to be as successful as the first but back then, but I remember enjoying this album equally as much as the first one.
This reissued release offers a ton of bonus tracks and remixes and to my delight they have included rarities like 'My Arms Keep Missing You' and 'Rick's Hit Mix'. These rare tracks and mixes were previously available only in vinyl, so to have them include them here is simply fantastic.

Thank you Edsel Records for reissuing Rick Astley's music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastically soothing pop magic!, 10 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Hold Me In Your Arms (Audio CD)
All I can say is - Simonj Ohnking you are so very, very right. Rick Astley is an unparalleled genius, and this extraordinary record is his masterpiece - one of the finest pop albums produced in this country since Magna Carta. (He is also, incidentally, a charming and astonishingly handsome man - and I know this because I once bumped into him in my local fish shop, where he was buying some delicious sea bass). For maximum appreciation, I recommend lying in a warm bath, turning off the lights and simply - relaxing! But you won't be needing any soap, because Rick's irresistibly creamy vocals will melt around you, cleansing away your every care. I would be very interested, incidentally, to hear from anyone who shares my enthusiasm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another 'catchy' album!, 9 May 2010
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hold Me In Your Arms...Plus (Audio CD)
Rick Astley's second album with 'Stock, Aitken & Waterman'.

Another batch of catchy pop songs churned out by the 'Music Factory', including three hits singles - the best of which was 'Take Me To Your Heart' in my opinion, and should have given Rick his second chart-topper.

Has a nicer photo of Rick on the front than his first album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another 'catchy' album!, 9 May 2010
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Rick Astley's second album with 'Stock, Aitken & Waterman'.

Another batch of catchy pop songs churned out by the 'Music Factory', including three hits singles - the best of which was 'Take Me To Your Heart' in my opinion, and should have given Rick his second chart-topper.

Has a nicer photo of Rick on the front than his first album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rick Astley Hold Me In Your Arms (Deluxe Edition), 21 May 2010
By 
djphunkneeguy (Regina, SK Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hold Me In Your Arms...Plus (Audio CD)
This is FANTASTIC!!!!! Great to see remastered product come out that includes some of the hard to find remixes!!!! If you loved the original cd, then you are going to FREAK over this!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this CD!, 27 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Hold Me In Your Arms (Audio CD)
Rick Astley is one of the greatest contemporary artists in the world. This album, with its classic tracks including the beautiful She Wants To Dance With Me, is a must and I trust you will take up my recommendation and buy it today!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB EXTENDED VERSIONS !!!, 9 Sep 2010
This review is from: Hold Me In Your Arms...Plus (Audio CD)
Finally, a complete album with all complete versions of extension. A MUST FOR ALL RICK ASTLEY'S FANS !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another 'catchy' album!, 9 May 2010
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hold Me in Your Arms (Audio CD)
Rick Astley's second album with 'Stock, Aitken & Waterman'.

Another batch of catchy pop songs churned out by the 'Music Factory', including three hits singles - the best of which was 'Take Me To Your Heart' in my opinion, and should have given Rick his second chart-topper.

Has a nicer photo of Rick on the front than his first album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hold Me In Your Arms...Plus
Hold Me In Your Arms...Plus by Rick Astley (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews