Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sound of a young bright Britain...
Young Englishman Rick turned into an overnight superstar with this album which contains the universal hits Never Gonna Give You Up, Together Forever, Whenever You Need Somebody and When I Fall In Love. It comes as no surprise that each of the 4 singles above has reached the #1 spot somewhere around the world. With slick production from Stock/Aitken/Waterman and Phil...
Published on 5 Oct 2001 by jangofett

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 2 cd album rick astley
there is only 1cd downloaded of the 2cd purchase ? of this rick astley album why?. yours . d. coker
Published 12 months ago by COKER.D


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sound of a young bright Britain..., 5 Oct 2001
Young Englishman Rick turned into an overnight superstar with this album which contains the universal hits Never Gonna Give You Up, Together Forever, Whenever You Need Somebody and When I Fall In Love. It comes as no surprise that each of the 4 singles above has reached the #1 spot somewhere around the world. With slick production from Stock/Aitken/Waterman and Phil Harding/Ian Curnow, the PWL team turned the tables on everyone and came up with a multi-platinum album. The best thing about Rick is of course his voice. The roar of a lion coming from the depths of a human. The songs written and produced by SAW are superb and brilliant and it took Rick's vocal to make them superior. White kid singing Motown songs. Never Gonna Give You Up is in the running for the best pop song of all time. Rick contributes 4 of his own songs in this album but they don't have the crunch of the SAW songs but No More Looking For Love and The Love Has Gone are solid. It's a great album to have and the sleeve is cool including a small essay on Rick. Buy it or be square!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Reissue, 17 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whenever You Need Somebody...Plus (Audio CD)
Edsel Records and Sony/BMG have contributed to creating an ideal format for a reissue. They have strived to include all the remixes and extra tracks that go along with this CD. The sound quality is amazing and the layout is great. Also very meticulous liner notes and informative. Nothing about this reissue or Rick's other PWL CD "Hold Me In Your Arms" has been skimped on. Plus the price is so reasonable. I can only hope for more PWL reissues. What about the Och'i Brown album that has never been on CD ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rick Astley Whenever You Need Somebody (Deluxe Edition), 21 May 2010
By 
djphunkneeguy (Regina, SK Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Whenever You Need Somebody...Plus (Audio CD)
Fastastic!!!! Finally some of the remixes I love remastered and put out for us dj's. The liner notes are very informative as well. If you loved the original cd, you are going to FREAK for this!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant if you are an Astley fan, 9 Jan 2002
By A Customer
When Rick Asley first came into my life i was obsessed,bought all his singles,then this album on vinyl,there was a free poster with it and i had it on my bedroom wall for years.I still have my vinyl but unfortunatley do not have a record player,so i will be buying this cd so i can have endless nights of pleasure listing to this hero of mine.If you loved Rick Astley buy this you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!!!, 22 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whenever You Need Somebody...Plus (Audio CD)
Rick Astley's debut album was one of the finest of the PWL produced albums from the late 80's and I almost wore out my cassette copy back in the day!! This re-mastered re-issue is simply fan-tastic!!!!!!
The sound quality is phenomenal - no more will I have to listen to my vinyl rips cos at last ALL the 12" mixes are included as well as the original album on this 2 CD set. Have ordered the 2 Disc set of "Hold Me In Your Arms" already!
If you love all things S/A/W and want them in fantastic quality, get this before it goes out of print! I am positive these re-issues will be highly sought after in a few years to come! BRILLIANT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The album of 1987, by one of the best artists of the 80's, 17 Mar 2001
By A Customer
Contains 4 of his 6 top ten hits. Even though songs like together forever sound very dated, songs like never gonna give you up, even today are still good to listen to. Couple these songs to rick's amazing voice and you get a 5 star album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Red-Haired Brit with the Booming Voice!, 24 Mar 2001
This is a great S/A/W produced album with top ten hits such as Together Forever and Never Gonna Give you up. While these two songs can be found on many SAW compilations as well as any 80's compilation, the rest of the album is brillant! The production is typical S/A/W fare, but you have to admit, their sound is very unique. Add that together with Rick's great voice and you have yourself a hit album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB EXTENDED VERSIONS !!!, 9 Sep 2010
This review is from: Whenever You Need Somebody...Plus (Audio CD)
Finally, a complete album with all complete versions of extension. A MUST FOR ALL RICK ASTLEY'S FANS !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Wonderful Rick Astley!!!, 22 Nov 2005
By A Customer
What can I say? I got this album on cassette when I was 10. I've played it so much it's worn out! Obviously all the hits, such as 'Never gonna give you up', 'Together Forever', 'Whenever you need somebody' and 'When I fall in love' are on it, but the tracks that were never released are pretty fantastic too. Strong man is one of my favourite tracks of all time. This is Stock, Aitken and Waterman, and some of Rick's own stuff, at their very best. If you buy this album you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All Rick's most well known songs on one album., 11 Mar 2001
By A Customer
I have been trying to get hold of this album on CD for months after originally owing it on vinyl, now my dreams have come true. This album has some of the best lyrics of it's decade which young and old can sing and dance along to. What ever happened to the man with the most distinctive voice? come back Rick we love you!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whenever You Need Somebody...Plus
Whenever You Need Somebody...Plus by Rick Astley (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews