Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the Very Best of Famiy
Other reviewers have pointed out that not all the best of Family is here. The first two albums, the Weaver's Answer is missing. Still it's good to hear Roger Chapman's warble and the musicality of the band is just great. They were well before their time. I remember seeing them back in the 1970s and they and their sound crew were having such a ball.
Published on 17 Jan 2011 by E. Carruthers

versus
28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another dissapointing best of...
After waiting years for a decent Family compilation,one that would include their mega rare first single "Scene thru the eye of a lens" i thought its not going to happen so i`ll buy this.It says all their hits and is called the Very Best of.How can this be when the awesome "Weavers Answer" is not even on it or as i can see no tracks from their first 2 classic albums "Music...
Published on 23 Jun 2010 by Mr. J. Morris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another dissapointing best of..., 23 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. J. Morris "Jonny Mo" (yorkshire,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Family (Audio CD)
After waiting years for a decent Family compilation,one that would include their mega rare first single "Scene thru the eye of a lens" i thought its not going to happen so i`ll buy this.It says all their hits and is called the Very Best of.How can this be when the awesome "Weavers Answer" is not even on it or as i can see no tracks from their first 2 classic albums "Music in a Dolls House" and "Entertainment".Somebody please do the honours and get it right and do this great Strange band justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same: another missed opportunity, 1 Aug 2010
By 
CARMELO HERNANDEZ RAMOS (Alicante. Spain. Europe.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Family (Audio CD)
It's really a pity and truly regrettable. There is no single compilation that does justice to the brilliant career of Family. The first two albums are not subject to collection in any of the anthologies available, nor their first single "Scene Through The Eye Of A Lens/Gypsy Woman", produced by Jimmy Miller and released by Liberty Records in October 1967, or the Maxi Single "Strange Band-The Weaver's Answer-Hung Up Down" (the latter two issues, re-recorded and remixed for that edition) or either the B-side "Stop This Car." The group also backed Dave Mason on his February 1968 single "Just For You".
It was another great opportunity lost. Really a shame. Sure, time will tell the story in the next future passed and one day a comprehensive anthology of all the lost Family's catalog (IOW's rendition of "Weaver's Answer, too), will become a reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the Very Best of Famiy, 17 Jan 2011
By 
E. Carruthers "mature teenager" (Durban, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Family (Audio CD)
Other reviewers have pointed out that not all the best of Family is here. The first two albums, the Weaver's Answer is missing. Still it's good to hear Roger Chapman's warble and the musicality of the band is just great. They were well before their time. I remember seeing them back in the 1970s and they and their sound crew were having such a ball.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to Family., 3 Dec 2013
By 
M. Williams "Mardin" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Family (Audio CD)
Roger Chapman's vocals are an acquired taste: you'll either like or not. One thing for sure, you are unlikely to forget Family's songs.

I was aware of "In My Own Time" (a 1971 hit), "The Weaver's Answer" and "Burlesque". This CD collection offers a complete introduction to this short-lived, quirky and pioneering band. Glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly the Best, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Family (Audio CD)
Great voice at the front. Backing as expected Music of the time and nothing to match it today.People need educating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old CD, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Family (Audio CD)
Bough for my husband who was reminiscing and he loves it! Playing on repeat on CD player. No more thoughts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Family (Audio CD)
good value for money,arrived in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the very best of Family, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Family (Audio CD)
This cd was a popular LP in the 1970s, but it is so good to listen to now, I would recommend any indie/folk appreciators buying this.
The album was, as always well packaged and arrived on time.
I would definitely order from this company again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best Of Family - A review, 15 Nov 2013
By 
M. B. Hollands (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Family (Audio CD)
There have always been a few Family tracks that have haunted me and I keep thinking of them, however I didn't have an album of Family and as a result I discovered on getting this that I had missed a few real gems.

Superb album, great vocals and arrangements.

Can't recommend highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best Of Family CD, 10 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Family (Audio CD)
Family i actually forgot how good they really were and it wasn't untill i heard them on the radio i thought i'll see if they're on
amazon and true to form it was so i bought it and i wasn't dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of Family
The Very Best Of Family by Family (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews