Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Stephen King adaptation
Confession - I haven't read the origninal short story upon which this is based so I can only imagine that this is a good adaptation of it because it is a good film unlike so many others that have been adapted from Mr King's excellent books. Christian Slater is perfectly cast as the Dolan of the title; a sleezy heartless people trafficker, who commutes between Las Vegas...
Published on 22 Mar 2010 by PJ Rankine

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A rehashed Stephen King novella
Dolan's Cadillac is a solid thriller about a snakehead gangster (Christian Slater - Broken Arrow) who murders a witness after she sees his operation in the middle of the desert. Without a witness, Dolan goes free on the trafficking charges. The film is so named after the armoured car that Dolan heads his operation from, staying on the move. Wes Bentley (American Beauty)...
Published on 26 April 2010 by J. Morris


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Stephen King adaptation, 22 Mar 2010
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Confession - I haven't read the origninal short story upon which this is based so I can only imagine that this is a good adaptation of it because it is a good film unlike so many others that have been adapted from Mr King's excellent books. Christian Slater is perfectly cast as the Dolan of the title; a sleezy heartless people trafficker, who commutes between Las Vegas and LA in his armoured Cadillac Escalade. Wes Bentley plays the husband of a woman who is murdered by Dolan when she tries to give evidence against him. The whole story then revolves around Bentley's search for justice and the ingenious way in which he achieves it. As with many of King's novels you may not agree with the way its done but you'll cheer the end result. As for the disc itself, the picture quality is excellent and probably the best I have seen this side of blu-ray. The audio track is clear and dynamic and makes good use of the soundfield considering the type of film this is. If you like Stephen King or just a good solid thriller then you'll probably enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How can you argue at this price?, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dolan's Cadillac [Blu-ray] [2009] (Blu-ray)
At the time, I was looking for a movie just to sum up my basket price and I came along this Blu-Ray. At less than 3.00 brand new, I didn't take another glance, I bought it and watched it as soon as it arrived.

I didn't expect it to be any good...but I was surprised. A fantastic revenge film. Though can get a bit claustrophobic which adds to the atmosphere of the film.

Though the blu-ray does have its faults...sometimes the movie can drag slightly, not many special features. Though the blu-ray transfer is rather good.

If you like other Stephen King based movies, you'll like this one... You can tell its from the same person's mind...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A rehashed Stephen King novella, 26 April 2010
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Dolan's Cadillac is a solid thriller about a snakehead gangster (Christian Slater - Broken Arrow) who murders a witness after she sees his operation in the middle of the desert. Without a witness, Dolan goes free on the trafficking charges. The film is so named after the armoured car that Dolan heads his operation from, staying on the move. Wes Bentley (American Beauty) plays the husband of the recently deceased and is very, very upset about it all and vows to end Dolan's reign of terror.

The film is well shot; some of the sunset vistas of the Vegas desert are breathtakingly beautiful, however it's all a distraction from what is essentially a short story that has been stretched into an 85-minute feature, at some points it really feels like the plot is being padded out (needlessly long shots of the Cadillac cruising the mile-straight desert roads etc). When the action is there, it is good and Slater provides a decent performance as Dolan. I was hoping for more from Wes Bentley as he really hasn't stolen the show since American Beauty but his character was a bit two-dimensional and he didn't bring anything new to the table with it.

Nonetheless, a decent film worth a watch if you're long on time. DVD features the usual set of cast & crew interviews, an intriguing behind-the-scenes featurette and the B-Roll footage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If Nothing Else, Cadillac's Nice, 30 April 2010
By 
Mitun (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
'Dolan's Cadillac' is a revenge thriller that released Direct-to DVD in 2009. It's based on a short story by Stephen King.

The movie tells the story of Tom Robinson (Wes Bentley) who after experiencing a personal tragedy is looking for revenge against Jimmy Dolan (Christian Slater) who is a mobster running human trafficking operations.

The movie does grab your attention in the first 15-20 minutes, however goes on a downward spiral thereafter. The movie is slow, predictable and fails to generate any excitement or tension. The makers have got a hold of a short story, which doesn't have any scope to expand into a feature film. They have then tried to unsuccessfully stretch it out into a 1 hour 25 minute feature film. The climax is also quite poor and is a right drag.

Christian Slater is one of my favourite actors from the late 80's/90's because he was cool and a really talented actor. His good movies include Heathers, Young Guns II, Kuffs and True Romance. It's sad to see how much his career has plummeted. In this movie he looks good as the mobster but overacts. Wes Bentley is alright until the climax where he loses the plot with the abrupt acting. Emmanuelle Vaugier who plays Tom Robinson's wife is passable.

The direction provided by Jeff Beesley is mediocre as both the drama and performances are not satisfying. The climax is also poorly executed.

The good things in the movie consist of the interesting start, the eye pleasing background scenery and a cool black Cadillac motor vehicle, which Jimmy Dolan travels in throughout the movie. Rather than buying the DVD, please buy the Cadillac, it's worth it.

'Dolan's Cadillac' is another addition to the many disappointing Stephen King adaptations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dolans cadillac uk blu ray, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dolan's Cadillac [Blu-ray] [2009] (Blu-ray)
This is a very under rated movie nice little pot boiler.Basic revenge flic.Good performance by slater exelent 2.35.1 picture.Just shows what a determined man can do.If you havent seen this give it a go you wont be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Christian Slater is awesome., 8 July 2014
Bought this to add to the collection as I had read the Stephen King short story. Found this to be a good interpretation of the book. The film goes into a lot more detail and back story than Stephen King's version (but then it was only a SHORT story), and gives the viewer a chance to get to know Elizabeth and therefore have a little more sympathy for her and her husband.
Christian Slater does a great job as Dolan and is well cast, giving the character a more human quality, that despite how evil he was, made me feel a little sorry for him at the end.
The film does take a while to hot up though and if you can make it through the first 45 mins, the rest is quite good, with the last half hour really tense. Well worth watching if you are a King fan or not,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Based on the Stephen King short story., 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was better than I thought it would be. A genuinely spooky and disturbing film. I would recommend to King fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Car Crash & a Half!!, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dolan's Cadillac [Blu-ray] [2009] (Blu-ray)
I am a great fan of Stephen King's work and many times am disappointed with the film adaptations, but Dolan's Cadillac was a breath of fresh air, it didn't deviate from the short story too much and for that I'm grateful. Christian Slater plays an excellent bad guy. The film centres around a man who had lost his wife in a car bomb explosion and revenge with a twist is the order of the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too long, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Probably better as a short story - a story of revenge - well justified, but not for the more sensitve souls amongst us!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An existential thriller deserving of a larger audience, 21 April 2013
By 
M. F. Khan (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dolan's Cadillac [Blu-ray] [2009] (Blu-ray)
The film is based on a short story by Stephen KIng, but while the source is more concerned with the actual 'how' of the enterprise, the film takes its time to ask in much more detail, 'why'. As a result, the film feels far more accomplished than the source, offering at last a more plausible rationale for one man's descent into insanity coupled with a simple but very well made revenge film. Not as elaborate as Law Abiding Citizen say, but with the same hard heart I found myself enjoying this immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dolan's Cadillac [Blu-ray] [2009]
Dolan's Cadillac [Blu-ray] [2009] by Max Keene (Blu-ray - 2010)
2.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews