Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pretty good
seems to get a few dodgy reviews but its a nice funny coming of age movie with some thought provoking moments. with the price of a dvd these days its a good value for money
Published 13 months ago by ROGER BARLOW

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars The sanitised version of the story brought to dvd
Michael Cera fans, this is another movie were he does his awkward geek act (except with added bad behaviour...) so expect no surprises her...
The story follows 16yr old Nick Twisp, a highly intellectual Sinatra fan from a troubled family background who meets Sheeni Saunders, a bright, like-minded Francophile from a well-to-do family who encourages Nick to become more...
Published 9 months ago by DPVC


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars The sanitised version of the story brought to dvd, 18 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Youth in Revolt [DVD] (DVD)
Michael Cera fans, this is another movie were he does his awkward geek act (except with added bad behaviour...) so expect no surprises her...
The story follows 16yr old Nick Twisp, a highly intellectual Sinatra fan from a troubled family background who meets Sheeni Saunders, a bright, like-minded Francophile from a well-to-do family who encourages Nick to become more rebellious and criminal if they want to be together. To do this, Nick is aided by his self-devised alter-ego, Francois who Nick acts out his frustrations. With varying degrees of success.
The film is based on the first 3 Youth in Revolt novels, and a few of the differences are startling considering. The book Nick is 13yrs old, a lot more crass, a lot more frustrated and angry, and by all accounts a lot more anarchic and fun. The film Nick is the Cera-ised version (not actually a bad thing...) were Nick seems more of a sensitive, neurotic, put-upon (unknowingly) hipster. The act can be a bit cloying (as well as grating), but its a lot less of a stretch in believable terms (and considering most of the things Nick gets up to in the book, oh dear...). If anything, the script should've been there for Cera to cut loose (he can do dark and angry, considering his recent roles...)
The film does move at a fairly slow pace and theres a few funny moments along the way (the script lacks the bite and the truly LOL moments though...), and you'll be playing spot the star cameo and appearances along the way too. Its best watched as a diversion really, its not a bad film, it feels more of a missed chance. It just could have been so much better considering the source material.
I watched the film first, it made me wan to read the book. Anyone who read the book first and enjoyed it, best not watch this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pretty good, 27 April 2014
By 
ROGER BARLOW (LONDON/NEW YORK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Youth in Revolt [DVD] (DVD)
seems to get a few dodgy reviews but its a nice funny coming of age movie with some thought provoking moments. with the price of a dvd these days its a good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cera in Revolt, 25 Oct. 2010
By 
SilentSinger "Wife, mother, reader. Preferred... (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Youth in Revolt [DVD] (DVD)
I am a bit of a fan of Michael Cera although the does tend to play the same character in all the films that he's in, although this may be the fault of casting directors rather than the actor himself. This film's plot is based around 16-year-old self-confessed nerd called Nick Twisp whose dysfunctional mother's boyfriend's antics force them to holiday in a trailer park where he meets the beautiful and intellectual Sheemi whose interests complement his own, she is a bit of a francophile which leads Twisp to create a cooler French alter-ego called Francois Dillinger whose twisted plan to capture Sheeni's heart leads to a series of comic situations.

I did enjoy this film and the acting from a talented cast which included Portia Doubleday (Sheeni), Jean Smart (Mrs Twisp), Ray Liotta (one of Mrs Twisp's boyfriends) and Steve Buscemi as his estranged father all gave excellent performances. Some of it was fairly unbelievable at times, but entertaining all the same. I did love the scenes with Viyay, Nick's friend from high school, as he was very entertaining indeed.

A good film to watch if you're a fan of Michael Cera and at 88 minutes, it's short and sharp enough to maintain your interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny!, 10 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Michael Cera is a fantastic actor, this flick moves at a very enjoyable pace and cements Michael as one of America's best young actors around today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Michael Cera's rough side., 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Youth in Revolt [DVD] (DVD)
Usually, Michael Cera plays that socially and sexually awkward teen that we've all seen in Superbad, Scott Pilgrim and Nick and Norah's infinite playlist. However, In youth in revolt we still see Cera's awkward side and then he later becomes rebellious. We see things that we wouldn't usually expect of Michael Cera and that's a good thing. I recommend this film because we see the transition of awkward teen to badass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teen Comedy At Its Finest, 21 Aug. 2010
By 
Jasmine Henry (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
The last film I watched was Youth In Revolt on Blu-ray, a class performance from Michael Cera who has perfected the 'awkward teen' character to a T. The films follows the quirky lead character Nick Twisp and his attempts one Summer, to win the girl he loves' heart by creating an alter ego with a too-cool-for-school attitude,'Francois Dillinger' who helps Nick to make some tricky choices. As expected, along the way he runs into all sorts of obstacles and trouble, including rough preppy, an encounter with drugs and a run in with the law. It all results in a very entertaining story, delivering some amazing one-liners as well as some, slightly unexpected twists.

The film's a bit rude, and that's possibly an understatement with both sex and drugs present (minus the rock & roll), but with it's 15 age rating, a little 'boundary-pushing' is expected. Cera delivers a great performance as both halves of his character's persona and he breaks out of his shell as a typical misunderstood teen stereotype to play the incredibly charismatic and funny 'Francois Dillinger'. The film is also made great by Portia Doubleday's performance as Cera's love interest and their chemistry really makes the film that whole bit better.

Excellent, funny and is the film to watch for some belting laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Youth in Revolt, 16 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Youth in Revolt [DVD] (DVD)
Very good film at a good price. If you haven't seen this film i would suggest it, Michael Cera at his best.
Dvd took longer than I thought it would to arrive but hey ho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hmm... Give it a second chance, 20 Jan. 2011
By 
This review is from: Youth in Revolt [DVD] (DVD)
Having this highly recommended to me by a friend I was very eager to watch this, perhaps the hype was what made my first viewing of the film a relatively laugh free experience. But there was something about this film, a charm, that made me compelled to give it a second chance. And I must say I'm rather glad I did.

This little gem of an indie teen comedy is, in my opinion, just what this dying genre of "teen comedies" needed. Yes it some times falls flat, but luckily this film has enough of an original slant and charm to keep it trudging along until the end.

Overall I think it is a very sweet and funny movie. Yes, it has major flaws, however there is something about this film that I really like, and continue to like. I would highly recommend this film if you want to sit back and have a nice little movie to finish a long day.

For the record, the special features are pretty rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some tenuous plot elements, but still very funny, 16 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Youth in Revolt [DVD] (DVD)
I got this film just on the strength of Michael Cera being in it, as I realised that I quite enjoy his brand of 'plucky geekery'. You definitely get that here. The plot has a few touches of the surreal about it (e.g. a definite Fight Club flavour), but only so much as to make it interesting, rather than weird. It has a couple of weak spots, e.g. Nick's transformation into his bad-boy alter-ego happened a bit too abruptly, I felt - but they don't spoil the film. Youth in Revolt has more depth than a simple comedy of errors like Superbad, and more of a touch of 'endearingly awkward/ funny teens' - but not so much as to make it sickeningly 'kooky'. The small cast all give great performances, no weak spots there at all. There are laughs to be had both from something unexpected/ shocking happening, and from genuinely humorous lines and acting. In short, if you enjoyed the non-CGI bits of Scott Pilgrim, you should enjoy this, but if you want a more high-paced roller-coaster of funny-bad stuff happening, like in Superbad or Knocked Up, just bear in mind that this is a bit more gentle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Possibly my favourite Michael Cera film, 22 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Youth in Revolt [DVD] (DVD)
Possibly my favourite Michael Cera film. I haven't read the book, but the energy of the film is engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Youth in Revolt [DVD]
Youth in Revolt [DVD] by Miguel Arteta (DVD - 2010)
£3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews