Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the critics say
Elektra has had some fairly negative press, however I urge you to take an action figure leap of faith and make up your own minds.
I found it far superior to its "predecessor" Daredevil and for me, Garner gave Elektra real character. She has been critisied for playing it too cool and unfeeling, but I ask how else would an assasin be? Warm and cuddly??!! I found it...
Published on 22 Jun. 2005 by UK Book Lover

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars She’s aliiiiive!
Yes, despite *sort of* being bumped off in ‘Daredevil’ Elektra returns for her own self-titled ‘spin-off’ movie. This, in itself, is odd. For a start, Daredevil (featuring a ‘blind’ Ben Affleck clad in red rubber, also an image which caused many a trauma in cinema-goers since witnessing it) didn’t exactly set the box offices...
Published 11 months ago by Albatross


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the critics say, 22 Jun. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elektra [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Elektra has had some fairly negative press, however I urge you to take an action figure leap of faith and make up your own minds.
I found it far superior to its "predecessor" Daredevil and for me, Garner gave Elektra real character. She has been critisied for playing it too cool and unfeeling, but I ask how else would an assasin be? Warm and cuddly??!! I found it easy to see the torment she is feeling over her orders to kill and her compassion bubbling under the surface as she struggles against her instincts to kill.
It was a far better plot than Daredevil with superior action sequences and an element of the Hero / Flying Daggers style of bright colours against the darkness of the scences which I found visually very effective.
Yes, before I am bereated for the glowing review, it does have some flaws, some of the dialogue could have been written better (or even left out) however this is an adaptation of a loved comic book character. With these I want to see mainly action, feel the characters emotions and empathise with them and to be visually attracted to the screen and for me Elektra offers this in droves.
The DVD features had the usual deleted scenes and interviews with Garner, which I found entertaining.
Elektra scores high on my list with the script downfalls being lifted by Garners performance. This girl has serious talent and can do no wrong in my eyes, she is on her way up and I continue to support any project she features in no matter what the critics say. Alias.... need I say more?!
So go on, add this to your to be watched list, Elektra knocks the socks of supposed hit Ocean 12, which with a stunning cast list is saying something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vastly underrated movie, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elektra [Blu-ray] [2005] (Blu-ray)
Best to watch Daredevil (the director's cut - ignore the cinema release version) first as it will put this film in a little better context. I consider this the better film. Jennifer Garner rocks. I'm still holding out some small (and probably futile) hope for a sequel or maybe the return of (Jennifer as) the character in another Marvel Movie. I'm thinking she wouldn't be out of place in one of the spin-offs from the Avengers (maybe the Black Widow movie).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not bad but, 25 Oct. 2006
This review is from: Elektra [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Good points: nice pictures and colors, excellent special effects! the aesthetic is perfectly mastered. Garner is good in the leading role; the villains are really er... nasty.

Problem! Abby's secret is soooooooooo ridiculous; Please I laughed when I discovered what her secret was! come on it's both so predictable and laughable! ^^ Elektra's ruthlessness was considerably reduced and that's a bad point: it's a good idea on the paper to tone down Elektra's temper but in the end, the character becomes inconsistant... Too bad! without this huge mistake and without this Abby plot, this could have been a better film. Nevertheless the high quality of the pictures and Garner's performance boost the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars She’s aliiiiive!, 12 April 2014
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Elektra [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, despite *sort of* being bumped off in ‘Daredevil’ Elektra returns for her own self-titled ‘spin-off’ movie. This, in itself, is odd. For a start, Daredevil (featuring a ‘blind’ Ben Affleck clad in red rubber, also an image which caused many a trauma in cinema-goers since witnessing it) didn’t exactly set the box offices alight in the way its producers hoped it would. So, one wonders why they decided to green-light a (semi) sequel.

I’ve never read any of the comic books this film is based on, so I can’t really say how faithful it remains. But I do know that Jennifer Garner does look better in her costume that her off-screen hubby Ben did (male perspective only), but a costume alone does not really warrant an entire ninety minute movie. Here we meet Elektra as she’s forced to confront her demons and also protect a single father and his teenage daughter (convenient ‘love interest’ if ever there was one).

So, expect some martial arts fighting as she whacks one ninja on the head after the next, plus a kind of plot twist that doesn’t really affect the overall story in any way. About halfway through the film, the fight scenes start using ‘special moves’ instead of just punches and kicks. Yes, it adds a little something extra to the constant fight scenes, but the CGI effects aren’t that great as someone launches yet another computer-added smoking fireball to their punches and kicks.

Elektra was released just before Marvel basically cornered the market on superheroes movies with their ‘Avengers’ franchise and its predecessors. Therefore, it’s not half as much fun as any of them. Then again... it was also released before Christopher Nolan did his Batman trilogy, so it’s also not as dark and menacing as then. It kind of sits somewhere in the middle in that big empty hole filled with superhero movies which, despite being okay, never really amounted to what they could have been.

You can basically have Elektra on in the background while you potter around your living room. You’ll still be able to follow it and can just tune in for the good bits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars give it a chance!, 2 July 2010
By 
J. Anderson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elektra [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
after seeing daredevil , jennifer garner really stood out playing elektra and when i noticed she had a spin off, i coulidint wait to see it. i was not left disapointed at all!

some of the special effects were actually quite good , acting wasint too bad and it stuck to the storyline well. the soundtrack set the scene and the atmosphere is tense when elektra battles bad guys.

having read many reviews panning this film and even jennifer garner herself saying the film is 'terrible' , i thought they saw the wrong film! it was not the worst film i have ever seen and it definetly doesint deserve these reviews. watch it yourself before you get put off it , give it a chance :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, 1 Jun. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Elektra [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
I went to see this movie the night it was released an i thought that it was excellent.
Elektra, the spin-off of the popular movie Daredevil, is about the classic comic book character,after rising from the dead. The story has a lot more content than that of Daredevil and provides much more entertainment.
Finally Jennifer Garner has been given space to show off her kick-ass talents as the lead in a big budget movie. 13 going on 30 was great, but did not show her abilities in martial arts, unlike this movie. She does almost all of her own stunts (like in Alias), and that adds a sense of reality into the film.
The plot is much better than Daredevil, and the "bad guys" ar much more creative.
The special effects are awesome making the film truly come alive. The fight scenes are fantastic! The use of colour makes what could be a very dark film, very bright, saving it from the typical depressing look that films like these tend to pick up.
A great comic book adaption, great actors, great direction. Great film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ELECKTRA, 25 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elektra [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed the film. and being girl-power I'm all for it. LOL
Entertaining with plenty of action, balanced with slight dashes of romance.
Would put it on par to Daredevil (without the loss of sight bit).
Recommend it to be viewed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quiet, slow & subtle, 12 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The mood of the movie nicely echoes the mood of the character. It is dark, pensive and not altogether deep. This film was not afraid to address the more mystical side of martial arts/ninja folklore. Not your usual comic book hero fare. It is quite a break from Spider-man and X-Men.

I couldn't stand Garner's martial arts antics in Alias, but in Elektra it worked. Garner acquits herself with gusto. Earnest and intense; she has trained hard for the role and is in excellent condition.

This is a pleasant, calm follow-up to Daredevil: Director's Cut, and I thoroughly enjoyed the movie despite its potential flaws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elektra's way better than they say, 27 Feb. 2005
By 
M. J. BAIN "Mike" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elektra [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
"Elektra" is the latest film to star Jennifer Garner - one of Hollywoods most beautiful and charismatic people. Garner was last dazzling last year in "13 Going on 30"
With "Elektra" the source material is a bit off-key and theres not nearly enough time to do the movie in, but it all still gels together quite nicely thanks to another saving grace performance by Garner and some beautiful cinematography.
Elektra's only real fault seems to be that it takes itself a little too seriously; oh and the acting talents of some minor characters. Either way its beautiful action scenes, fighting fight and totally able lead actress pulling of sweary words after giggling at the word "bitch" last year and generally being someone you dont want to mess with is alot of fun to watch. Its ending is satisfying and the layer of drama is successful. However, i can't shake the wants and needs for Garner to do something more challenging - see her confirmed role in a new drama in 2006... :)
Elektras faults lie with a script that varies greatly in quality and pace; either way, most of the actors seem to be able to deliver some cliches without hamming them up, notably strong is teenage actress Kristin Prout.
Most important question here. Is it better than Daredevil? Yes. By a long shot. Theres far less bloated drama scenes with inplausable intent; theres far more rapid action, its far more beautiful to watch and the tone is far superior to campy Daredevil. Its actually one of the better films out of the Marvel DC revivial of late, but Spider-Man 2 it aint.
Its one of the better action movies of recent, better than "Oceans 12" and other fairly good films. Its worth the time if you can switch off what the critics say. And this comes from someone who loathed the abysmal "Catwoman".
Good game, Garner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A So-so Spin-off Flick, 31 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Elektra [Blu-ray] [2005] (Blu-ray)
2.5 out of 5

After coming back from the dead and trained in the deadly art of Kimagure, Elektra Natchios is a killer-for-hire. Upon receiving her new contract, she goes up against a band of ninja assassins known as The Hand, who are also after the same target: a young martial arts prodigy with a potential for greatness. Elektra’s past meets her present as she seeks to protect this young prodigy while also facing demons of her own.

I was in the minority of people who liked Daredevil, in which Jennifer Garner also played Elektra. When I heard she was getting her own spin-off movie, I was really excited because, while I’m not an expert on the Elektra character, I know enough to know that a film version would be awesome. We didn’t quite get that with this flick, but that’s not to say it was utterly terrible. However, what audiences expected and what they got were different things.

Let’s see . . . I was happy that Elektra sported her famous red costume in this as opposed to the black one in Daredevil. Though technically totally impractical in real life, having her very-similar-to-comic-book-costume on screen was cool for fanboys and fangirls alike and, no, not for the reason you’d think. Just something about seeing a comic book character “as they are” on screen brings a thrill.

The fighting sequences were not bad and Hollywood’s version/perception of the martial arts is always interesting as they tend to add all sorts of legend and mystique to them as opposed to their reality.

They got the gist of the character but didn’t get hardcore into it, and it was clear this was just a way to cash in on the Daredevil movie that came out a couple years before. A solid story of Elektra’s assassin exploits—even if you want her to fight mercenaries with a similar agenda—would’ve been a great help, but this flick seemed more introspective and slower paced versus something that should’ve been geared toward the action-and-suspense genre (i.e. a high profile target, like a president or something, then have that person tie into Elektra’s mythology. Set her on the run while also giving her history and what it’s like to be someone who was supposed to be dead, some in-costume Daredevil universe cameos, and you’d have a solid story). Just ideas.

In the end, if they ever went back and rebooted the character, I’d definitely check it out as the potential is there, but wasn’t fully exploited with this outing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elektra [Blu-ray] [2005] [US Import]
Elektra [Blu-ray] [2005] [US Import] by Goran Visnjic (Blu-ray - 2010)
Used & New from: £8.78
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews