Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Bearly Believable Performance!
It is a grand thing to watch two great actors at the peak of their powers going head to head, to the victor take the spoils. But fine a thespian as he is, Sir Anthony Hopkins would have to admit that just for once he was been put in the shade by a bravura performance from an actor who pulls off a truly towering performance. In fact Bart the bear towered at 9'6'' to be...
Published 10 months ago by Bob Salter

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but have seen better
I bought this dvd as I generally like adventure/psychological type films and the reviews on here were very encouraging of this one. I have to say I was a bit disappointed, the story is ok but a bit two-dimensional as are most of the characters, I don't really grow to like any of them enough to really care about what happens to them. Maybe it's because I'm a girl and this...
Published 11 months ago by Ms. A. Scott


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Bearly Believable Performance!, 5 Feb 2014
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Edge [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
It is a grand thing to watch two great actors at the peak of their powers going head to head, to the victor take the spoils. But fine a thespian as he is, Sir Anthony Hopkins would have to admit that just for once he was been put in the shade by a bravura performance from an actor who pulls off a truly towering performance. In fact Bart the bear towered at 9'6'' to be precise, and weighed in at 1,500lbs, which certainly gave him a colossal screen presence. Bart had been perfecting his art in "The Bear"(88) and "Legends of the Fall"(94), and was at the peak of his powers as the "man killer" in this film. Bart exudes menace by the bucketload, and boy did he know how to do angry! The slavering "man killer" makes Hannibal Lecter seem about as scary as Ronnie Corbett.

"The Edge" is a simple survival tale set in snowy wilderness of Alaska. Hopkins plays the billionaire with a photographic memory whose plane crashes in the middle of nowhere. A great big cold middle of nowhere, but home to some large furry creatures. Being a nerd with a good memory who has read a few survival books comes in very handy. Cometh the hour cometh the man! The film is actually very entertaining and does what it says on the box. Nothing too taxing for my poor old head, just that age old struggle to survive. Staying alive is no simple matter with a ravenous man eating bear tracking you down. Mucho resourcefulness is required. Admittedly the film does stretch credulity a tad, but it is certainly never boring. There is also an interesting twist to the story at the end, but aside from that it is 3 men against the wilderness and that bear. Simple yes, but also highly entertaining! Sadly Bart was snubbed at the Oscars. Like Dorothy's little terrier from "The Wizard of Oz", he was discriminated against on the grounds of being an animal! Bearly believable in this more enlightened age!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GRIPPING STORY OF SURVIVAL OF THE FITTEST..., 30 Nov 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Edge [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This is a wonderful film that will keep the viewer totally absorbed. Written by the tremendously talented David Mamet (The House of Games, Oleanna), it is beautifully directed by the noted director Lee Tamahori (Once Were Warriors, Along Came a Spider). The film is a complex, fully fleshed story covering many themes, fully realized by a stellar cast. It also provides the viewer with breathtaking cinematography, as well as a compelling score written by Academy Award winner Jerry Goldsmith (The Omen).
The film focuses an a mild mannered, self-effacing, slightly paranoid billionaire, Charles Morse (Anthony Hopkins). A brilliant and well-read man with a penchant for esoteric knowledge, Morse is married to Mickey (Elle MacPherson), a young and beautiful, successful model. On location with her in a remote area of Alaska, she is surrounded by her young, fun loving camera crew, while he is seemingly the odd man out. He is astute enough, however, to sense that there are romantic undercurrents between his wife and her photographer, Robert Green (Alec Baldwin).
When Morse accompanies Robert on what was to be a short excursion into the Alaskan wilderness, looking for a local hunter to pose in the photo shoot, disaster looms ahead, and the test for the survival of the fittest begins. It is here that the superior mind and knowledge of Morse is put to the test, as they find themselves pitted against nature. Morse rises to the occasion, emerging as a natural leader, while his younger, fitter rival, Robert, is often at a loss as to how to cope in their peculiar situation. It is also through the emerging and changing conditions that they face, that their respective characters emerge. It is in the wilderness that they are both unmasked and emerge as their true selves.
This is a film that will keep the viewer enthralled. Anthony Hopkins has never been better as the quietly heroic Morse, and Alec Baldwin is excellent as the craven and duplicitous photographer who has cuckolded him. Elle MacPherson is luminous as the beautiful, young, trophy wife. The rest of the supporting cast, including the giant Kodiac bear, are also terrific. This is a superlative survival story that has something for everyone. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hopkins at his best, 2 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: The Edge [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This little gem has everything , I rarely watch movies twice but this i can see over and over again ( you get something more every time you watch it ) a perfect mix of adventure/plot and moral messages with twists from start to finish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars on 'the edge' of my seat, 8 Aug 2009
By 
P. Rogers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Edge [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Anthony Hopkins is a pleasantly intelligent millionaire who after a disaster is put to the test in the wilds of Northern North America. Action from the start, the film thrills and terrifies. All the family loved it. But it's definitely too scary for under 10s.
The scenery is stunning. The emotional stress is played out intensely on the screen until you feel as if you yourself are also lost and injured in the middle of nowhere in mid-winter. It all mounts up to an epic story of endurance mixed with fear and exhileration.
Great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A SURVIVAL STRUGGLE' ( simply -a good film ), 14 Feb 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Edge [Blu-ray] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Last time I watched this was almost certainly 13-14 years ago on 'DVD'
Remembering it to be a good film. when released on Blu-Ray' I decided
to buy.
The film tells the story of three survivors of a plane-crash, billionaire
'Charles Morse' (Anthony Hopkins) fashion photographer 'Robert Green'
and the latters assistant 'Stephen' (Harold Perrineau)
They find themselves in one of the most inhospitable wildernesses on the
planet, they face many dangers, thick woodland, unpredictable weather.
a hungry 'grizzly' and a lack of food, with only 'Charles's' ingenuity giving
them any chance of survival.
'Charles' believes 'Robert' will attempt to kill him before they possibly reach
safety, he has reason to believe his attractive wife 'Mickey' and the photographer
are having an affair......and that 'Robert' has designs on both his wife and his
billions.
The struggle for survival becomes desperate, the grizzly has got a taste for
human flesh, 'Stephen' has already become a victim.
The odds are against the remaining survivors in this often exciting and tense
affair, 'Hopkins' is outstanding !
It's a good upgrade to the HD format, picture and sound quality superb.
There is little in the way of extras on board....just trailers.
(This is region A)
Well worth a viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but have seen better, 10 Jan 2014
By 
Ms. A. Scott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Edge [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I bought this dvd as I generally like adventure/psychological type films and the reviews on here were very encouraging of this one. I have to say I was a bit disappointed, the story is ok but a bit two-dimensional as are most of the characters, I don't really grow to like any of them enough to really care about what happens to them. Maybe it's because I'm a girl and this film is more of a masculine one who knows? There is quite a graphic scene with a bear attacking someone and lots of fighting in general which doesn't do it for me, I'd rarely the story was more in depth. The scenery was impressive but overall I felt the film could have been a lot better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Most people lost in the wilds die of shame, because they didn't do the one thing that would save their lives - thinking", 3 Sep 2014
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Edge [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I liked this film and I am very glad that I watched it. It is not exactly an immortal masterpiece, but a very well done adventure/survival film with good actors and quite clever scenario. Below, more of my impressions, with some limited SPOILERS.

Charles Morse (Anthony Hopkins), an aging billionaire, accompanies his much-younger wife, Mickey (Elle Macpherson), a fashion-model, to a photo shoot on Alaska. The photo session will be made by a renowned photographer Robert "Bob" Green (Alec Baldwin) and Stephen (Harold Perrineau), his assistant. Together with a pilot the whole party travels from location to location on board of a small seaplane (a DeHavilland DHC-2 Beaver; first introduced in 1948 this is an old design but because of a reputation of robustness and great fiability the somehow improved TurboBeaver version of this plane is still in production in the Year of Grace 2014!). But the trip will not go as planned and some of the people mentioned above will meet Alaskan wilderness up close and personal...

This is a very well made and well thought over adventure/survival film, visually very impressive and not stupid at all. Actors did VERY WELL, with especially the duo Anthony Hopkins and Alec Baldwin giving an impressive performance. There is suspense and tension, some scary moments, there are surprises and twists and at no moment we can be certain who will make it until the final credits.

As you can guess by simply looking at the cover of the DVD, yes, there is indeed a huge bear in this film. Played impressively well by Bart the Bear, the same who appeared in 1986 as the bear in "The clan of Cave Bear", in 1988 as the bear in "The bear" and in 1991 the bear in "White Fang", well, the bear is a very important part of this bear... er, I mean film. Sadly, Bart the Bear died in 2000 from cancer, at age of 23... With its 1700 pounds at the time of death Bart was totally one of heavy weights of Hollywood...

I will keep this review short, because I don't want to provide any spoilers - you deserve to discover this really good, original and well made film by yourself. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful acting, suspense and scenery, 6 April 2014
By 
hfffoman (Kent) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Edge [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Fans of Hannibal Lecter will probably love this. Hopkins' performance is delightful. Look out for the exquisite moment when his compass goes wrong. The film is full of the suspense and beautiful scenes of nature. I found some of the fighting a bit overdone but there isn’t much of it and it didn't spoil the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong language release on Amazon Instant, 5 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Darren Hazard (Hatfield, Herts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Edge (Amazon Instant Video)
What a cock up, Amazon have put the dubbed German version on the site. It's unwatchable unless you are a fluent German speaker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good film, 11 Nov 2009
By 
S. Perkins "Sharon booklover" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Edge [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
I really like this film, I love Anthony Hopkins and particularly liked the character in the film.

The scenery in the film is oustanding and the scenes with the bear are 'keep you on the front of your seat'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Edge [Blu-ray] [US Import]
Edge [Blu-ray] [US Import] by Anthony Hopkins (Blu-ray - 2010)
£5.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews