Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun gift which helps meerkats at the same time
Bought this for my fiance, and I'm really chuffed with it. A big pack of information in a smart tin, this set even includes information on where you can go to visit your meerkat should you want to. Once you register your meerkat you are it's sponsor for a year, and will be sent a photo of 'your' meerkat. I like the concept of helping charity while gifting, and this was a...
Published on 20 Aug 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
105 of 109 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Be careful...
I was looking into buying one of these gift boxes for a Christmas present, so decided to look into it further on Gift Republic's website. In the small print at the bottom of the page, Gift Republic states that they 'donate approximately 10% of the RRP for each box sold to The People's Trust for Endangered Species'. I'm now not going to purchase one of these boxes as I...
Published on 5 Dec 2010 by F. Costello


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

105 of 109 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Be careful..., 5 Dec 2010
This review is from: Gift Republic: Adopt A Meerkat Gift Box (Kitchen & Home)
I was looking into buying one of these gift boxes for a Christmas present, so decided to look into it further on Gift Republic's website. In the small print at the bottom of the page, Gift Republic states that they 'donate approximately 10% of the RRP for each box sold to The People's Trust for Endangered Species'. I'm now not going to purchase one of these boxes as I fail to see how a tiny 10% of the RRP is going to be a worthwhile contribution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars beware a little bit, 23 Jan 2011
This review is from: Gift Republic: Adopt A Meerkat Gift Box (Kitchen & Home)
bought this as a xmas present for 10 year old son. He liked it except that the adoption is valid for a year and at his age it's hard to understand why (only a year). I was disappointed to find out ONLY 10% of the purchase price goes towards meerkat project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars caution, a bit of a con, 23 Dec 2011
This review is from: Gift Republic: Adopt A Meerkat Gift Box (Kitchen & Home)
I purchased this for my 88 year old mother for her birthday in August as she loves meerkats. She filled out the adoption form and sent it to the company and has never had anything back from them at all and it is now December. This company should be looked into as it is not even a charity BE WARNED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ADOPT A MEERKAT, 19 Dec 2011
This review is from: Gift Republic: Adopt A Meerkat Gift Box (Kitchen & Home)
I BOUGHT THIS FOR MY WIFE LAST YEAR AND WHAT A BIG CON IT IS, WHICH MY WIFE TOTALLY AGREED.
I THOUGHT THE MONEY WOULD ALL GO TO THE CHARITY BUT AS OTHERS HAVE SAID ONLY 10% IS SENT TO THE CHARITY.
IT WAS THE BIGGEST LOAD OF JUNK I HAVE EVER PURCHASED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


98 of 107 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Meerkats are not a threatened species, 26 Nov 2010
This review is from: Gift Republic: Adopt A Meerkat Gift Box (Kitchen & Home)
Before purchasing the Adopt a Meerkat item it is important to be aware that, to my knowledge, the organisation that the money goes to (Meerkat Magic) is not a charity. In addition, meerkats are not in decline: the IUCN red list of threatened species lists meerkats as "Least Concern". I think it is a shame that people are giving money to this organisation when there are many other schemes that conserve populations of threatened species and would therefore greatly benefit from a donation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the WOW factor I was hoping for!, 3 Jan 2011
This review is from: Gift Republic: Adopt A Meerkat Gift Box (Kitchen & Home)
This item came gift boxed in a metal case and initially looked impressive. However the contents were quite disappointing - a poster and registration form, blah blah but you then have to register the docs (although the gift does state this) and it at this point it loses its appeal. As a gift it was ok but I was not worth the money, epecially as only 10% of the value actually goes to the cause and the 'discounted' visit entry option is not pratical unless of course you are planning a little trip to SA!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very disappointed, 6 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gift Republic: Adopt A Meerkat Gift Box (Kitchen & Home)
Bought this for my 6 year old found it very disappointing it comes in a metal tin and all that was inside was an application form still waiting for the certificate and photo to come through the post not amused and my son didn't enjoy the fact it was just papers ashame as he is a big meercat fanatic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, 28 Dec 2011
This review is from: Gift Republic: Adopt A Meerkat Gift Box (Kitchen & Home)
Rubbish. Got this as a Christmas present. Very unprofessional looking. Came with the picture missing plus the writing on the certificate ran of the page. Had to phone to get them resent. Certificate never came but got the picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun gift which helps meerkats at the same time, 20 Aug 2010
By 
Amazon Customer "Dinah93" (Cleveland,UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gift Republic: Adopt A Meerkat Gift Box (Kitchen & Home)
Bought this for my fiance, and I'm really chuffed with it. A big pack of information in a smart tin, this set even includes information on where you can go to visit your meerkat should you want to. Once you register your meerkat you are it's sponsor for a year, and will be sent a photo of 'your' meerkat. I like the concept of helping charity while gifting, and this was a fun way of doing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Argh., 16 Jan 2011
This review is from: Gift Republic: Adopt A Meerkat Gift Box (Kitchen & Home)
It was all fine until I went to set up the meerkat and discovered the website was down. I'm not sure whether this was a one off but it's not working at all. How do they expect me to set it up if the website won't work? It's not my laptop just this website. I'll be trying again tomorrow and it best work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gift Republic: Adopt A Meerkat Gift Box
15.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews