Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Definite Cult Hit
I bought Infinite Space after reading some positive reviews of the game (albeit mixed with some fairly harsh reviews) and having just completed it, I have to say that it is without a doubt one of the best RPGs available on the DS today. The game is not without its shortcomings, but overall it is an innovation in terms of RPGs as a whole and is a nice change to the more...
Published on 8 May 2010 by N. J. Waite

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pocket space adventure?
Like the other reviewer, I suspect that this game won't find that big an audience, beyond that of Japan, where these sorts of titles gather a huge following. It's certainly a valiant effort though, with a considerable amount of thought, energy and time vested in, what could be argued to be, the most advanced RPG title for the NDS.

There's a number of...
Published on 10 Aug 2010 by G. Ward


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Definite Cult Hit, 8 May 2010
By 
N. J. Waite (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Infinite Space (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I bought Infinite Space after reading some positive reviews of the game (albeit mixed with some fairly harsh reviews) and having just completed it, I have to say that it is without a doubt one of the best RPGs available on the DS today. The game is not without its shortcomings, but overall it is an innovation in terms of RPGs as a whole and is a nice change to the more 'traditional' RPG.

The game's storyline itself is mammoth, there is no other word for it. The story covers 10 years of the protagonist's life, during which time you meet hundreds of characters and explore a gigantic universe - during the first 10 hours of play I felt as though I'd traveled everywhere I could, in truth I'd explored around a quarter of the game, it's that big!

I found the scope of the game to be something truly unprecidented on a DS, and if you want a game that will keep you busy for a long time (it took me over 60 hours to complete), then this is well worth your money!

I was also a fan of the character designs, and although the conversations in the game can be a bit tedious (especially as there is no actuall walking around on planets or ships), they do move the story along at a good pace. You will find yourself growing to like the characters as the game progesses, which is a credit to the game's writers. However, the writers are also not scared of killing off main characters during the game (indeed, the head count for integral characters is unusually high for any RPG).

The ship building/modification is one of the most enjoyable aspects of the game. You get your own ship very early in the game, and as you move through the story you get the option to improve it, to buy bigger and better ships, and to develop a fleet of up to 5 ships to command. Modifying your ships is similar to playing tetris, trying to get all the 'modules' to fit into the alloted space, and you can spend hours modifying and upgrading your ship, before taking it out to fight battles.

The battle system is arguably the most hit and miss section of the game. The battles themselves are well designed, and the graphics are very good, however the battle dynamics themselves can prove frustrating. You have a limited number of commands and can only move forward, back or stand still. As the battles run in real time you need to be constantly on your toes trying to predict what an enemy might do next in order to survive - for example, I've fought battles where I have been killed by a split second decision not to 'dodge'. This does mean that fighting (and winning) battles, especially boss battles, contains a strong element of luck at times, which I belive is a shame.
Similarly, you will find yourself having to grind a LOT. All RPGs obviously requite an element of grinding, and no more so than in this game. You will need to grind to earn money to retrofit your ships, to buy new ships, etc. and it can prove quite tedious, especially if, like me, you are constantly after a bigger and better ship!
Another small gripe is the sometimes annoying fact that in order to further the storyline you need to speak to the same person more than once, which can prove infuriating. Similarly, some of the objectives you might need to achieve can be vague at first - I was a bit boggled by all the different planet names at first and some early tasks I had to do took quite a while as I flew to each planet trying to remember where I needed to go!

Overall, if you want a game that is guaranteed to keep you busy for a long time, and you like a challenge (this game has a very steep learning curve, and no real in-game tutorial) then this is definitely the game for you. It is a fresh, innovative take on the RPG genre and has a scope unrivaled on any hand-held game. If you're an RPG fan you should definitely give this game a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pocket space adventure?, 10 Aug 2010
By 
G. Ward "Sotto Voce" (You are here ->) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Infinite Space (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Like the other reviewer, I suspect that this game won't find that big an audience, beyond that of Japan, where these sorts of titles gather a huge following. It's certainly a valiant effort though, with a considerable amount of thought, energy and time vested in, what could be argued to be, the most advanced RPG title for the NDS.

There's a number of 'management' elements, from ship design (more 'interior design', with a sort of 'mini-Tetris being played out to fit the 'modules' in) through crew assignment.

There's a very simple 'help' within the game, but time really needs to be spent reading, and re-reading, the manual, before getting to grips with the finer points of the game.

That may be a part fo the problem, as the learning curve might appear to be quite gradual (you'll gather more money, ships, crew, etc) as the game progresses, but battles are incredibly punishing and you can get easily frustrated and end up going back again (and again) trying to work out a strategy to get beyond a couple of eneny ships.

The plot/back story to the game is well thought out, with distinct chapters, but I think a great deal of it will be lost on players that're wanting something that they can just 'pick up' and escape to. It's become very clear (to me at least) that time needs to be invested before any greater reward will come from it; either through exploration, practice or just getting to grips with the configuration and command system.

I'd still recommend this, but only to the really dedicated gamer. It might not be perfect, but I certainly hope that it does find a following and that a 'sequel' (if they develop one) will build on a strong start and improve on the playability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you watched and liked StarFleet / X-Bomber in the 1980s ......., 28 Mar 2014
By 
David Fernandez (London, Greater London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infinite Space (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
If you watched and liked StarFleet / X-Bomber in the 1980s (and maybe also Battle of The Planets) then this as close as you're going to get to playing in a similar universe.

The protagonists and the villains are ludicrous as is the plot (a kid through hapless fate is granted the right to commandeer a star fleet !), the graphics as some have pointed out on here are very basic 3D (gosh what do you expect from a Nintendo DS) and the grinding takes it toll. Yet somehow it all works beautifully. The repetition is broken up by the boss fights which often require a brand new combat strategy with your fleet, the plot as silly as it may be makes you want to know simply 'what comes next' with all it's twists and turns ... and it compels you to push forward with the game's progress.
I also like the part where you can pick and chose the ship in your fleet and the crew with their special skills and also how you can apply the modules in your ship's fleet in Tetris like fashion. A sleeper hit and that is because Sega under produced the game week or so after release date there was a supply shortage .... no sequel either :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A brief description, 8 Feb 2014
This review is from: Infinite Space (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
It is a brilliant game that I have played and completed more then 7 times.

Their are brilliant characters, some of whom are misguided and some of whom are just plain evil. It has a brilliant storyline, brilliant ships and is well worth any price of £35 or less.

The 3 best ships in the game can only be gotten by spending a fortune in cash and 2 of those require you to become a very high ranking Zero-G Dog, but I often rectify that by getting spending 15 to 20 hours on chapter 3 of part 1, this not only max's out my Fame Score, but it also allows me to earn enough cash, when combined with what I carried over from previous playthroughs to buy at least 5 corsairs during the later part of Chapter 3 of part 1.

The best part is the plot and The Lugovallian Empire, who are the main antagonists for most of the game have been used by me in both The Official Traveller, Star-Trex, Star Wars and Warhammer 40K Rogue Trader and who have appeared as time travellers and/or shape shifting aliens in both Edition 3.5 of DAD, Judge Dredd and Tunnels And Trolls and in mine and my little brothers unofficial Power Rangers, Harry Potter, X- Men, Yugioh Generation 1, Digimon and Pokemon Roleplaying Games
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Platinum Games+ Nintendo, 17 Aug 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infinite Space (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This game is juste huge and fantastic. Associate Platinum Games and Nintendo, and you get a great JRPG, despite the fact that it's not Platinum Games forte.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well worth the money, 5 Nov 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Infinite Space (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
this is by far and large my favourite game for the DS, it is immersive, it's addictive and unuaslly for alot of
games in the last few years....you have to use your brain, i cannot stress enough, if you have been thinking about buying it just do it, you'll be glad you did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A magnificent game., 8 Mar 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Infinite Space (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Infinite Space is a rare beast; a game that has relatively little actual gameplay, yet still manages to consume you each time you play it. The story is so long, so winding, and so satisfying, that by the time you finish and start a new game, you will forget so many aspects that it will almost be like playing it for the first time.
It simply has one of the best storylines I have ever experienced. Period. You end up caring for the characters, becoming emotionally invested in their actions, and genuinely saddened by their fates.
Other aspects, such as gameplay, sound, and graphics, are more than a lttle rough sometimes, but if you want to lose yourself in an epic struggle for the universe, then buy this tragically-underselling game.
Do the gaming industry a favour. Do creativity and imagination a favour. Do yourself a favour. Buy Infinite Space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Infinite space, 7 Dec 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Infinite Space (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Original space rpg,many spaceships,modules,branching story.Pretty good combat system,very good story for handheld rpg.150 crewmebers and high difficulty level.
Also this game is very long.
Cons:meelee battles,lack of planet exploration.
Pros:Epic story,branching story and choices,
diverse crew,ships,weapons,modules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cult Classic, 13 Sep 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Infinite Space (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
If your looking for a fun, challenging game that has depth and a great story then you've come to the right place. infinite Space will appeal to rgg, anime, action and space fans and doesn't care that it caters to a niche audience. As Yuri (the protagonist) you start off in control of 1 ship and will eventually be able to field 5 ships which are fully customisable from hundreds of different modules, weapons, ship classes and design.

I don't want to give any story away as for me this is on one of the games strongest points. I became invested in the main characters and was compelled to progress the game, which doesn't hold your hand and can be frustrating at times but ultimately made me want to come back and beat it. Also Yuri isn't a typical silent rpg hero he speaks and decisions you make will effect certain events in the game through the choices you make him make.

This is a solid space rpg which fans of the genre will love. Highly recommended and fingers crossed for a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for RPG fans, 17 Mar 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Infinite Space (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
As has been mentioned by a number of the other reviews this title is definitely a cult classic. Unfortunately I do not foresee it ever being a huge hit in the West despite being a fantastic game (I've seen it in some shops second hand for as little as £10). I would strongly urge any fans of RPGs or Space Operas (or preferably both) to buy this game, and here's why:

The story starts off as a kind of typical Space Opera; poor orphan boy wants to make it big as a Zero-G Dog (basically a kind of space mercenary). After a few hours through the game quickly becomes far from ordinary or typical. The story is riddled with fun and quirky characters (literally hundreds to meet and recruit) and while the odd humour is rarely laugh out loud its hard not to crack a smile now and again.

Although there are two game modes one only becomes available after completing the main story for the first time. The second mode is basically just a chance to mess around in a re-organised world with all the ships, modules and characters you've unlocked in the main game.

There are three different parts to the game and each have their advantages and disadvantages. Broadly speaking the game can be divided into exploration, combat and customisation.

Exploration is little more than selecting a planet to go to and then hoping you don't (or do, depending on what your doing at the time) get attacked. Travelling between the planets is pretty boring and can be fast forwarded but it is worth traversing each individual star lane as you may discover phenomena which give you fame and let you recruit more crew. Once reaching a planet you may have various options depending on the facilities available. Most planets will contain a bar with up to three options for conversation; some of these may improve characters' stats, reward you with money or blueprints, or advance a current mission while others may just be background info on the game universe. May one real complain about this side of the game is that there could have possible been more too do, but that being said the game is already massive and perhaps there was no room for mini-games or other extras.

Combat is another mixed bag. You control your fleet indirectly through a series of simple commands. You can either stay still or move forwards or backwards; your choice will usually depend on the range of your and your enemy's weapons as you will only fire the weapons that are in range when you initiate an attack command. Finding the right balance can some times be difficult as weapons have a minimum as well as a maximum range. You have a command gauge which fills up based on your ship and character stats, it has three levels; red, green and yellow. You attack by selecting from one of six commands (three to start with the other three becoming available within the first few chapters of the game) dodge, normal attack, barrage, melee, fighters and anti-air. Each attack has its advantages and disadvantages for example barrage takes almost all of your command gauge but does three times the damage of a normal attack, however if the opponent is in dodge mode than a barrage will never hit. But normal attacks do more damage to a dodging opponent.

The combat system is complicated at first but after a while (and once you have some decent ships) it becomes second nature to you and by the end of the game I found I rarely needed the tactics that the early and mid game had forced me to learn because my ships had become so powerful.

The last part of the game is the customisation of your ships. You can have up to five ships in your fleet (although you only start off with one slot and slowly unlock the others). Ships come in a variety of types and sizes and they all do different things; battleships are strong and tend to have lots of room for customising, carriers are weak but have lots of space for customisation and can carry tons of the excellent fighters, cruisers are middle weights that excel in anti-air and destroyers are cheap and fast. By the end of the game I found my fleet mostly comprised of battleships with maybe a single carrier as battleships vastly outperform all other ships (even with their lack of speed and slow command gauge fill rate).
Once you have chosen your ship you can then customise it with over 150 different modules that increase the ships various stats and abilities. This is addictive and fun as later in the game it becomes a real challenge to pack the Tetris piece-like modules into the ever decreasing spaces. That being said I found many of the modules next to useless as they took up valuable space and gave little in return (why would anyone choose a small boost to crew morale over almost doubling your ship's shields?).

The main story of the game takes at least 30 hours or so if you want to really enjoy it and there are so many different options (pretty much every choice your given in game will effect something, whether it's the path you take or which character, ship or module you are offered six chapters later) and some of them are so subtly disguised you would hardly even notice you're being given a choice.

All in all while I really enjoyed the game there are a number of small flaws (which I have already mentioned above) but none of them got in the way of me enjoying the game and playing through it twice in a row (in an effort to get every last ship and character, a feat which will take at least a third play through). I would say this is one of (if not the) best games I have played on the DS.

I really hope there is a sequel to this game (on the 3DS perhaps) as the basic concept is excellent and the sheer size of the game will keep most RPG fans happy for months. With just a few small tweaks my few problems with the game could be fixed and we could have a real classic. Unfortunately as things stand at the moment if there was a sequel I doubt it would be released in the West; so go buy the game now and show the developers that we want more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Infinite Space (Nintendo DS)
Infinite Space (Nintendo DS) by Sega (Nintendo DS)
£49.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews