Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maybe not "spectacular" still a must have
I had seen a couple of episodes on the net and wanted to get this. I'm happy with the purchase but there are a few things you should know.

1. This doesn't have spider-mans origin... understandable, when the death of one of the good guys following the selfishness of the hero, and this is a kids show.

2. As you can tell by the cover, this is a more...
Published on 29 April 2010 by Maurice Foley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars rip off
The dvd came with a 2.99 sticker on it!!! The cheek of it. Do not buy for the ridiculous price of 6.99!

Try the dvd sections in the supermarkets for a 2.99 purchase which is probably what the seller did but forgot to remove the sticker.

Aside from that it was standard prime delivery and good old spidey.
Published on 29 April 2013 by Janine


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maybe not "spectacular" still a must have, 29 April 2010
By 
Maurice Foley "Moss" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spectacular Spider-Man Volume One [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I had seen a couple of episodes on the net and wanted to get this. I'm happy with the purchase but there are a few things you should know.

1. This doesn't have spider-mans origin... understandable, when the death of one of the good guys following the selfishness of the hero, and this is a kids show.

2. As you can tell by the cover, this is a more anime style cartoon rather than the realistic animation used in the 90s spider-man and x-men show. This isn't for everybody, but I collect all kinds of animation so anime is a big part.
The action sequences are fantastic for, what is, a kids show.
If you or your kids like the animation of "Avatar: the Legend of Aang" or "The Batman" then you should like this.

3. Voice cast... so far exemplary, Robert Englund, Clancy Brown, etc.

4. This is a little old and hasn't been updated for it's european release. The trailers are for movies from 2006. Not a big deal but still notable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Spidey Yet!, 2 July 2010
By 
A. SHAW (Kent: UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spectacular Spider-Man Volume One [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
A bold statement, yes, but let me be clear; this is an absolutely world-class animated series, up there with the original Batman and Justice League Unlimited. Smart, pacey, fun and honest with some surprisingly touching moments this boils it down to the essence of what it's like being Peter Parker and having to balance that with being Spidey. Recently (criminally) canceled after series two this should hopefully raise the bar for any future wall-crawler shows. It's a little pricey for only three episodes, but the quality of each makes it a worthwhile purchase. Better than the 90's series, better than Ultimate Spider-Man, better than the movies?

Indeed it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spiderman, 11 Mar. 2011
By 
C. Wells (Swindon, wilts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spectacular Spider-Man Volume One [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I also bought batman dvd with this spiderman one, they are both great for the younger and older men in the house!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good show but shorter than I expected, 18 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spectacular Spider-Man Volume One [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I purchased this for my nephew after watching it online. I watched both seasons on youtube and watched a couple of episodes with him which he enjoyed (especially the intro song). My only criticism however is that this DVD does not contain all the episodes from season one, which I expected it to when I ordered it. I suppose if I'd have looked in to it more I'd have realised this before buying, but just a word of warning that this DVD only contains three episodes. Either way I think it's a great series overall and I'm sure he'll enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This IS Spider-Man, 16 Mar. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spectacular Spider-Man Volume One [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This is the best version of Spider-Man. There's a huge cast of characters in both Peter's and Spider-Man's life, but there's also a great deal of cohesion and clarity. This is especially apparent thanks to almost all of the villains having origin stories, and most of the supporting characters appearing regularly.

Almost no one just pops up out of nowhere. Peter gets a job at Curt Connors's lab, for instance, which is also where Eddie Brock and Max Dillon work. That's three big characters introduced that we get to know before you-know-what happens. At OsCorp, Octavius is established as an employee of Normal Osborne's, while Adrian Toomes is established as a business rival (again, before you-know-what happens). That's three more major characters introduced and their lives explored. And it goes on and on and on like this.

We get to see both sides of the lives of these characters, and it makes for an elaborate yet utterly cohesive viewing experience that fans can enjoy like a serial drama even though most episodes are standalones. Not just that, it makes them far more fully realised characters. After all, a hero is only as good as the villains he fights.

The people in Peter's life aren't just props, either. There's a well established social order at his school presented in the first episode that gradually changes over the course of the show, and a genuinely interesting love rhombus develops that even a chap in his mid 20s can enjoy. There are often parallels and contrasts between goings on at the school and goings on in Spidey's life that mesh, albeit subtly, very well.

One annoying oversight is that Black Cat isn't given an origin, yet her physical abilities seem easily equal to Spidey's. What was up with that? Spider-Man himself also isn't given an origin until later on in the series. I presume this was because we all know how it happened, but also to throw us right into the action. They do show it, though.

The presence of supervillains in the first place is also really well explained. The Big Man of Crime (whomever that may be!) concludes that when Spider-Man is occupied with supervillains, his army of petty thugs goes unnoticed, leaving them free to be bad guys. This is a great explanation and the show actually takes the time to explain it, which shows just how much the creators cared. Many villains come from this idea, with others being accidents, but everything feels connected.

Spider-Man spends more time focused on bringing down The Big Man's crime empire than he spent focused on Kingpin in the excellent (but now, frankly, redundant) 90s version. This becomes more interesting as other major players become involved, all vying for position as the city's crimelord.

Speaking of the 90s cartoon, this version of Spider-Man is ONLY a Spider-Man cartoon. No X-Men, no Blade, no Dr. Strange and no Madame Web. It's very grounded, and it's all about Spidey. It was made for the fans, not to sell toys. That's probably why it only lasted 26 episodes, but it's a blessing it was made at all. Gone are the army of robots, too, like the Spider-Slayers. While many laser-guns are still used, the creators kept this to a minimum, and some real guns are shown and used on occasion. It's no Batman TAS, but it's better than Spider-Man TAS.

The writing can take a while to get used to. On the Spider-Man side, it's extremely sharp and clever and the banter is as witty as I've ever seen it (for example, in one scene Spider-Man drops a traffic cone on Rhino's horn, and says "I got the thing on the thing! What do I win?", Rhino turns to him, irate, and says "You!". Spider-Man responds "I win a me? That makes no sense at all!" - that makes me laugh every time), but there's a lot of dialogue on the Parker side that, although it retains its more-than-just-for-kids-style, is definitely written to appeal to the youth of today, leaving people born in the 80s or earlier feeling a little alienated. That being said, it works well and probably will grow on you, and there's some very mature humour, such as Black Cat making a reference to Spidey's web being a bit like something else a lad his age produces in vast quantities.

The art style can also take a bit of getting used to, but after a few episodes it becomes clear why they went the way they did. The art is very clean and simple, and while that may not work for you, it has some clear benefits. First of all, all of the characters are extremely identifiable by silhouette alone, which makes everything extremely clear, even during its most hectic moments. Secondly, the simplicity of the art style allows for some amazing speed of motion during the action. The fights are truly spectacular, and it's the art that makes that happen. There's also a very soft colour palette, which I find very pleasant to look at, but maybe that's just me.

On the sound side, there's some fantastic sound work (the scream that accompanies the Green Goblin's pumpkin bombs is absolutely perfect), while the fast paced rock that accompanies action is perfect, but also blends into the background where you barely even notice it. The voice cast is singular, featuring the voices of people such as John DiMaggio (better known as the voice of Bender from Futurama), Clancy Brown (the most underused great actor in the world, his presence is spectacular) and Tricia Helfer (Six from Battlestar Galactica). Some of the cast are professional voice artists, while others are screen actors branching out, but all are magnificent.

So, the flaws. There are only 26 episodes. It's been cancelled. It's over forever. That's the only problem with the show. What's on the screen is nearly perfect. The only other superhero animation that can compare to this is Batman TAS, and if I had to choose, I'd pick Spidey. As far as these DVDs go, it's pretty poor value for money in terms of quantity. There are only 3 (or 4) episodes per disc, and while they are cheap individually, there are 8 to buy. If you buy them all, it works out to about £40 for 8 hours of entertainment and there's not an extra to be had.

It's more than worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good DVD, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spectacular Spider-Man Volume One [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Bought for my Granson who is 3 and even though probably too old for him he watches it like he understands every word
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars rip off, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spectacular Spider-Man Volume One [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
The dvd came with a 2.99 sticker on it!!! The cheek of it. Do not buy for the ridiculous price of 6.99!

Try the dvd sections in the supermarkets for a 2.99 purchase which is probably what the seller did but forgot to remove the sticker.

Aside from that it was standard prime delivery and good old spidey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well loved, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spectacular Spider-Man Volume One [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This seemed to me to be an old version and repetitive. But what do I know! My 4 year old loves the stories and we have had to buy the characters. It's great that it's not just about the CGI, as this is basic, but I can't fault it's charm and how much the children love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great dvd, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spectacular Spider-Man Volume One [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Haven't watched this dvd too much as my son may be a little young for it (3 1/2), he has watched bits of it and likes it and it seems perfectly good to me so hope to get more use out of it later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Well Worth Buying, 10 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spectacular Spider-Man Volume One [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Well worth it's price, great animatations, amazing stories, perfect for fans of spider-man as well as spider-man villians and/or marvel, 100% Outstanding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Spectacular Spider-Man Volume One [DVD] [2010]
£4.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews