Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget Dan Brown, read Daemon
Not sure what the some of the others reviewers were expecting but I absolutely loved this book - enough to write my first Amazon review.

Suarez takes some of the most interesting modern technologies - mmorpg's, social networks, autonomous software agents, botnets, darknets. etc. - and combines them with the most pressing social problems - the growing gap...
Published on 15 May 2009 by David Burrows

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good until the end
This book is good 80% of the way through. The tech aspect of the book is spot on except for the fps gaming section. It's a really good until the last chapter, it feels like you missed a bit and then it just ends, leaving everything unanswered. Very disappointing end.
Published on 29 Feb 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good until the end, 29 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daemon (Kindle Edition)
This book is good 80% of the way through. The tech aspect of the book is spot on except for the fps gaming section. It's a really good until the last chapter, it feels like you missed a bit and then it just ends, leaving everything unanswered. Very disappointing end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice idea, but too many problems., 10 April 2009
By 
J. Scott "JS" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daemon (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
(No Spoilers)

I really wanted to like this book, as it's the kind of story I normally love: Hard-edged, convincing geeky-tech stuff. When it comes to technology, it's clear the writer really knows what he's talking about. In fact, this is sometimes a problem, and the occasional (long) technical descriptions may knock a lot of readers right out of the story.

However, while the writer has a good grip on information technology, it soon becomes painfully clear that this is a first novel, complete with a lot of common first novel flaws.

For me, the biggest problems were with the pacing of the story. A couple of times you turn the page and read something like "Six Months Later".

There are also a lot of places where pruning would have made the story stronger - for example, one wonders what's the point of giving a one-page mini-biography of a character, if their only function in the story is to be killed at the top of the next page.

But worst of all, as the story progresses, it's hard to avoid the feeling that the author has just lost control of where it's going, and things get far-fetched to the point where it's impossible to suspend disbelief any more.

To be honest, if I hadn't been reading this book for review purposes I would have quit somewhere in the last hundred pages.

And when I got the the end... there really wasn't one. The story just (IMO) stopped.

I hate writing a harsh review of this sort of book. I can only hope that Suarez (and his editor!) learns from the experience of writing this one, and that the next will be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget Dan Brown, read Daemon, 15 May 2009
By 
David Burrows (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daemon (Paperback)
Not sure what the some of the others reviewers were expecting but I absolutely loved this book - enough to write my first Amazon review.

Suarez takes some of the most interesting modern technologies - mmorpg's, social networks, autonomous software agents, botnets, darknets. etc. - and combines them with the most pressing social problems - the growing gap between rich/poor, 1st world/3d world, l33t/newb, young/old - and extrapolates this into a gripping, all too believable(ish) thriller, probably the only book I've ever read that actually lives up to the title 'technothriller.'

The plot unfolds like a particularly well oiled machine, initial small scale incidents snowballing into a full on climax that Michael Bay would be proud of. The initial chapters read as a tech-savvy police procedural then build through FBI/CIA/NSA involvement and an evil version of Bruce Sterling's network gift economy into full on widescreen computer game madness. It's true that the later parts of the book push believability a bit, but I was so hooked at that point that I really didn't care.

An impressive book, especially for a debut novel. Roll on the sequel...

p.s Although written for a mass audience the tech/hacking sequence are kept pretty accurate but he's not writing for the black/grey/whitehat/script kiddy crowd so if your the kind of person that going to be put off by him mistyping a port number then this isn't for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ghost in the Machine, 15 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Daemon (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
`Daemon' is a book full of great ideas and poor execution. When a software programming genius dies it seems that his end of his life is only the beginning of his legacy. Before death Matthew Sobel integrated AI into the internet that would trigger on news of his death. This Daemon software interacts with real people found through his own MMORPGs and preys on their greed, working independently these minions act to undermine the super companies that currently dominate the world. It is up to small town Sheriff and a computer genius to destroy the Daemon before it takes over the world.

The idea of an AI controlling big business was a brilliant imo. With today's global markets and a closer connection between state and industry than ever before the use of viruses etc to blackmail a company is becoming increasingly likely. Malware regularly imbeds in people's PCs and goes undiscovered until an anti-virus upgrade some months later. Daniel Suarez has created a book with big ideas, but unfortunately he seems unable to handle them. To start with it appears that `Daemon' will be a thriller, but as the book progresses it becomes increasingly a disaster novel. When the book maintains the smaller aspects of investigation it works, the bigger elements fall flat and feel fanciful.

As the novel progresses the book weakens. The idea of AI controlled SUVs is acceptable, but by the end Suarez takes the idea to a ridiculous level. It became apparent as I rapidly came to the end that there was no conclusion in the book and that it felt like the first of a series. Suarez is too happy to kill off characters and leave the reader with no closure. The last 50 pages in particular were confusing and a little ridiculous. This is a real shame because for the first half I really enjoyed the intense standoff between the alleged AI and the police. The slow and insidious climb of the Daemon is a good read, it's a shame that we never find out who wins in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad, worth a read, 12 April 2009
By 
Mr. T. S. James (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daemon (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was quite excited to receive this book as I usually love to read tech-thrillers, which is what I would class this book as.

In general the book goes at a good pace and can be a page turner in places. For me it went through stages of wanting to find out what happens next and then it would fall flat for a few chapters and I tended to lose interest. The story is a familiar one, ghost in the machine kinda thing, but seemed to have been refreshed slightly for today's audience.

The book did tend to delve into various character histories, which eventually turned out to be for no reason at all if the character was killed off fairly shortly after. Leaving me wondering what was the point. But on the whole I can't complain. The only let down was the ending, where it was kind of like a bad ending to a film, it just stopped. Normally you would expect a big ending or some big twist to the story line, but I was left disappointed in this instance.

Overall, I can recommend for a light read or if you're into tech-thrillers, but bear in mind that the ending isn't all that if you're expecting something to satisfy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting concept - not quite delivered, 11 April 2009
By 
Mr. J W "john_w" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Daemon (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am a bit of a 'techie' so enjoy books of this type. For me, the original classic is 'The Cuckoo's Egg' by Clifford Stoll. In a lot of ways, this is the 'internet enabled' version, updated 20 years after Stoll's. I really enjoyed the concept of the book with a crazy millionaire unleashing a software program that can control lives and corporations despite the death of the creator. I would agree with other comments though, that no single characters really get the space to stand out, and I think the book is worse off for that. The closest is Jon Ross, but he disappears for large periods of time. The final straw to knock this down to 3 stars is the fairly timid ending. I can only assume (and hope, because I would read it) a sequel is in the pipeline.

Overall though worth a read. If you haven't done so though, I would recommend Stoll's book above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Like the last book review I wrote for Daniel Suarez ..., 21 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daemon (Kindle Edition)
Like the last book review I wrote for Daniel Suarez (Influx) this book is quite believable (at least at the start) and quickly draws you in with an action packed start. There is lots of action and the plot is fast paced with several strong characters who stay with us throughout the book (although Daniel isn't afraid to build a character up and then write them off with the flick of a pen!)

This is a book of two halves and the first is much better than the second. It wasn't until I got close to the end of the book that I realised that the story wasn't going to be concluded in this volume. If you don't like unfinished stories (I don't!) then you'll need to read the sequel.

I enjoyed this story, and I recommend it to computer literate friends. You'll never look at the internet the same way again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A proper load of old pilchards, 18 May 2009
By 
Wayne Redhart "@wayneredhart on Twitter!" (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Daemon (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Okay, I'm not going to beat around the bush here (after all, I'm not Sean Connery or Geoffrey Boycott!). Much as it pains me to have to pull a young author's trousers down within a public arena, I am sorry to inform you that this book is a right old stinker! After a fair start (which could conceivably have led somewhere) it gradually pans out that the whole thing is not headed anywhere. The basic premise may be sound enough (and in fairness, there are moments when the author shows a good feel for the short-term pacing of suspense). However there is no significant plot development whatsoever, after the the existence and power of an internet daemon have been established. The structuring is absolutely abysmal. Various events (that are explained in tedious levels of detail) ultimately turn out to have been entirely superfluous. One seemingly major character (a young computer hacker) is given page after page of narrative, only to abruptly disappear without a word of explanation (before making a ham-fistedly token reappearance at the end of the book- that was possibly supposed to pass for a 'twist'?). It's as though the whole of the second half was nothing more than a load of waffle that was designed to buy time, while the author embarked on a (doomed) quest to come up with a worthy direction in which to proceed. Perhaps he was trying to evoke the sense of futility that might ensue, were the internet to be compromised as such? Regardless of whether this were the case, the only futility that he actually managed to communicate was that which lies in trying to pad out the last couple of hundred pages of a novel without a worthy goal in mind.

Even if the publishers had set out on a bold venture to represent the quality of the story by printing in human excrement rather than in ink, this book could hardly have warranted a significantly more damning assessment. While I would have to grudgingly applaud the author for having had the sheer gumption to put backside to paper, I wouldn't urge anyone to spend their time sifting through this keepsake of his most pungent faecal ablutions. The only real positive that I could highlight is the fact that he managed to serve up an inclusion of the word 'bukkake'- a term that has suffered an all too tragic level of neglect within mainstream popular fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pacy read., 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daemon (Kindle Edition)
Very original. The writer has clearly done his homework. Plausible and frightening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced, thought provoking., 2 July 2014
By 
Peter (ENFIELD, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daemon (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this read. Thought provoking from a technical and social standpoint and the plot has enough to keep the pages turning and enough characters to engage you. Read the follow up straight away and enjoyed that immensely too. Can't wait for the film...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Daemon
Daemon by Daniel Suarez
1.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews