Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gentle humour and a strong story line
If you enjoy detective stories with a wry sense of humour, this is a series to try out. The first novel in the series sets the scene for this eccentric set of characters and goes from strength to strength.
Published on 21 Dec 2011 by M. P. Roe

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bland
I bought this on the strength of a review (not on Amazon) and was puzzled why it had received such praise. It is not a bad book just a slight one. The main character, a 70 year old reluctant pathologist in Laos in the 70s, is sort of interesting but there is very little to him. The prose at times feels as if it has been translated. There is a lightness of touch - and...
Published 5 months ago by Wriggle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gentle humour and a strong story line, 21 Dec 2011
By 
M. P. Roe "Obsessive Reader" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you enjoy detective stories with a wry sense of humour, this is a series to try out. The first novel in the series sets the scene for this eccentric set of characters and goes from strength to strength.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well and truly hooked on this elderly doctor, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Coroner's Lunch: A Dr Siri Murder Mystery (Dr Siri Paiboun Mystery Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I absolutely love the tales of this reluctant, spectre seeing coroner in communist Laos. I decided to start at book one and work my way through in order. By book 2 I decided I had to buy the first 8, just to make sure I had the next in the series the minute I wanted it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My sister knows a good thing when she finds it, 15 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Coroner's Lunch: A Dr Siri Murder Mystery (Dr Siri Paiboun Mystery Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Dr Siri is a lovely septagenarian with a twinkle in his eye. The setting of Laos is fascinating with snippets of the country's history inserted inn a way that heightens your interest and the various cases that Siri comes across are funny and representative of the country's culture. My sister, who suggested the book, said the style reminds her the Ladies No1 Detective agency and it is similar, but in a more informative way.
This is my first Dr Siri and will not be the last. From someone who normally reads the cheap books, I am delighted to pay good money for quality writing and good entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bland, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Coroner's Lunch: A Dr Siri Murder Mystery (Dr Siri Paiboun Mystery Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I bought this on the strength of a review (not on Amazon) and was puzzled why it had received such praise. It is not a bad book just a slight one. The main character, a 70 year old reluctant pathologist in Laos in the 70s, is sort of interesting but there is very little to him. The prose at times feels as if it has been translated. There is a lightness of touch - and humour - which I enjoyed, but there is nothing much at stake for anyone. I didn't really care about the victims which the lead investigates and there was little tension or mystery. It was fun to read but a bit bland - I don't think I will bother with the other books in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Detective with attitude..., 10 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Coroner's Lunch: A Dr Siri Murder Mystery (Dr Siri Paiboun Mystery Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Gloriously funny detective series, the detective in this case, Dr Siri Paiboun, the Chief Coroner (only coroner!) of communist Laos in the seventies. He is an unwilling coroner, forced into the post at the age of 70 or so, when most of us would have been retired for some years. He is totally unqualified to do autopsies and he has little in the way of equipment to test out any theories that spring to his unorthodox mind. In his endeavours he is helped by a nurse and a Down's Syndrome morgue assistant who worked worked for his predecessor.

He is also helped by what he first thinks are just dreams, but eventually he reluctantly accepts that they are a spiritual force. This aspect develops as the mystery unfolds.

He is hounded by bureaucracy and corrupt officialdom but, naturally, overcomes all obstacles in his path with his original way of approaching his cases.

The book certainly reinforces my opinion that I would hate to live under a real communist regime, but one certainly gets an interesting slant on political history of that region. The brilliantly conceived setting enables Colin Cotterill free reign to his gentle and very perceptive wit.

Twitter @GensPlace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read this series, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am completely hooked on this fabulous series of Dr Siri mysteries. Fantastic characters in these books. Buy and share!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyed, 20 May 2014
By 
F. Beresford (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Coroner's Lunch: A Dr Siri Murder Mystery (Dr Siri Paiboun Mystery Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Hadn't come across this author or series of books before, and found it thoroughly enjoyable. A refreshing change from all those dark & gloomy hard-nosed detectives
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Have now read 7 of these and love them all!, 7 May 2014
By 
AFCA (BERELDANGE, Luxembourg) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Coroner's Lunch: A Dr Siri Murder Mystery (Dr Siri Paiboun Mystery Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Wonderful stories set in Laos, with a host of interesting characters, abstruse plots and quite some social and political commentary. Makes you want to visit Laos immediately, meet the people, especially the Hmong, and find all the weird plants and flowers mentioned! Great reads and I hope Colin Cotterill continues to write many more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked!, 15 April 2014
By 
I. Black (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Coroner's Lunch: A Dr Siri Murder Mystery (Dr Siri Paiboun Mystery Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
My son. who lives in Laos, recommended this book. Now I'm hooked. I've read all the Dr Siri books and am desperately hoping there's another in the pipeline. Please let Dr Siri go on for many years - it's so great to have an older 'hero'. And I love his motley crew. What a wonderful painter of character Colin Cotterill is! All the main protagonists are unforgettable. Mr Cotterill writes with such wit and humour, even when the story gets dark. He also paints a fantastic picture of Vientiane, which certainly helped bring the city to life for me on my first visit. I love the intrusion of the spirit world. You could not call this a conventional novel, and the author ignores all those 'rules' that writers are 'meant' to adhere to. The result is a crazy, absorbing, magical, sometimes gory, always entertaining, ride though a fascinating land with a cast of unforgettable characters. Write on, Mr Cotterill!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loas in 1977, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Coroner's Lunch: A Dr Siri Murder Mystery (Dr Siri Paiboun Mystery Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
As in 'Thirty-Three Teeth' this is a very enjoyable holiday read. Characters are very well drawn and there is a kindness about them and the plot which shows Loas and its people in a very attractive light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews