Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars12
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 July 2015
Very rare you hear an album without any filler tracks. Each song is a mini event on its own. From the punchy rock opener Paris ( ooh la la) we're transported through a wide variety of sounds and styles. Honestly, this really is a great CD and your record collection will be better by its inclusion.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2012
I have been fortunate enough to see this band live twice and they are fantastic, they have been on a gradual evolution over the last few years and their many musical influences soul/blues/rock/country are apparent in the variety of their music, for me this album is the peak of that climb with Miss Potter having one of the best and most flexible voices i have ever heard, there have been many comparisons made to other singers, her voice simply defies description as it is truly unique, and the harmony with the nocturnals achieved in this album makes it a must have, songs such as Paris and Medicine will hook you make you smile and entertain while others like tiny light and low road will feed your addiction make you want more and you will soon be expanding your GPN collection with older material,the lineup changed after this album and the new album(the lion the beast and the beat) is due out next month and it sounds good based on what i have heard of it so far, i am sure it will be a great success for this rising band but it doesn't have the instant impact/appeal of this album(grace potter and the nocturnals),buy this album first to start your collection &
check them out at gracepotter.com
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2010
If you liked Janis Joplin & Grace Slick then this is for you. Rock with a touch of blues & soul. Writes her own stuff so look out for this Grace
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2010
Grace Potter & The Nocturnals is one of the few female fronted jam bands. And what a great one. Gorgous Grace is a marvelous vocalist combining influences from classic artists like Janis Joplin and Grace Slick with a modern day rock/soul approach a la Susan Tedeschi.

The band is tight and inventive, the songwriting solid with songs that really grows with repeated listenings. And a good mix of rock and more soul influenced tunes. And though the arrangements are rather tight the bands abilities to jam is more than hinted at in places.

Inventive, cool and uplifting. Nice to see that this band has become rather big in the US, nice that there still is an audience for REAL music. Now I can only hope they also will make it on this side of the Atlantic.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2010
I've been a fan of Grace & the Nocturnals since watching them at a couple of American festivals. They're amazing live, full of energy and passion for their music. This energy is evident in their new studio album, particuarly in the tracks "Only Love" and "Tiny Light".
The new bass player adds a nice twist to the original line-up both on the bass and with the extra vocals.
The album has taken over top spot as my favourite album of 2010, and doesn't look likely to be knocked off anytime soon.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
Really like Grace Potter and the Nocturnals. Saw them live in Adelaide where they supported John Mayer. As far as I was concerned we saw two top performers for the price of one. would highly recommend any of her CD's (esp the most recent one).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2012
Grace is a great singer and front woman for a damn fine rock band.
Give them a listen.You wont be disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2015
Great CD bought on spec but very pleased with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2016
Wonderful voice. Great tracks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
Loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£15.31

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)