Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars105
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 February 2009
I have enjoyed Sarah McLachlan's music and performances for many years now and its great to have all the best known tracks together on one album. Whilst Sarah has never had a huge single in the UK (with the exception of the Delerium track Silence for which she provided the vocals and her much covered Angel) her albums have always sold solidly.
The best bits here are Possession,Hold On and Good Enough from the Fumbling Towards Ecstacy album - Angel,Sweet Surrender and Building A Mystery from the Sufacing album and the two new tracks U Want Me 2 and Don't Give Up On Us are wonderful.
Hopefully Sarah will pop over to Europe to promote the album - if not though you can catch her last tour on the Afterglow live DVD available here at Amazon. A wonderful singer-songwriter who deserves all her success. Looking forward to a new album soon Sarah.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
This is my first venture into Sarah McLachlan having just been introduced to her music. I love Angel and this is what prompted me to buy this CD. The rest of it is good and I have enjoyed listening to it all.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
nice relaxing cd from a very talented singer just chill out and let her voice fill the airways nice mixture of her songs
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2009
I first heard Sarah Mclachlan on the soundtrack of a Jody Foster movie a few weeks back,and since i can not get enough,closer is a collection of all Sarahs best work as chosen by Sarah Mclachlan a kind of fast track into a world of soulfull,haunting ballads and comercial soft rock,yet it is very
hard to catagorise the nearest would be a Adult version of Avril Levine mixed in with a bit of Kate bush with a hint of Alanis Morissete, but way way better i wish i had discovered Sarah Mclachlan 10 years ago as Closer gives only a taste of her talent fortunatly Amazon have a extensive back catalogue so get downloading the most talented female singer songwriter
in modern popular music.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
This cd was very bit as good as I hoped it would. Only having ever heard one of her tracks encouraged the purchase, she has a beautiful voice.dont think this will be my last purchase of hers. Brilliant.!!!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
i bught this on the strength of a couple of tracks I had heard elsewhere but was disappointed that their quality was not repeated throughout. since trhis is a best of.. i would not be willing to purchase further albums by SM on the strength of her showing here
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2012
why are you still reading this review, download all her cds and enjoy. she is simply one of the best female vocalists around.Only rivalled by Kate bush and Tori amos.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
Like many came to this via 'Angel' (heard on the soundtrack of an episode of Alias). Beautiful song - and her voice is haunting, crystal clear and wondeful on this song. Thought a 'Best Of ...' would give me an overview of her back catalogue. There are some hits and misses here but overall a great buy (at the price), a good introduction and, based on other reviews from her fans, I have bought 'Fumbling Towards Ecstasy' which many claim to be her best.

I do love Angel though ...........................
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
I bought this album because I like the song 'Angel'. I had hoped that there would be other tunes that would rival that song but I am disappointed. The other songs were boring and I wish i had bought just the single
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2012
Great cd this. Comes with all the songs you want. You can buy it cheaper elsewhere if you can be bothered to look but only by a £1 or 2
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.89
£4.07

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)