Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Closer: Tge best of Sarah Mclachlan
Was told about her by a friend, watched her on youtube and decided to buy her album, it is superb she has a beautiful voice I reccomend her music to anyone
Published on 19 Sept. 2010 by Mr. S. F. Baggett

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars compilation cd
nice relaxing cd from a very talented singer just chill out and let her voice fill the airways nice mixture of her songs
Published on 7 April 2013 by P. SMITH


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Closer: Tge best of Sarah Mclachlan, 19 Sept. 2010
By 
Was told about her by a friend, watched her on youtube and decided to buy her album, it is superb she has a beautiful voice I reccomend her music to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Missed Opportunity?, 1 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Closer: The Best Of Sarah Mclachlan (Audio CD)
Sarah McLachlan is stunning; I discovered her with the release of Fumbling Towards Ecstasy, often lauded by her fans as her greatest work. It's where the sound, the tone, her voice, the lyrics - songs about love, betrayal, obsession, grief, domestic abuse... - and simply everything come together to create this wonderful, gut-wrenching, beautiful masterpiece. Some say it's now dated, but I think it stands unique in its own space in time - and maybe even more powerful now than the early-mid 90s, as though it was unique even then, you rarely find anything near that calibre being produced these days... Each of her albums is like an evolution; debut Touch simply touches at the edges of her genius, almost experimental in sound and in her voice and lyrics and what she's trying to achieve. By the mid 90s, with FTE and slightly more modern-sounding Surfacing, the genius is unleashed and will blow you away. Surfacing remains her biggest commercial success, and features two of her biggest known tracks: over-played Adia and the now-much-covered Angel. Perhaps after Afterglow, the edge has somewhat dimmed - a turn into a more main-stream sound, and lacking the meaningful lyrics - but there's no suggestion that she's `peaked'. Again - an evolution in her style, and of course the age. This Best Of provides a good overview of her work up to 2010 - tracks from all 6 major albums, in chronological order: Vox from Touch; The Path Of Thorns and Into The Fire from Solace; Possession, Hold On and Good Enough from FTE; Building A Mystery, Sweet Surrender, Adia and Angel from Surfacing; Fallen, Stupid and World On Fire from Afterglow; Don't Give Up On Us and U Want Me 2 from Laws Of Illusion. I Will Remember You was released on her B-Side album after featuring in a movie; Silence is a curious one-off collaboration with Canadian electro group Delerium. Whilst this collection definitely gives you an oversight into her work, it does only give you her `hits' which doesn't let you fully appreciate her full talent. FTE is so good that certainly 3 featured tracks does it no justice (I'd add Wait and Elsewhere if I could pick only 2 more) but then you could almost end up with a Best Of collection that only draws from one album - however, that's almost the case with featuring 4 tracks from Surfacing! This collection is also a little flawed in it's originality, simply sticking to what it feels constitutes 'Best Of' - a couple of live tracks should have been drawn from splendid live album Mirrorball, the piano-version Possession is stunning but sadly absent, maybe a couple of new and exclusive tracks could have been included, and where oh where is the tear-jerking Oscar-Nominated When She Loved Me from Toy Story 2?? And that this was overlooked in favour of Silence?? This collection therefore feels slightly disappointing, in that it's a missed opportunity to draw together a wide range of her work, not just giving new fans a starting point, but giving existing fans something special. If you are new to Sarah McLachlan, I would recommend this as a starting point to get a taste and feel, but to delve in you simply must own FTE and Surfacing - believe the hype! Existing fans will meanwhile own most or all of her albums, and will find nothing new here. 5 stars for Sarah McLachlan - 3 stars for this collection - 4 stars overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars new fan, 12 Sept. 2009
By 
E. Campbell "em" (yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
purchased this cd because of the track IN THE ARMS OF AN ANGEL haunting sound to her voice some of the tracks were not to my liking but the rest certainly worth the price of the cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 26 July 2011
This review is from: Closer: The Best Of Sarah Mclachlan (Audio CD)
Brought this album as a birthday present for my husband. He really likes Sarah Mclachlan, but didn't have any of her music. This 'best of' seemed a great place to start. What a great choice, this album is so calming when you put it on. Really shows off Sarah Mclachlan's wonderful voice and talent. With all of her classic songs. Would definitely recommend this album. Here's to collect the rest of her albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Closer: The Best Of Sarah Mclachlan (Audio CD)
This is my first Sarah M CD and is brilliant. I will probably buy more of this talented artist who has escaped my attention - until now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!!!, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Closer: The Best Of Sarah Mclachlan (Audio CD)
A brilliant CD. I love all her music and this is no exception! I have played and played it and love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Of sarah's best known tracks together on one album, 14 Feb. 2009
By 
Stuart A. Smith (Edinburgh Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have enjoyed Sarah McLachlan's music and performances for many years now and its great to have all the best known tracks together on one album. Whilst Sarah has never had a huge single in the UK (with the exception of the Delerium track Silence for which she provided the vocals and her much covered Angel) her albums have always sold solidly.
The best bits here are Possession,Hold On and Good Enough from the Fumbling Towards Ecstacy album - Angel,Sweet Surrender and Building A Mystery from the Sufacing album and the two new tracks U Want Me 2 and Don't Give Up On Us are wonderful.
Hopefully Sarah will pop over to Europe to promote the album - if not though you can catch her last tour on the Afterglow live DVD available here at Amazon. A wonderful singer-songwriter who deserves all her success. Looking forward to a new album soon Sarah.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD!, 5 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Closer: The Best Of Sarah Mclachlan (Audio CD)
I listened last year one of the tracks "angel" and I loved it! So I decided to buy the "best of" and I am not disappointed at all. Great voice and moving songs. Definitely item to be recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars compilation cd, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
nice relaxing cd from a very talented singer just chill out and let her voice fill the airways nice mixture of her songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars closer,sarah mclachlan, 21 July 2009
By 
Mr. David Green "rowland2008" (london,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first heard Sarah Mclachlan on the soundtrack of a Jody Foster movie a few weeks back,and since i can not get enough,closer is a collection of all Sarahs best work as chosen by Sarah Mclachlan a kind of fast track into a world of soulfull,haunting ballads and comercial soft rock,yet it is very
hard to catagorise the nearest would be a Adult version of Avril Levine mixed in with a bit of Kate bush with a hint of Alanis Morissete, but way way better i wish i had discovered Sarah Mclachlan 10 years ago as Closer gives only a taste of her talent fortunatly Amazon have a extensive back catalogue so get downloading the most talented female singer songwriter
in modern popular music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Closer: The Best Of Sarah Mclachlan
Closer: The Best Of Sarah Mclachlan by Sarah McLachlan (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews