Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'WHAT THE FUTURE MAY HOLD ?
The film tells the story of of desperate people agreeing to hyper-expensive 'organ replacement' that many of them have little or no hope of paying for......if they fall behind in their payment they will get a visit from 'the Repo-Men' who are paid to take back that which cannot be paid for.
'Remy' ( Jude Law ) and 'Jake' ( Forest Whitaker ) are two of the best in the...
Published 12 months ago by rbmusicman/and/movie-fan'

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great concept, poorly developed
The main premise of the film is really interesting. Unfortunately its really poorly developed and I get the sense they went into production before they finished the script. Make no mistake, this is an average B-movie sci-fi made with a massive budget. The excellent cast alone might trick you into thinking this is a well put together movie... but it is not.

The...
Published on 12 Jun. 2011 by Son of Sam


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars BUT IT WAS BLOODY GREAT.. ONE OF THE BEST FILM I HAVE ..., 26 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Repo Men [DVD] (DVD)
EXCUSE ME, BUT IT WAS BLOODY GREAT..ONE OF THE BEST FILM I HAVE SEEN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars GORY!!!, 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Repo Men (Amazon Instant Video)
fast paced. unusual story line but very macabre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Please Take This With You, 16 Dec. 2010
By 
This review is from: Repo Men [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
If you are going to have a central character who is an anti-hero, you have to make him appealing in some manner. Perhaps they have a wicked sense of humour, or a sense of skewed justice? What you don't do is create someone who is mean, unfunny, nasty, unlikeable and borderline evil, then expect us to love him when he has a `change of heart' in the film. This is the main issue behind `Repo Men', a science fiction film following Jude Law's Remy and Forrest Whittaker's Jake as they reclaim artificial organs from people who cannot afford the repayments. One minute Remy is a hunter, the next a hunter. Just because his circumstances change are we meant to like him? I for one could not forget the sociopath who was moments ago butchering people for cash and giggles.

The problems with the film do not stop there. The first 30 mins are fun, in a nasty kind of way, but once the real story starts the film's pace descends to a crawl. An adequate sci fi thriller suddenly gets delusions of grandeur and director Miguel Sapochnik seems to want to make an art piece. The 2nd act in the film is dull and uninteresting, and the finale can never recover. It does not help that one of the final scenes is some bizarre fetish moment that is neither erotic nor evocative. As actors, Law and Whittaker are not bad, with Remy being a decent character well played. It's just that the script is so lob sided and boring. With the inability to decide whether it is empty headed exploitation, or sci fi pseudo intellectual musing, the film becomes nothing, but dumb.

The BluRay is a decent transfer and the picture looks good, especially the cityscapes. Extras include plenty of deleted scenes and a commentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Repo Men [DVD] (DVD)
a future i wouldnt like, but a great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 14 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Repo Men (Amazon Instant Video)
Best bit is the ending twisting...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Repo Men (Amazon Instant Video)
Love SciFi, love this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Repo Men [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
fantastic film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Repo Men [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gets better half way in., 9 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Repo Men [DVD] (DVD)
Not a film I'd have ever bought or rented but watched because a friend brought it round. I have to say I'd got to the point where I had completely lost interest but then it picked up the pace and I was back with it. That was about half way in. The end is surprising and made it worth while. Would I watch it again? Not a chance but I'm glad I saw it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of tha best films ever, 28 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Repo Men [DVD] (DVD)
This has to be one of the best films iv ever seen it has everything you cud want out of a film guns, guts and killer catch phrases, 5 stars all round :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Repo Men [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Repo Men [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Miguel Sapochnik (Blu-ray - 2010)
£4.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews