Customer Reviews


181 Reviews
5 star:
 (148)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's embarrassing but...
I so love this game and I'm 32!!! I have never played Pokemon before, as I thought it was more for kids, but I was sucked in by the Pokewalker and OMG, I'm addicted! If I had more time I would be playing this non-stop, so if it's for a kiddy then make sure you keep an eye on how much time they spend playing!

I find there to be a lot in this game that is...
Published on 7 July 2010 by Laura Hughes

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy second hand
This game is a fantastic purchase up until the point where loading the game yields a black screen with faint background music. Apparently this happens any time you save after the fourth gym. DO NOT BUY SECOND HAND FROM ANYWHERE THAT DOES NOT HAVE A REASONABLE WARRANTY.
Published 2 months ago by Sam Briggs


‹ Previous | 117 18 19 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pokemon rocks, 16 May 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Pokemon heart gold is like pokemon soul silver but that dusnt stop me from playing it dus you! No so lets go in the world of pokemon again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 15 April 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
I brought the game, and it arrived much quicker than expected. Its like the original gold game but with better graphics, a few changes and the pokewalker.
The pokewalker is a great idea. You can take your pokemon with you, catch new ones, collect items and train them highly useful.

Best game ive brought in a long time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 2 April 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pokemon SoulSilver (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This game was great as it was on the gameboy and then they re-did it and it is absoloutly bril' :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DS Pokenon game, 9 April 2010
By 
J. Carvell "Crystal Angel" (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pokemon SoulSilver (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This item was purchased by my teen son who is a pokemon fan. He said the game is very good. It is other pokemon games but updated. The game also comes with a pod where you can send a pokemon from your game to the pod and you are able to carry it around with you. This game has several levels to achieve and they are fairly hard. Would not be suitable for a young player (minimum age 7+)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Game, 24 April 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
I got this game for my son who has not stopped playing it since he got the game, delivery was very quick I got the game a day after it came out which was very good as my son was the first person to get the game in his school. welldone Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dubious quality, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Didn't read the small print when ordering, therefore disappointed with lack of original packaging and no instructions as this was intended as a present. Arrived in a jiffy bag with hand written address - looked like a child's handwriting - contained no invoice or identification of sender. Returned with Amazon help with no problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad quality, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was classed as "very good" but the box was in very poor condition. The game works fine but the box had so many dents =s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent in every way, except..., 19 April 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
You can no longer purchase coins at the game corner in order to receive the awesome prizes. This is a serious let down, and, in my opinion, drags the game right down. No more other casino games like roulette or slot machines.,. No, instead there's this stupid voltorb game. I'm most probably stupid, but I have no clue how you're meant to make 9,999 coins in a humanly sane amount of time using just that process. I loved the game, but now I think the produces just anally violated it. Oh, and money pretty much becomes pointless after you've defeated the pokemon league as a result of this retarded edit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An inadequate attempt to recapture the original and introduce new elements, 12 May 2010
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
For those who want to play only the original versions of Gold and Silver with better graphics, there are only 2 flaws, but for those who want to see the new features, they are few and most of poor quality.

The first major difference - and flaw - is noticed near immediately. The classic pause menu brought up by pressing the Start button has disappeared, and been replaced by the bottom screen, where all the features of the pause menu are put for quick and easy access in a childish and irrelivent way. The second major difference, one that makes little impact on the game, is the addition of a new NPC (for male players this is Lyra, not sure about female players), apart from additional (and sometimes humourus) dialogue, replacing the NPC who teaches you about catching Pokemon and barring your path at one point. The third major change - and the best - occurs when you get your first Pokemon. It is the welcome and long overdue return of a Pokemon following you outside of its Pokeball that was originally seen in Pokemon Yellow. Apart from the improved graphics and some changed dialogue, there are few noticeable changes until you retrieve the egg from New Bark Town, and are introduced to a Kimino Girl. These girls pop up all over the game and aren't significant until much later.

The second welcome improvement to the game is the unlimited phone book, so you no longer have to pick and choose your stored numbers. The next major flaw is seen at Cianwood City, after having scared the Legendary Dogs. To the north of the city is Suicune. This is the second and final time you see Suicune, as after it runs off it is never seen again, unlike in the original where it ran with Raiku and Entei. This is a major disappointment, as not only do completionists have to ruin their collections from the original games, those without the original games cannot complete the Pokedex.

The final major change comes after your quest to claim 8 badges is complete. If you try and proceed directly to Indigo Plateau without capturing either Ho-oh (HeartGold only) or Lugia (SoulSilver only), you are barred. This continues until the legendary bird of the game is captured or defeated, which can be annoying to those who just want to enter Kanto.

The changes to the Daycare and Game Corner make them less entertaining and useful, and although the change to the Game Corner was neccessary (certain laws relating to gambling came into play), the Daycare ones were not.

The new additions to the game are the Safari Zone, which is complicated to use, Pokeathelon, a decathelon for Pokemon that is hard to win at, the Pal Zone, which allows you to transfer Pokemon from GBA Pokemon games, and a device for the nostalgic that replaces the ingame music with the original GameBoy music, which replaces the certificate gained for completing the Pokedex, but is easier to obtain.

Overall, this game, whilst good for nostalgic folk, fails to capture the excitement that was seen in the likes of Pearl and Diamond. Whilst it does have its good points, such as having your Pokemon follow you around, the new features do not equate to the new features that were seen in the previous game remakes FireRed and LeafGreen. The use of features from not just Gold and Silver but also Yellow and Crystal add a few perks to the game that made those games great.

This review does not cover the Pokewalker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pokemon Heartgold (used), 18 Nov 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This game was to add to my son's collection and whilst he was happy with the game, I did have to remove all the previous player history from the game before I gave this to him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 117 18 19 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pokemon SoulSilver (Nintendo DS)
Pokemon SoulSilver (Nintendo DS) by Nintendo (Nintendo DS)
Used & New from: 34.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews