Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty solid piece of kit with a few foibles
The Zebra Billy can has a good reputation with some (not all) Bushcraft and outdoor types (and Ray Mears sells them too, so it is almost a mini icon of sorts)

It is pretty well made in Thailand (and proud of it too, which is nice) from decent quality Stainless Steel and has a nice old fashioned solid feel about it. You get the impression it will last for years...
Published on 15 Feb 2011 by Adrian

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Zebra 14cm Stainless Steel Billy can
Its great for boiling stuff and possibly stews but don't do scrambled egg or fry as not non-stick fast delivery great price
Published 6 months ago by Graham Copping


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty solid piece of kit with a few foibles, 15 Feb 2011
By 
Adrian "adrianjfrost" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Zebra 14cm Stainless Steel Billy can (Sports)
The Zebra Billy can has a good reputation with some (not all) Bushcraft and outdoor types (and Ray Mears sells them too, so it is almost a mini icon of sorts)

It is pretty well made in Thailand (and proud of it too, which is nice) from decent quality Stainless Steel and has a nice old fashioned solid feel about it. You get the impression it will last for years. A lot of people use these on an open fire, and they seem well suited to that, but for my needs it was to be used with a remote canister gas stove

The 14cm was bought specifically to store a 220gm EN417 gas canister and MSR Windpro remote canister stove inside during transit and then be used for kettle and cooking duties on walking and canoe trips. The size is ideal for this (with the 14cm refering to the inside diameter and height of the main pot) and gives maybe 2 Litre of useful capacity. It is maybe a little big for solo use but ideal for 2, maybe even 3 at a push

It is nice too that it comes with a Stainless bowl that nests in the top of the pot and can be used to cook inside the pot (eg curry in the bottom, veggies in the top) or as an eating bowl or smaller serving bowl. The 14cm diameter means it is slightly smaller diameter than most camp stove kettles so heating times are a little slower (not that I notice really) but I am happy to compromise on this as most kettles wont let me easily store stuff inside them for transport

One thing I dont like, but see no way round it, is that the lid doesnt fit the main pot very well if the stainless bowl is left out - so for me when transporting or using as a kettle the lid rattles. Also, although the handle is very functional, it presents a sharp edge to the pot side when not in use, a little careful design would prevent that

One thing you might not like is the weight, at over 700gm it is a lot more than most Aluminium pansets let alone a single pot. For me I dont mind and prefer the resiliance and cooking qualities of Stainless Steel over Aluminium any day of the week

It suits my needs well but you will have to be clear if it suits yours because, for the money, there are a lot of other choices. In itself I think it is good value, but there is a wealth of choice in cheap aluminium camp/cook pots
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars billy can but plastic can't., 13 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. J. Mason (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zebra 14cm Stainless Steel Billy can (Sports)
This billy can is very well made and surprisingly light considering it is stainless steel. The 14cm size is great for 2 or even 3 people.I'm not sure that I will ever be confident enough to use the bowl to cook something seperate in as I can't see how you would lift it out once its contents were ready. It lacks any kind of means to lift it out of the billy can and unless you used a knife blade to get under the lip to lift it up and then a pair of pliers or something,but even then the lip is so small I'm not sure the pliers would get a good grip.My fear is that I would end up spilling the contents all over the place. My only other gripe is the plastic lid lock. It works well enough but I'm worried that it will melt if the flames of the fire get up the outside of the can,obviously you don't lock the can while your cooking so maybe it's meant to be removed before you start cooking.If so then it's a very fiddly job to get it off and even more so to get it back on.When I removed it I had the feeling it was going to break as I tried to get it back on,and I didn't get the feeling that it was ok to continually take it off and put it back on.If I am wrong about that then I would really appreciate the manufacturer getting in touch to tell me so. As another person wrote, it would have been better made out of metal.Apart from those issues, I am very pleased with the product and I'm sure I will get many years of service out of it(albeit while replacing the plastic locks occasionally).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stainless billycan, 4 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zebra 14cm Stainless Steel Billy can (Sports)
The can is well made of good quality stainless steel. In use it performed as expected, a plus point being the intergral frying pan. Coupled with my metal mug, this is all I need for most trips out. My only reservation are the plastic clips which secure the lid in place, I feel these may break over time. Overall, good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zebra BIlly Can, 30 Dec 2011
This review is from: Zebra 14cm Stainless Steel Billy can (Sports)
The first thing I noticed was how fast the delivery was. I did have to pay a small sum but I ordered on thursday at luch time and it arrives on friday morn! The steel appears to be very good quality (and stainless). The "automatic locking system" is basically two clips that hold the lid (and optional bowl) in place when the handle is placed upright. Only one gripe, the clips are made of plastic and could be susceptible to melting on a fire, though I cannot confirm this. Overall, very good product at a reasonable price! ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zebra 14cm Stainless Steel Billy can (Sports)
Spot on! This billy can is perfect for camping, cooking over a fire, compact and well constructed. What more can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality item., 13 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. N. S. Matthews (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zebra 14cm Stainless Steel Billy can (Sports)
Chose for bushcraft. Great item. Well made yet light to carry. Quite large so you might not take it out for a day trek, but for a few nights for cooking for two, then yes. The price at Amazon is really good. Hard to beat and arrived quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Zebra 14cm Stainless Steel Billy can, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zebra 14cm Stainless Steel Billy can (Sports)
Its great for boiling stuff and possibly stews but don't do scrambled egg or fry as not non-stick fast delivery great price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great quality, 19 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Rory I. Mcdonald (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zebra 14cm Stainless Steel Billy can (Sports)
As other have mentioned, it is a pity that without the supplied bowl in the top the lid is loose, but it is a great solid pot. For hiking with mates, I remove the heavy steel bowl and replace with 3 Snow Peak titanium 14cm bowls. Also stow my wildwood gas stove inside, with plenty room left over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't leave home without it, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zebra 14cm Stainless Steel Billy can (Sports)
Ok it's a bit on the heavy side but it's reliable . It Should be in every bush crafters kit bag
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the zebra product the best, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zebra 14cm Stainless Steel Billy can (Sports)
the zebra is the best good size better than aluminium will BUY AGAIN used THIS THANKS FOR THE billy CAN thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zebra 14cm Stainless Steel Billy can
£18.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews