Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars24
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.63+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 September 2011
All fans of Brubeck should invest in this remastered version of this early "classic" recorded in the 50's at the Ohio classical music college. In particular Paul Desmond was his esoteric lyrical best, and Brubeck used the spare grand piano!
Read the notes, Brubeck disavows the old myth that they had argued before the performance.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2011
Anyone who remembers the Dave Brubeck Quartet from the 50's will enjoy this remastering of the original vinyl recording. The live atmosphere is terrific and the audience, mostly music students, are very appreciative of the solos. Paul desmond is as usual on lyrical top form.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
This was the first jazz LP that I bought. This was a great album which brings back many happy memories of watching this group in Manchester in the late 50's. This is a must have, Brubeck and Desmond in their prime, a keeper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
I remember reading about this, sitting in the library, reading one of those 'guides to great jazz records' that were all over the place in the late 50's, early 60's. I couldn't afford the album, but I could afford the EP of Perdido/These Foolish Things. I loved the label (Disques Vogue, pink, white, very contemporary cool), but loved the music even more; there was more meat than on many later Brubeck records I'd heard, more tenderness and more gristle, both (and you must understand that, when you're just 12, a record taped nine years earlier is incredibly old). Eventually, but not till my mid-20's, I found a copy of the album (at Mole Jazz in Kings Cross, I remember), and loved that too (though I still think the very best music was on the EP), and a few years ago I added the Fantasy CD (and subsequently a decent pirate cd) to the collection.

It's not the first Brubeck cD anyone would buy: that will always and understandably be Time Out. But it is the best one anybody could buy. For too long, he was looked down on by many (mostly Miles fans being too cool for their own good), but he made a lot of very fine music, and for sheer naked emotion (something often looked for in music which can be too cerebral on occasions), this can not be beaten anywhere in his oeuvre. Too correct the headline: do buy that, of course. But buy this as well!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Everybody Digs Dave to parody one of his LP titles. With a long and satisfying career as one of the World's greatest jazz musicians it is almost invidious to chose a best album of all time, but surely this early recording from 1953 with the "first quartet" must be up there near or at the top of the list. I have many Brubeck albums and this remains pretty much my favourite despite many challengers. From the start the quartet play with control and assurredness. Desmond plays calmly and beautifully throughout (of course) and Brubeck's style of playing with the big block chords (developed following a shoulder injury sustained fallong from an army lorry) is just marvellous and perfect. Crotty and Davis lend appropriate support (it isn't until Joe Morello takes the drum chair that drums make a major contribution to the sound of the quartet).
A truly great jazz album; hall of fame stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 December 2010
This is a great recording of the Dave Brubeck quartet at Oberlin College in 1953. Its the first Brubeck album I ever bought, and whilst it predates the most famous of Brubeck's quartets, it has Paul Desmond on Alto and that makes its essential.

Great versions of How High the Moon and Perdido are perhaps highlights, but the whole album is superb. The contrast between Brubecks aggressive Piano solos and Desmonds flighty alto is amazing, yet somehow they were made for each other. The quality of musicianship is of the highest order, sometimes they throw in a bits of Bach (or Bach like), Brubeck gets into semi-modern classical music at some points and the rest of the time the band are just swinging.

I'm not familiar with the bass player and drummer but they play more than an adequate supporting role to two giants of Jazz.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2010
I came across this original L.P. in a junk shop for a pound in 1986 and was intrigued by the cover. For some reason I started to be attracted to jazz about this time through listening to Frank Sinatra and other jazz influences.
I have loved this record ever since and am glad it is now available on C.D. with excellent notes and remastered at a competitive price - it has been lovingly recreated from the original album.
The wonderful unmistakable Paul Desmond compliments Dave's subtle playing throughout the album. The numbers are delicately played and recorded live in concert to an appreciative audience. A great addition to your Jazz collection - its calming almost spiritual in its effect it has on listener.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
Though not in my opinion one of the very best Brubeck albums, Jazz at Oberlin is still an excellent and classic landmark in Brubeck's career. Though the sound quality is no better than you can expect from a recorded live performance of the time, it's still good enough to make the album listenable and enjoyable. The jazz, though musically first rate, tends to be on the lighter and bouncy side, making this a disc that will appeal not only to confirmed jazz fans but also no more casual listeners. I'd recommend it to anyone who's a jazz fan, a Brubeck fan, or just wants to include some good mainstream jazz in their music collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2010
Recordered concert at Oberlin of the young Dave Brubeck Quartet featuring Paul Desmond. Great sounding Jazz from 1953.Fresh and swinging as ever. One of the best.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
I generally tend to avoid live concert recordings, preferring the studio produced recordings but having previously purchased "Jazz Goes to College" a live concert recording by The Dave Brubeck Quartet ,( and really enjoy listening to it) I decided to give Jazz at Oberlin a listen. I wasn`t disappointed. Yes, it`s also a live concert recording, but the audience reaction adds to the excitement and the enjoyment. This album has only five tracks but they are all long tracks which enables the quartet to swing, especially on "How High The Moon" which is an all time favourite of mine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)