Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars368
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 May 2015
Dave Lizewski is an unnoticed high school student and comic book fan with a few friends and who lives alone with his father.

His life is not very difficult and his personal trials not that overwhelming.

However, one day he makes the simple decision to become a super-hero even though he has no powers or training...

This movie feels like it's been a long time coming, I was even worried at one point that the film would ever get released. How glad I am that this film is getting the hype and the coverage it's getting at the moment.

From the upstart, Kick-Ass is a clever, funny, and bittersweet movie, that has so much in common with the films it's 'complimenting' than you would expect. But obviously Kick-Ass has no special powers, which is the novel part of the film, but he loses someone close at an early age, has an accident that 'changes' him in someway, a girl he finds attractive but does not know how to approach, the villain, and of course the gaining of self confidence.

Some of the film is very close to the knuckle, and will probably get a few complaints from the stiffs who don't know how to read a movie properly and have a good time. For instance, when Big Daddy shoots Hit-Girl at point blank range, is in bad taste, but it got the biggest laugh in the cinema, and on the subject of Hit-Girl, she is easily the most likable character in the whole film, even though she has been brainwashed and been devoid of a childhood.

Another thing this has in common with other movies it 'compliments', the main character is put in the back seat for the majority of the time in favour of supporting characters. Plasse as Red-Mist is more serious and evil than the trailer suggests, and pits in a great performance. Strong is good, but sadly wasted as the main villain, but he is really great and is as watchable as always, it's just people familiar with Strong know he has done better before.

Cage gives the best performance he has in nearly ten years, his Big Daddy coming as a cross between Ned Flanders, Patrick Bateman, and The Punisher, even though he isn't in it much, he steals the show whenever he is in it.

The action is frenetic and visceral, but the soundtrack makes the violence just that little more lighter on the eyes.

The narrative is brilliant, and everything just goes along at such a good pace, that you never get bored of it.

Leaving the film open for a sequel is good, but predictable, but mixing the comedy with crushingly dark undertones about loss, makes it a little more emotional.

A great movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
I didn't hear much about this movie until it came out on dvd and blu-ray. I guess it's more like one of those movies you watch on a rainy day. I could watch this one over and over. Really funny and realistic, telling basically the truth about what would happen if, one day, you got sick of it all and decided to grab a disguise and tackle some bad guys. Everything is priceless about these characters, right down to the names. I mean really, if you were going to catch some bad guys, the name really wouldn't matter. That would be the least of your worries.

The blu-ray audio and video is great, looks fantastic on a big telly. Very vibrant colours throughout the movie. I'd highly recommend getting this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2010
It's 3 in a row now from director Matthew Vaughan.
Following on from his no nonsense feature debut 'Layer Cake' was the charming 'Stardust' and now this little gem.

Filmed at the same time as the comic was being written; infact the film got finished before the comic in the end - Kick Ass is a refreshing blast of comic book celluloid.

It follows the exploits of Dave Lizewski (Aaron Johnson) who one day, decides to become a superhero and inadvertently attracts the attention of a couple of other super dudes called Big Daddy (Nicholas Cage) and his 11 year old daughter Hit Girl (Chloe Moretz). He then becomes embroiled in their plans to bring down a rather nasty bit of work (portrayed by the ever reliable Mark Strong) as well as being the catalyst for the appearance of another wannabe real life superhero.

Without giving any of the plot away, mark my words when I tell you that if you are in the least bit offended by profanity and excessive, but wonderfully executed hyper kinetic violence - stay away. However if you like both the former and latter as well as an involving story, some laughs and some suprising human drama, then kick back - watch and enjoy Kick Ass.

I only hope that if and when a sequel is released, that it not only lives up to the standard set by this primer but exceeds it.
11 comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
Super hero films have become more than popular in recent years and inevitably, have spawned this sub genre of film, the “super-hero in the real world” genre. Unlike traditional superhero flics, this sub genre is consistently good, with the likes of 'Super' and 'Defendor' already having very respectable reviews from me. Kick ass takes it up a notch though; it sprinkles just the right amount of un-believability into the story to have the feel of the film land successfully between something like Defendor and something more fantastical like Captain America. The scope of kick-ass isn’t as big as the Captain America franchise but the ambition is definitely there. This sweet spot between real life drama and pure comic book fiction is where the magic happens, and I can confidently say that this is the most enjoyable film of this superhero sub genre.

Lets start with the source material, the graphic novel by Mark Millar, is an outstanding book, but if it is anything, it is violent; I mean uber violent, this book contains the kind of stuff that Game of Thrones might have a problem showing in one of its episodes. (I did say might!) So you have got to give props to one of my favorite screen writers, Jane Goldman, along with writer/director Matthew Vaughn for being able to adapt the story, keeping the original feel of the book but also making it semi acceptable for the main stream audience.
For the most part the casting in kick-ass is top notch. Christopher Mintz-Plasse has finally managed to shed the Mclovin' typecasting by playing, an, admittedly still geeky guy, who is also lonely, spoilt and eventually not quite right in the head. Nicolas Cage is finally good! How many years has it been? But in the role of Big Daddy his over acting and kookiness actually works for him. The star of the show though, is undoubtedly Chloe Moretz as Hit Girl, the stuff that comes out of her mouth never loses it's shock value as it is delivered with such ease and conviction, you just want to constantly wash her mouth out with soap! The action scenes with hit girl are legendary, with the violence being amplified because a 13-year-old girl is performing it. 

Kick-ass poses the question “why hasn't anybody tried to be a super hero?” And answers it with the harsh reality of life. The story shows us the dangers of messing with evil, real life mafia/ mob type of evil, and it isn't pretty. It shows us the consequences of the lifestyle of a costumed vigilante, and it isn't pretty. But it also shows us the life that all of us, at least at one point in our lives, have dreamed of, the kind of life where you can walk away from exploding building in slow motion on a daily basis, and it's pretty damn cool.

Kick-ass is one of those films that takes an existing genre and does something unique with it, and what’s more, it does it pretty well. Great action, brilliant characters, cool story and an enjoyable concept, it's probably not a classic but it is well worth the time to watch and enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2011
A very weird take on the superhero genre and if that was not twisted enough throwing in a little foul mouthed child ninja in the mix makes the whole thing quite explosive. I like the coming-of-age story in combination with being a superhero which is handled so much better than e.g. in spiderman. There is plenty of humour to set against the at times extreme violence. Especially the torture scene is pushing the boundaries. But that of course is the point of the movie. The only slight weakness is that the darkness of the comic has been surgically removed completely: he gets the girl and there is a happy end. The other changes make sense and work well (jet pack anyone?) but this gave the comic an extra edge.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2011
Really enjoyed the movie, and whilst it's about (pre-?)teens it's great fun to watch as an adult too. It's a bit silly (but knows it's silly unlike some superhero movies which can take themselves too seriously) and wonderfully entertaining. It's just FUN.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
Brilliant film which has great soundtrack with many tracks from the Prodigy. Good narrative and comic book feel to it. Keeps your interest right from the start as it shows plausibly how a superhero could come into effect. Good editing and script make this a fantastic film for comic fans and for those who like a good tale.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
The beginning of the movie is Quentin Tarantino does Napoleon Dynamite, without the annoying flashbacks, just annoying first person narration. The first person narration eventually goes away. A geek kid decides to become a superhero, and as in real life he doesn't get superhero results. When he is faced with certain death he is saved by an 11 year old girl in a mask(Hit Girl). This is a remarkable scene as the sound track plays the music from the Banana Splits. Yes, the sound track helped make the movie.

The initial scene with Nicolas Cage was also a great scene. In order to be a big hit, a movie needs a few great scenes and no bad scenes. I believe this film will be a cult classic. I thought the teen acting was all excellent except for the Red Mist. His bad acting was made up for by a sensational performance by Hit Girl (Dakota Fanning move over) who owned every scene she was in.

The nudity mentioned on the box must refer to the quick glimpse we get of "National Geographic porno" we see on the computer while our hero has his pants at his ankles. Frequent f-bomb.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
I love this film so much, perfect mix of comical, emotional and fighting scenes (in my opinion anyway..) Hit-Girl is just as much of the star in this film in my opinion, Chloë Grace Moretz is the cute bad ass bow on top that brings it all together. If you haven't watched it yet, what are you waiting for!?!?!?!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
It's one of those films that takes over-the-top situations, ramps it up to laughable levels and then disperses it with stunning action and events. It's so extreme but the acting and dark humour make it so much fun that you can't help but keep watching to see what happens next.

It's an eye candy of a film with great dialogue, screenplay and smooth action choreography. It kept me watching until the very end and I enjoyed every mesmorising second of it. A fantastic film that sits very high above the average film release. This one should be a blu-ray purchase and kept forever.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)