Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chastity, Poverty, Solitude and a Life of Prayer.
A documentary of nearly 1 hour 45 minutes that follows the lives of an order of devout nuns in a monastery, does not sound the most exciting of things to watch. Not exactly "Gone With the Wind" or "Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade", films incidentally that the nuns will never see in their TV-less surroundings. But I was in for a pleasant surprise! The documentary...
Published on 16 Aug 2010 by Bob Salter

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting insight
Gives an interesting insight into the world of the nuns but on the whole the film failed to capture the depth of faith. Compared with "Into Great Silence" it is rather dull.
Published 22 months ago by Penneloppe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chastity, Poverty, Solitude and a Life of Prayer., 16 Aug 2010
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: No Greater Love [DVD] (DVD)
A documentary of nearly 1 hour 45 minutes that follows the lives of an order of devout nuns in a monastery, does not sound the most exciting of things to watch. Not exactly "Gone With the Wind" or "Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade", films incidentally that the nuns will never see in their TV-less surroundings. But I was in for a pleasant surprise! The documentary certainly proves to be entertaining, but in a more thoughtful way. The director Michael Whyte apparently spent ten years corresponding with the Most Holy Trinity monastery, in London's Notting Hill, home to the Discalced Order of Carmelite Nuns, before he was allowed in with the cameras. Whyte seems to be following in the footsteps of Philip Groning the director of "Into Great Silence", who had to wait 16 years before he was allowed to film the Carthusian monks inside the Grande Chartreuse monastery. In that film there is no narration whatsoever, unlike this film which is interspersed with short interviews with the monks.

In the film we watch the prayerful and devoted lives of the nuns in some detail. In their interviews it is apparent that they are very human, literate and good humoured. It is also crystal clear early on, that such a life of devotion would suit very few. The vows they solemnly take demand chastity, poverty and a life spent in solitude and prayer. Jesus speaking about it being "easier for a rich nan to go through the eye of a needle than to enter heaven", springs to mind. One nun talks about how she was made to finish her degree course at Cambridge, before her father would allow her into the monastery. Her father probably had some other career in mind for his bright daughter, but she received a much higher calling! We also see such scenes as nuns polishing a shining wooden floor, and wielding chainsaws in the garden. No matter what they are doing the habits remain on! The monastery has a wonderful look of austere cleanliness, which speaks of much hard work. Of course much time is spent in prayer and worship. The nuns have some very gifted singers amongst their number, and the singing is quite lovely. But it is not all work and prayer, as we see them dancing joyously together. Clearly the life does not mean you cannot have some innocent fun together.

The more of this documentary you watch, the more you realise how contented the nuns are with their lives. Some interesting questions are put to the nuns, one lead question being "Do you fear death". The answer is a thoughtfully answered no, and you believe her! These days the nuns do not have to fear rampaging Vikings, but there is something perhaps more dangerous and insidious that lurks just outside the monasteries cloistered walls. The monastery is in busy Notting Hill, in the pandemonium of London, where the destructive temptations of the modern world lurk in wait for the unwary. Not the best place one would think for a life of prayerful devotion and contemplation! The nuns are realistic that they cannot cut out the modern world altogether, but must make some concessions. It was interesting to see one nun doing some internet food shopping. I wonder if they ever go on Amazon? They seem to have a faith that allows them to embrace healthy new ideas, but not fall victim to the more sinister. The interviews reminded me much of those of the elderly Ardennes farmers in "Modern Life", in their naturalness and honesty. The filming seems to have been made using what natural light was available, so allowances should be made for the picture quality. I believe "Into Great Silence" was filmed in the same way! Film lighting would probably not have been conducive to worship! This is a fascinating documentary that gives you an insight into lives that are not so dull as we might imagine. There are a number of interesting extras, including further interviews. A thought provoking experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A film to make you think, and beautifully filmed., 10 Aug 2010
This review is from: No Greater Love [DVD] (DVD)
This is very much on the lines of the film shown in cinemas a couple of years back "The Great Silence" but this time it concerns enclosed nuns instead of priests and frank I found it much easier to watch. There is a LOT of silence but the short interviews with the Carmelite sisters are beautifully done and their country dancing at recreation time is fantastic. And don't miss "Sister Luke's Party Piece" among the extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A different Notting Hill!, 25 Aug 2010
This review is from: No Greater Love [DVD] (DVD)
The area of Notting Hill, in west London, is known as the setting of the 1958 race riots, the annual British Caribbean carnival, and also of that idiotic 1999 romantic comedy starring Hugh Grant. A much lesser known fact about the area, unsurprisingly, is that it is also the location of a Carmelite Monastery situated on Saint Charles Square. The Carmelites, or the Order of the Brothers of Our Lady of Mount Carmel to be more precise, is a Roman Catholic religious order of friars and nuns. The nuns live cloistered, and their main focus in life is contemplative prayer but, as they live in enclosed communities and try to be as self sufficient as possible, they also spend a large amount of their waking hours doing all the necessary work to keep the communities running as smoothly as possible. British filmmaker Michael Whyte, after ten long years of letter exchanges with the nuns of Saint Charles Square, in an attempt to gain permission to make a documentary about their daily routines, was finally granted access to the monastery, and for a year he quietly followed the women as they quietly prayed, cooked, worked and lived, and the footage resulted in the astonishing No Greater Love. For 100 minutes, No Greater Love takes us to a world of Beauty and Love that is unattainable in our lives, precisely because it is a Beauty and a Love that cannot only be attained by those whose main focus in life is to maintain a soul damaging cycle of work and consumption. Michael Whyte's cinematography of these women in their 132 year old building is breathtaking. It clearly evokes, as Kazuo Ichiguro said, the old Dutch masters, in its extraordinary chiaroscuro compositions of skin, wood and glass. Allow yourself an hour and forty minutes with White's masterpiece, and you'll understand why these women chose this Way, and peraphs you will manage to take some of its spirit with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 23 July 2010
This review is from: No Greater Love [DVD] (DVD)
I agree with previous reviewers on the general quality and atmosphere of this film. The sound is not very good though, particularly when the director of the film interviews the nuns and the priest. The extra material is remarkable also in its quality.

A nice window to a world full of silence and praying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A free gift of self, 7 July 2010
By 
This review is from: No Greater Love [DVD] (DVD)
The Carmelites of the Most Holy Trinity, Notting Hill lead us into silence and prayer, as we live through the hourly, daily and yearly cycle of monastic life.
Everyday tasks, such as cooking, cleaning, gardening and making Altar breads to sell to sustain the monastery; are interspersed with beautiful times of Silence: in prayer, in comtemplation.
Michael Whyte conducts several interviews with members of the community, where he touches on subjects such as the misconceptions held by the layperson about the monastic life, do the carmelites fear death, do they struggle with their faith and how, and such tricky subjects as St John of the Cross's Dark Night. The Sisters make all of these topics so accessible, and so real - you feel like you understand their life despite only having a snapshot of it in this film.
This film was made extra special for me because I have visited this particular Carmel twice now, and have a personal connection with the Sister who was prioress at the time of filming.

This Sisters demonstrate the joy and hardships of the continual gift of their whole self they make to God on a daily basis. They are making themselves "Love in the heart of the Church" (Therese of Lisieux) and make their prayer into "An uplifting of the heart to God" (ibid).

Highlights for me were:
*The bonus material - check it out - over 85mins of interviews and "silly bits".
*Holy Week - I've never seen anything so beautiful as watching the Prioress lovingly wash, dry, bless and kiss the feet of all of her spiritual children. [For the time she is prioress she sort of "stands in the place" of Christ as a priest does in a parish or an Abbot in a monastery]
*6 nuns doing a ceilidh: Fairly amusing, and good fun - it shows that recreation really is about recreation!
*Clothing in the habit for one sister, followed by the death of an elderly member of the community - life cycles round.

This film is recommended for anyone who has seen Into Great Silence or Baraka, ie you can happily sit through a slow paced film with lots of atmosphere.
This film is not recommended for those who can't sit still for that long or find slow-paced films a hardship: it will be a bit lost on you I'm afraid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "He is alive,the Lord in whose presence I stand", 17 Sep 2010
By 
technoguy "jack" (Rugby) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: No Greater Love [DVD] (DVD)
In an age of increasing marginalisation of religion and increasing secularisation of society,the hustle and bustle of the global economy,the attacks by the leading atheists,the materialization of reality,this documentary gives the `still,small voice' of a cloistered community of Carmelite nuns,in a monastery in the heart of London. This is the Carmelite Monastery of The Most Holy Trinity,given over to a life of contemplative prayer.Set in acres of gardens and nature,the nuns give themselves up to a life of chastity,poverty and obedience,in surrender to God. These working nuns are seen cooking,washing,cleaning,gardening,sewing,using the internet to order tuna.Their primary work is prayer in silence.The still camera captures the interior stillness.

Camera and lighting is unobtrusive,the director uninvasive,gently asking interviewees questions about any fear of death,periods of doubt,the inability to escape oneself.The answers are surprisingly honest and humble. Interiors are darkly beautiful,wooded panels or floors or Dutch corridors open to sunlight.The film is centred chiefly on Holy Week,the passion,death and resurrection of Christ,without which 'life has no meaning'.We get a birth(a novitiate professes her vows) and a death,a Sister Mary,who is shown being buried in the enclosed cemetery, movingly.Aged 97.There is great reverence to the elderly members of the community,who are taken care of.

In some group scenes we see one or two postulants,candidates for admission to the religious order,who are not yet in habit.We see how the habit changes with added,concealed,interior crucifixes,for the professed daughters of Carmel.They have proved their willingness to accept life in a community of imperfect souls.The scapular they wear is a symbol of their dedication to Mary,and her motherly care for them.Their Prioress is shown washing, drying and kissing the feet of the nuns.The Prioress quotes Hopkins poem,"death life does end and each day dies with sleep", to show the cycle of each day,ending,preparing for the next.Each nun has individuality as well as community.The monastery grows fruit and vegetables for itself and manufactures communion wafers for other churches.

The power of the sacraments and devotion to the Virgin Mary are constant themes,also they pray to the Twelve Stations of the Cross.Their lives of total self-giving transcends all personal concerns,binding the community together,keeping the light of faith burning,through severe self-discipline.The ending is startling as the camera draws back, upwards and outwards into the darkening dusk lit up by moving traffic and streetlights.We see it in context.A film of quiet homage to the director,Whyte's,long wait to gain unprecedented access. A film to counter the impersonality of the mechanistic modern world to recall man to an awareness of the mystery of being.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An alternative Way of Life, 1 Nov 2011
By 
Suzanne Ryder - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Greater Love [DVD] (DVD)
I was very moved to watch this video and to share in a glimpse of the lives of these Carmelite nuns. They showed thamselves as being very human, struggling with their own doubts, yet living in hope of another dimension in life. who is God? I feel that these women find the Holy in their daily lives, even through their labourious, repetitive tasks. I was particulary touched to hear that they appreciate so much that others find their prayer presence valuable. Maybe I hadn't expected the mutuality of life inside and outside the convent walls. I hadn't expected to see a nun in a wheelchair and then her death but all of this seemed to be taken as normal. It is a prompt to me to see that all that goes on, whether in religious life or not, is quite normal. This DVD made me think more deeply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Greater Love, 27 Dec 2010
By 
John S. Wall "Stan" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Greater Love [DVD] (DVD)
Everything good that has been said or written about this DVD is true; it's not"out of this world"!, it's "otherworldly"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good work, finely crafted, 3 Dec 2010
This review is from: No Greater Love [DVD] (DVD)
This is as good a documentary as the Carthusian one, "Into Great Silence", only in this case the setting is far from beautiful - and only truly revealed in the final minutes when, in an inspired passage of film making, the camera zooms away from the Carmelite monastery to its grimy inner city surroundings.

Stand-outs are many. And the Nuns come across as likeable, thoughtful, and deeply committed to what they are about. What a beautiful sight it is to see them at work and prayer. And another interesting thing: you never actually see the altar to which they are directing their prayer. The ceilidh is a delightful surprise, tho.

Well done, what a great idea and it is executed with grace and sweetness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No greater love, 22 July 2010
This review is from: No Greater Love [DVD] (DVD)
This is a moving and beautiful film of the Carmelite way of life, which is cotrary to all we are used to in our modern way of life. It is full of interest and not boring at all. We learn a lot from the interviews of various sisters. which open up to us a thoughtful new world.
I recommend this DVD wthout any hesitation. it transports us to another world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Greater Love [DVD]
No Greater Love [DVD] by Michael Whyte (DVD - 2010)
£9.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews