Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lola love!
This is a really great lesbian film which is refreshingly positive. No-one dies or goes straight, there are great sex scenes, a witty script and an exuberant joie de vivre and energy about the whole thing which sets it apart. The whole of San Francisco in the background to the shots is wonderfully, carelessly gay, the chemistry between the leading roles sparkles and...
Published on 29 Mar 2010 by Clare

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun and fluffy!
Having bought this based purely on the trailer, and written reviews in Diva magazine, I was kind of expecting a quirky, offbeat homage to the German hit "Run, Lola, Run", and that is what you get.

However, whilst the film is certainly fun and enjoyable, it's also light on real entertainment. Essentially, a lesbian variation on Run Lola Run, but without the...
Published on 8 Jun 2010 by PoochJD


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lola love!, 29 Mar 2010
By 
Clare (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: And Then Came Lola [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This is a really great lesbian film which is refreshingly positive. No-one dies or goes straight, there are great sex scenes, a witty script and an exuberant joie de vivre and energy about the whole thing which sets it apart. The whole of San Francisco in the background to the shots is wonderfully, carelessly gay, the chemistry between the leading roles sparkles and Lola's breathless chase takes her in some surprising - and hilarious - directions.

The basic plot is that Lola tends to screw up her relationships. She gets a phonecall from her current girlfriend to ask her to pick up some prints and make it across San Francisco in time for an important business meeting but will she make it, and will her girlfriend have been still be her girlfriend by the time she gets there? Fortunately she gets more than one shot...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLANTL:, 13 Sep 2010
This review is from: And Then Came Lola [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
it's not often you get a lesbian film that is an out and out fun comedy, and with strong characterisation. i can't recommend this enough, it's funny, exciting, killer soundtrack, and dare i say it... hot women (not my cup tea) but still, i enjoyed it so much. My lesbian friends couldn't stop laughing, they were like little girls. They said something that I thought was a very good point - it's so good to come across a queer film where no lesbian dies and it doesn't have to justify or explain they're lesbians. It's just is and gets on with it. Highly recommend this +++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy fun with Lola!, 10 April 2010
By 
Zoe (Cardiff, WALES) - See all my reviews
This review is from: And Then Came Lola [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
And Then Came Lola is homage to the German film Run Lola Run. It's fast paced, sexy and fun. This film has got rave reviews from every film festival it's been show at and once you've seen it, you can see why.

It's got Jill Bennett in, what more do you need, but And Then Came Lola is a rare commodity; it's a lesbian film that's actually very good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars simple sexy and hilarious, 12 Dec 2011
This review is from: And Then Came Lola [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
And then came lola follows the life of lola a woman who struggles to make her female relationships work because of her many issues, she is asked favours by her girlfriend which she finds difficulty in following through with, going through many funny scenarios on the way. This film has a very simple story line but because of the witty script and lola's fun personality it makes an enjoyable film also with a few interesting sex scenes between the woman...in general an amusing enjoyable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lola just rocks! A must have in your lesbian DVD collection, 8 April 2010
By 
janice walker (Sale, Cheshire, GB) - See all my reviews
This review is from: And Then Came Lola [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
ATCL is a very enjoyable and energetic lesbian romcom.Clever storyline,great backdrop of San Fran and lovely believable acting from the 3 main leads Ashleigh Sumner (Lola) a great new find,Jill Bennett and Cathy Debuono sparkle as always and give a delicious tale of love,flirting and most of all fun.Its not about coming out and the lesbian does not turn straight or get killed in the end.So all in all a great film that makes you warm and fuzzy inside,makes you laugh and come out of the cinema satisfied!
Buy it you wont be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 13 Sep 2011
This review is from: And Then Came Lola [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Recommend it. It's one of the best lesbian films I'v seen. A feel good, light hearted and well performed film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice homage, 22 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And Then Came Lola [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Those people who complain that this movie "rips off" Run Lola Run are missing the point - And Then Came Lola is a witty homage of the (IMO overrated) original, and perhaps they need to be more aware of the gay (and Frisco) markers that distinguish it. Run Lola Run is (to over-interpret) about a useless guy (Everyman) who is utterly dependent on his gf (Everywoman) who is always going to be let down by him. In a lesbian movie, where everyone is a woman, this needs tweaking, so, purely for laughs, Lola's personality is slammed by all her exes, in and out of (clichéd for laughs) therapy, to her amazement. Instead of nuns, we have women with prams, so there are probably lots of little details to watch out for. We have Photos instead of money, wittily, because photography is a lesbian cliché (witness Shane in the L-Word going straight over to Frankie in Lip Service, and there are other examples). For me, if it has a weakness, it is that sometimes it seems to drift a little too far from Run Lola Run. There are quite a few laugh-out-loud moments, and Ashleigh Sumner is an excellent actress, but I was a little bit disappointed by Jill Bennett. As for production values and budget, these are pretty good for a gay indie movie. The box says "Will have you giggling for two hours straight" (pun intended). A bit difficult, since the DVD's runtime is 66 minutes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Smart, Sexy, Comedic Film, 21 July 2010
This review is from: And Then Came Lola [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Firstly, this is a great film. The premise is that of the life of Lola, who is a somewhat lazy yet still gifted photographer. It's pinpointed on her, per usual, being late to a very important meeting that could make or break her career. Both her profession and her girlfriend hang in the balance, and she has 3 chances to race through San Francisco to have it all line up in her favour.

Secondly: Though definitely not necessary, this film is an homage to 'Run, Lola, Run.' I think a lot of people who marked this lower than 4 stars probably wasn't aware... And I think that would have affected their rating had they of known. That being said, it is different. The animation in Run, Lola, Run left something to be desired, however in 'And Then Came Lola,' I found the animation to be quirky and cute. There were also many sessions of the different characters in therapy, where you get to learn a lot more about each of them due to the discussion of their previous relationships, etc.

This is a fun and hilarious film, and I found myself wishing it was longer (it's only 70 minutes). What I liked is that this film wasn't about just being a 'lesbian film,' but instead had a really witty plot and some really great acting on the part of the main character Lola, played by Ashleigh Sumner. Definitely check it out, it's worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun and fluffy!, 8 Jun 2010
This review is from: And Then Came Lola [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Having bought this based purely on the trailer, and written reviews in Diva magazine, I was kind of expecting a quirky, offbeat homage to the German hit "Run, Lola, Run", and that is what you get.

However, whilst the film is certainly fun and enjoyable, it's also light on real entertainment. Essentially, a lesbian variation on Run Lola Run, but without the technical merits, the great soundtrack, or sophistication of its predecessor.

I was also disappointed at the sheer slightness of the film. You start to watch it, and then it's over almost as quickly. It's not an inherently bad film, as some people have claimed. Nor is it plagiarising "Run, Lola, Run"! It is simply an alternate variation on it.

Sadly, it's a film you should probably rent, rather than purchase. It's fun and fluffy, but eminently forgettable, and whilst the cast are reasonable, only lead actress Ashleigh Sumner aquits herself with anything worth a decent stab at the job. Most of the rest of the cast, look lovely, but don't really act as well as you'd hope. It's very go-through-the-motions on display here, which left me disappointed.

The extras are good, but again, very light and simplistic. Much like the film, I guess. I don't blame the directors, but it's not a film that deserves to be as trend-setting and award-winning in my view, as it has been.

The only real complaint is the quote on the cover of the DVD, that claims you'll be laughing for a good couple of hours. The film lasts a measly 70 minutes, and if you don't know this beforehand (like me), then it's only written in tiny lettering around the edge of the DVD disc itself. On the packaging, nothing! Rather cheeky action from Peccadillo Pictures, in my view, and a fraction misleading.

Still, if you want something light-hearted and easy to view, this is worth a go. Just don't expect too much, and you should enjoy the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dear god don't buy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 25 May 2011
This review is from: And Then Came Lola [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
After reading these reviews, I thought, how bad can it be, it seems to be getting five stars??
How wrong could I be!!!!!!!!! I don't know whether these people reviewing it were involved
in the making of this film or the sales of it, but dear god I haven't seen anything this bad in a long time.
Your relying on these kind of reviews when your browsing for a good quality film, no matter
what the genre. And being part of the LGBT community myself, I was hoping for a good quality film
based on these reviews. So if you're looking to part with your cash for a well made film, with good
acting and a good storyline, it isn't this one!!!!!!! BELIEVE ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!
p.s I gave it one star cause I can re-use the dvd case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

And Then Came Lola [DVD] [2009]
And Then Came Lola [DVD] [2009] by Ashleigh Sumner (DVD - 2010)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews