Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lola love!
This is a really great lesbian film which is refreshingly positive. No-one dies or goes straight, there are great sex scenes, a witty script and an exuberant joie de vivre and energy about the whole thing which sets it apart. The whole of San Francisco in the background to the shots is wonderfully, carelessly gay, the chemistry between the leading roles sparkles and...
Published on 29 Mar 2010 by Clare

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible
Sorry, but this was awful. I got a headache watching it. I bought it because so many of the reviews seemed positive, and the preview made it look interesting. The representation of lesbians was really stereotyped and shallow. Painful to watch.
Published 11 months ago by Catherine


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lola love!, 29 Mar 2010
By 
Clare (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: And Then Came Lola [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This is a really great lesbian film which is refreshingly positive. No-one dies or goes straight, there are great sex scenes, a witty script and an exuberant joie de vivre and energy about the whole thing which sets it apart. The whole of San Francisco in the background to the shots is wonderfully, carelessly gay, the chemistry between the leading roles sparkles and Lola's breathless chase takes her in some surprising - and hilarious - directions.

The basic plot is that Lola tends to screw up her relationships. She gets a phonecall from her current girlfriend to ask her to pick up some prints and make it across San Francisco in time for an important business meeting but will she make it, and will her girlfriend have been still be her girlfriend by the time she gets there? Fortunately she gets more than one shot...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars simple sexy and hilarious, 12 Dec 2011
This review is from: And Then Came Lola [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
And then came lola follows the life of lola a woman who struggles to make her female relationships work because of her many issues, she is asked favours by her girlfriend which she finds difficulty in following through with, going through many funny scenarios on the way. This film has a very simple story line but because of the witty script and lola's fun personality it makes an enjoyable film also with a few interesting sex scenes between the woman...in general an amusing enjoyable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLANTL:, 13 Sep 2010
This review is from: And Then Came Lola [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
it's not often you get a lesbian film that is an out and out fun comedy, and with strong characterisation. i can't recommend this enough, it's funny, exciting, killer soundtrack, and dare i say it... hot women (not my cup tea) but still, i enjoyed it so much. My lesbian friends couldn't stop laughing, they were like little girls. They said something that I thought was a very good point - it's so good to come across a queer film where no lesbian dies and it doesn't have to justify or explain they're lesbians. It's just is and gets on with it. Highly recommend this +++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy fun with Lola!, 10 April 2010
By 
Zoe (Cardiff, WALES) - See all my reviews
This review is from: And Then Came Lola [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
And Then Came Lola is homage to the German film Run Lola Run. It's fast paced, sexy and fun. This film has got rave reviews from every film festival it's been show at and once you've seen it, you can see why.

It's got Jill Bennett in, what more do you need, but And Then Came Lola is a rare commodity; it's a lesbian film that's actually very good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And Then Came Lola [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Sorry, but this was awful. I got a headache watching it. I bought it because so many of the reviews seemed positive, and the preview made it look interesting. The representation of lesbians was really stereotyped and shallow. Painful to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish waste of money in my book.just didnt click with me, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And Then Came Lola [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
just didnt click with me maybe because im older anyway didnt enjoy it at all wouldnt recommend it myself.if i could would send it back total rubbish. in my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not great!., 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And Then Came Lola [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This film was not great!... it was advertised that it was laugh a minute but it was so cheesy and more like watching a cartoon :-( dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not even worth 1 star to be honest!!, 6 May 2014
By 
This review is from: And Then Came Lola [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Disappointing. I am so glad I rented this first because it was boring with a stupid story line and pointless animated parts that added nothing of value. Don't waste your time or money on this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dear god don't buy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 25 May 2011
This review is from: And Then Came Lola [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
After reading these reviews, I thought, how bad can it be, it seems to be getting five stars??
How wrong could I be!!!!!!!!! I don't know whether these people reviewing it were involved
in the making of this film or the sales of it, but dear god I haven't seen anything this bad in a long time.
Your relying on these kind of reviews when your browsing for a good quality film, no matter
what the genre. And being part of the LGBT community myself, I was hoping for a good quality film
based on these reviews. So if you're looking to part with your cash for a well made film, with good
acting and a good storyline, it isn't this one!!!!!!! BELIEVE ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!
p.s I gave it one star cause I can re-use the dvd case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice homage, 22 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And Then Came Lola [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Those people who complain that this movie "rips off" Run Lola Run are missing the point - And Then Came Lola is a witty homage of the (IMO overrated) original, and perhaps they need to be more aware of the gay (and Frisco) markers that distinguish it. Run Lola Run is (to over-interpret) about a useless guy (Everyman) who is utterly dependent on his gf (Everywoman) who is always going to be let down by him. In a lesbian movie, where everyone is a woman, this needs tweaking, so, purely for laughs, Lola's personality is slammed by all her exes, in and out of (clichéd for laughs) therapy, to her amazement. Instead of nuns, we have women with prams, so there are probably lots of little details to watch out for. We have Photos instead of money, wittily, because photography is a lesbian cliché (witness Shane in the L-Word going straight over to Frankie in Lip Service, and there are other examples). For me, if it has a weakness, it is that sometimes it seems to drift a little too far from Run Lola Run. There are quite a few laugh-out-loud moments, and Ashleigh Sumner is an excellent actress, but I was a little bit disappointed by Jill Bennett. As for production values and budget, these are pretty good for a gay indie movie. The box says "Will have you giggling for two hours straight" (pun intended). A bit difficult, since the DVD's runtime is 66 minutes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

And Then Came Lola [DVD] [2009]
And Then Came Lola [DVD] [2009] by Ashleigh Sumner (DVD - 2010)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews