Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You pays your money...
And you make your choice.
The choice is between the Blue Underground version of this film or the Arrow version.
At first glance it seems an easy one. The Blue Underground picture is better. Not as soft and the colours are more muted. However with a slight tinkering of the contrast button on your television the difference is less obvious. Both copies have plenty...
Published 21 months ago by M. Crossman

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad picture quality, great extras
A lot of people seem to be discussing the pciture quality of the Arrow Video releases. While I was pleased with their outputs of "Inferno", "Phenomena" and "The Beyond", "City Of The Living Dead" sure is kind of a let-down. I'm not sure about the heavy grain on this transfer, but what really scares me is that this Blu-Ray has severe compression-problems. On many occasions...
Published on 10 Feb 2012 by Andrea Franco


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Edition!, 15 April 2013
By 
Aron Ramna (Porto,Portugal) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City of the Living Dead [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
City of the living dead is a great film. I like the italian style of horror.
The acting is not the best but its okay. Very happy to have it on my collection especially because it's a extremely complete edition, has a double sided poster & more extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Of Lucio Fulci's Best, 8 Feb 2009
By 
Andrew Kerr (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Written and directed by the Italian horror master Lucio Fulci comes "City Of The Living Dead." A horror film that was released in 1981 and previously banned, the film was quickly considered to be a video nasty and it's status is still refereed to such among horror fans to this day.

The film follows a young woman who has a vision foretelling the gates of hell opening under the New England town of Dunwich. She voices her concerns to a journalist and the pair set out together for the town, where a lot of strange things have been happening. They soon discover an army of zombies that have returned with a quest for revenge after being burned at the stake hundreds of years ago.

As usual with most of Lucio Fulci's horror films, the City Of The Living Dead offers a vast volume of stomach turning gore and horror. While a lot of his films were considered at the time to be simple exploitation and generally slatted by film critics, a great number of his films including this one are considered to be among his best by hardcore horror fans, and I personally would agree.

For me horror films such as this, always seem to come across as more realistic and plausible when compared to modern films. Perhaps it's the lack of computer effects, the low budget, or the fact that the actors (while not always the greatest) always seemed to be very real. Whatever the reason I always have prefer pre-1990's horror films.

City Of The Living Dead has a great atmosphere present throughout the film, which when combined with the appropriate and effective sound track generates a feel that's perfect for a horror. The effects and make-up used in the film are great and would still hold up today even after all this time. It's obvious that a lot of imagination and creativity has been put in to the creation of the Zombies. There are a couple of great scenes in the film that will really make your stomach turn, and looking back it's possible to tell that they may have inspired more modern film makers.

Naturally I could point out plenty of errors and mistakes, and the plot is a little thin. Certain things don't make sense, certain things don't add up, but in the end does any horror film make complete sense, but more to the point would you want it too. The acting leaves a lot to be desired, and the script is far from perfect, but the sheer atmosphere alone is enough to compensate. Dunwich really seems like a creepy town as opposed to a set.

Despite claiming to be Digitally Remastered, the picture and sound quality on the DVD, isn't the greatest (not much better than the VHS edition) which was a real shame considering the film's status. However my biggest disappointment was discovering that the dubbing is also very poor at times. In this particular case I think I would have preferred the original spoken language with subtitles.

But what counts the most in a film like this is the gore, and there is plenty of it here.

If you're looking for a brutal gore packed and entertaining horror film you've found it. City Of The Living Dead is a perfect example of what the horror genre is about.

Please note that there are several versions of this film available to buy on DVD. Some of these versions are cut, so make sure if you want the gore, and you want to watch the film the way that the film maker intended to get the uncut version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a vipco disc with extras!!!!!!!, 9 Oct 2008
The first in Fulcis so called gothic trilogy, it has a great atmosphere, great music and convincingly good gory special effects. It is not as good as The Beyond or The House by the Cemetery but stands on its own two feet as an excellent addition to the genre.
Vipcos dvd has a non-anamorphic 1.85:1 transfer that looks like it was mastered from a vhs tape, it is watchable enuogh but tends to get a little muddy. On the extras front Vipco have surprisingly produced some extra material including a commentary with actress Catriona Mccoll and writer Jay Slater and a five minute interview with Macoll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chilling movie/they don't make them like that anymore!, 30 Mar 2007
By 
As a teenager, I saw this at the theater when it first came out.It was titled the gates of hell american release.I found it to be very edge of your seat to watch,and the scene with the lady in the car puking her guts up..literally!!!was a great special effect.oh,they used sheeps intestines for that scene by the way.If you don't care for extreme gore this is not for you,but if your a gore hound like me you will love this movie!.................Hillery............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best it has sounded and looked!, 17 Sep 2010
By 
LoBo (BodÝ, Norway) - See all my reviews
This review is from: City of the Living Dead [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I think this film is pretty good. I think it has a creepy mood.I like the moody music of frequent collaborator Fabio Frizzi, who made music for many Fulci films. I like the theme song, but i personally think Fabio overused in the film. At the end of the film, i was a bit tired of hearing that repetitive song. I think it kind of loses it`s effect because it`s just used too much. I also like the Zombie makeup.

Picture Quality: 4/5

Previously i only had the region 1 DVD of this film, and i think this BD look much better than my old DVD. It has a lot of grain, but it is supposed to have that. The grain does not bother me. I think the details and colours are very much improved compared to my DVD.
COTLD was shot on 2-perf 35mm and only using part of the available 35 mm frame, resulting in a loss of overall resolution and detail.

It was not shot on 16mm then blown up to 35mm, as many people think. Yes, some scenes look unclear, but it is not the people doing the restoration`s fault. They looked like that originally in the cinema in 1980. There is some compression artifacts and noise, but it didn`t ruin the film experience for me. I think they did a pretty good job.

Audio Quality: 4/5

I used the DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1. The music and the dialog sounds good coming from the Center speaker. The subwoofer channel does not sound like a new film, but i didn`t expect that at all, but there are several times when i hear good bass. Just make sure you have more volume on the sub, compared to newer films.

I was suprised to hear Zombies moaning, the wind and some other effects several times in the rear speakers. I thought the rear speakers would be used much less. I think it sounded good and was surprisingly used for good effect.

If you really like this film and has it on DVD, and was thinking about buying the BD, i would recommend you to buy it. I think it was worth the upgrade.

Film: 4.5/5
Overall: 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Italian 80's Horror, 3 July 2010
By 
Grant Hudson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City of the Living Dead [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Along with their recent releases of Dawn Of The Dead and Day Of The Dead this is another quality release from Arrow. Multiple cover art, a double sided poster, collectors booklet and 6 poster cards are all included in this high end package.
Directed by the Italian "Godfather of gore" Lucio Fulci, City Of The Living Dead is the 1st of his "Gates of Hell" trilogy which also includes The House by the Cemetery and the sublime The Beyond.
The movie is a delerious melting pot of close fear, gory set pieces and misty environments, and while the characters may stumble over their motivation and indeed struggle to find a plot this does nothing to spoil this cracking 80's Italian horror. Great camera work, lovely use of colour and an excellent, creepy soundtrack are all on side to make this a fabulous experience for lovers of the genre.
The Blu Ray transfer of the movie is as crisp and sharp as you can get from 30 year old source material and shows the gore off in glorious hi-res colour and detail... really, what's not to enjoy?
If you like this then buy Arrow's Dawn and Day of the Dead. See also Lucio Fulci's Zombie 2 aka Zombie Flesh Eaters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of gothic zombie horror!, 25 May 2010
How would one try summing up "City of the Living Dead", well it is a zombie movie but unlike so many other zombie films of the time which were interested only in imitating what Romero had done Lucio Fulci who up until then hadn't been given much recognition for his many interesting films including various notable westerns and giallo was about to make a real impact and transcend the endless barrage of zombie fodder that began to appear, not that I'm bashing the zombie genre but many of them do just rehash the same theme's and format, Fulci would instead challenge what a zombie film could be and leave a very unique mark with his entries in the genre, in 1979 he made "Zombie Flesh Eaters" or "Zombi 2" in Italy (a name only unofficial sequel to "Zombi" or "Dawn of the Dead") which owing more to the voodoo zombies of the pre-Romero era became popular the world over, although his second zombie effort "City of the Living Dead" didn't go over as well at the time it has since gained a lot of popularity and become one of the must see zombie films of all time, first I should mention that in style its worlds apart from the typical example of the genre, the narrative is disjointed and dreamlike, the atmosphere dark and gothic, the violence a slow and sinister showreel of entrail vomiting and head drilling that is as beautiful as it is disgusting and musical score a haunting surreal experience that suits the madness, Lovecraftian themes are strongly evident.

The plot revolves around a priest, Father Thomas, who upon hanging himself opens the gates of hell, a medium and a reporter head off to the small community of Dunwich to close the gateway before all saints day at which point the dead would engulf and destroy the world, meanwhile the citizens of this sleepy little town try to survive as the strange goings on threaten them and the dead begin to move among them, being Fulci these zombies aren't going to walk around aimlessly biting people, the kills are rather creative especially for a zombie film, now the plot does make enough sense if thats what you're watching for but lets face it the films amazing gore, music and atmosphere are its strongpoints.

Now that I've covered the film itself lets talk about this particular edition, the film, remastered in a brand new HD transfer has never looked so good, it comes with both 5.1 surround and 2.0, on the Blu-Ray edition it also has 7.1, the special features include the original trailer, the Italian trailer, an introduction to the film by actor Carlo De Mejo, a Q and A session with actors Giovanni Lombardo Radice and Catriona McColl at the Glasgow Film Theatre, Catriona McColl interview featurette and audio commentary, Giovanni Lombardo Radice featurette and audio commentary, an interview with Lucio's daughter Antonella Fulci, interview with actor Carlo De Mejo, Luigi Cozzi reflects on his memories of Lucio Fulci and an interview with scriptwriter Dardano Sacchetti, the features total up to over three hours worth, six hours if you include the audio commentaries, how's that for a special edition!

Still not sold on this great edition of a legendary film? Well the film comes in a great packaging which includes a slip-over cover, four reversible covers allowing you to choose the cover you like best, six cool looking postcards, a double sided poster (one side is all new artwork, the other the American "Gates of Hell" poster) and a small booklet which is a fine little read, Blue Underground have also just released this film and have an equally good looking transfer but with so many little treats and a vastly superior selection of extra's all exclusive to the UK release by Arrow Video the choice is easy, if you're a Fulci fan or even just someone who likes gothic horror, 80's gore films or zombies this is a must have release, perhaps even the best release of the year!

Note on format comparison: The DVD edition has the extra's on disc two whilst the Blu-Ray keeps everything on one disc, also being of a higher quality format the Blu-Ray has better picture quality (both copies were taken from the same HD print but DVD as a format has its limitations) and the option of 7.1 surround, other than these technical aspects both versions are exactly equal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody blu-ray classic...., 24 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City of the Living Dead [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Fuci's surreal precursor to the Beyond follows a Psychic recently buried alive after appearing to die from a horrifying vision (played by catriona macoll) and a journalist (played by christopher george) head to the sleepy town of dunwich to investigate the psychics vision only to find the gates of hell have opened and the dead are walking the earth.
Fans of this often overlooked fulci entry have previously been forced to make do with the crappy quality vipco release with a commentary track from catriona macoll (which appears as an extra on this disc) or the bare bones blue underground/anchor bay disc that while better in terms of picture quality than the vipco disc still was far from what the fans wanted...

Fortunately Arrow have addressed this with what has deservedly been called the definitive edition. 2 discs on dvd the blu-ray features it all on one disc with TWO commentary tracks, Several featurettes/documataries, postcards a poster and booklet from film critic callum waddell that shows arrow realeasing are along with rivals shameless making it worth buying genre films in the uk rather than importing from the states. My blu-ray turned up this morning so I stuck it on immediately, great menu screens, and played the film. WoW! the picture quality is razor sharp and the film has never looked or sounded better, this edition blows away any previous release of the film available, and if your a fuci fan with blu-ray this is a genuine MUST BUY.

Finally blu-ray is getting the release it needs, and arrow have delivered the greatest fulci collectors disc ever in the uk, and in terms of content easily rivals anchor bays Beyond and grindhouses cat in the brain as a must own release... more like this please Arrow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lucio Fulci's Zombie epic, 15 April 2000
By 
J. Morgan (Dalkeith, Midlothian Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
City of the Living Dead available to buy in the UK?, yes but unfortunately it has been hacked to bits by the good people at the BBFC. Missing over 2 minutes 30 seconds of extreme gore, the drilling into the head and the scene with the girl throwing up all her insides are particularly heavily cut or even missing all together. Fortunately I bought an uncut version from your sister company in the USA where the film goes under the title of The Gates of Hell. If you are going to buy this title go for the uncut version. The head being drilled is really gory and for the most part quite realistic. Not as good a film as Fulci's other Zombie epics, it is never the less a fine addition to and gore hounds collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great presentation of a great film., 19 April 2011
This review is from: City of the Living Dead [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
By far and away the best Arrow release. This looks like a DC comic - just as it should. Rich, vibrant colour, grain and just looks wonderfully film like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

City of the Living Dead [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
City of the Living Dead [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Lucio Fulci (Blu-ray - 2010)
£8.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews