Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product but some issues of note..
As an all round backup and security package I have to say this beats a lot of others in the way it combines both concepts neatly and easily. First off, it was certainly easy to install without any problems and provides you with the opportunity to determine your level of input by selecting your experience level, so novices have a much nicer GUI with very obvious options,...
Published on 19 July 2010 by Mrs K. A. R. W.

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Improvements all round.
For means of comparison I will compare against the 2008 version, which is the latest version I had previously owned. Firstly, this is faster. Faster to install, faster to scan (both on the first time and subsequently) and faster to backup. This version is also Windows 7 compatible, the previous was not (or at least not natively, I think there was some work-around...
Published on 14 April 2011 by M. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superbly powerful backup utility, now with the added value of a security suite., 4 Jun 2010
By 
Amazon Customer "Bartleby2009" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Acronis Backup and Security 2010 (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have tried different back-up systems over the years but most of them are, basically, about backing up files and folders, which means if your systems dies or drastically slows down for some inexplicable reason and you may find yourself reinstalling Windows from the original disks, then laboriously reinstalling all your software, settings and finally all your documents, photos, films and music etc from your back-ups.

Acronis is brilliant because, within a few minutes of installing it, you can be making a 'bootable' backup image of your entire system. This means that, if you needed to reinstall Windows for any reason, you can just plug in your external drive, turn your computer on and Acronis will restore your entire system including all your software, settings and files to the same state as when you made the back-up.

For example, if your hard drive crashes then you could replace the drive, then boot off your Acronis back-up disk (e.g. an external hard disk) and Acronis will 'restore' your system onto the drive. As the user, when you turn your computer on again, it's as if you had never had to replace the crashed disk.

I'd suggest running Acronis as early on as possible after buying a new PC, since you will then be creating a back-up of what the system looked like in an ideal state, before the internet, games and other junk starts to clog up the cogs and valves.

The inclusion of a security suite in this latest offering adds value to what is already a truly superb product (not language I would often use to describe software), since third party security is all but essential when using Windows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 28 May 2010
By 
Captain Awesome (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Acronis Backup and Security 2010 (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There are a lot of backup tools out there.
Carbonite, for example is great at what it does - backing up non-OS files you can't afford to lose, off-site. It is a one-trick pony though.

Acronis' product does a lot of things though, mostly pretty well.
The interface isn't quite as intuitive as I'd like, but for the price you get a lot.
On-line backup is included, but that's pretty much a given these days.

What sets this product apart is the sheer number of other things included for the price.
Full local backup of your entire disc image, as well as anti-virus, anti-phishing, spyware detection etc.

One of my favourite features about this software is that if you're playing a game(I play world of warcraft a fair bit) it won't interrupt you by throwing up a request. It sounds like an obvious thing, but plenty of software these days just demands attention. This sits there, does its job and only alerts you if necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best backup software, if you need it!, 17 Jun 2010
By 
DJ Bez (Weston-super-Mare) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Acronis Backup and Security 2010 (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Having tried a few different software packages recently, this is one of the original and I think is still the best.

The 3 PC licence is helpful, and the interface feels far more 'clean' than many of the cheaper products out there. The FTP function is very well implemented, and is one of the fundamental advantages over Windows Backup.

Overall, this is a product I would trust with my data.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Effective Software From A Reliable Name, 1 Jun 2010
By 
Old Timer (Bedfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Acronis Backup and Security 2010 (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This software product is a suite with three main elements, and in this review I will consider each of them separately.

Backup

Acronis True Image is a highly respected backup and restore utility that forms the Backup component of this software. I have used it for many years, and cannot recommend it too highly. It can run in the background while you do other things, and that is much more clever than it sounds, because it will cope with system files while they are opened by the operating system. If you need to restore from backup media, and I have had to do that, the process is straightforward and reliable. It offers other functions, principally disc cloning, whereby you can copy an exact image of your drive to a replacement or spare drive. There is a tip on that feature you should know about. Before cloning, it is best to put the destination drive in the computer, and boot from the original drive as an external. This is known as reverse cloning, and it prevents boot problems that can otherwise arise due to the way some proprietory BIOS's address the boot sector.

* Always validate backups, as available from the Operations menu. If you need to restore, that's no time to discover there was a write error.

* Do not depend on a single drive for backups. Drives can fail, and do fail. In fact, every drive will fail at some point, but they are now cheap enough for that not to be a big problem.

* Do not rely on a single backup, you'll be sunk if it has become corrupt. I make a complete new backup each time, and delete the oldest of three images when I do so.

On-Line Storage

In commercial IT, offsite storage of backup media is standard practice. There is a whole industry concerned with collecting the media - usually tape cartridges - and securely storing it. If there is a fire, flood, or other disaster at the client's site it is then possible to restore data from backup. The home user is highly likely to lose his backups in the same conflagration that destroys his computer, and that is the rationale of on-line backup, it gives you access to a backup that is far from the flames. The standard version of this software only provides 5GB of backup storage, however, increasing to 250GB for the premium version. 5GB is clearly not enough, and while 250GB may suffice for many users, it is a heavy bandwidth hit, especially if backups are as frequent as they should be. Overall, I think on-line storage is a good idea whose time has not yet come.

Internet Security

This is a new departure for Acronis. Everybody wants to sell you security software, and some want to give it to you, so the question to be asked is whether you actually need it. I would suggest that if you have a modern firewalled router with updated firmware, if you are a reasonably experienced computer user, and if you are careful about opening email attachments and downloading software, then probably you don't. All such security software has a peformance impact because it is always running, and it must be constantly updated to be any use at all. On the other hand, if any children have access to your computer you definitely do need such software, and I have no reason to believe the Acronis version is in any way inferior to others of this type. The parental controls will supposedly stop your kids accessing unsavoury sites, and you probably have a duty to try. Will your kids outsmart you and defeat the controls? It could happen.

Conclusion

Acronis is a name to trust, and this is quality software, I have no doubt of that. Every part of this suite works well, and all the interfaces are simple to use. Amazon may not thank me for saying this, but you can download this software from Acronis on a 30-day free trial. If it suits your needs, I expect you'll be straight back here to buy it, but be aware that an annual subscription is required for the security and off-line backup elements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Purchase!, 24 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: Acronis Backup and Security 2010 (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Installed without problem onto PC. A essential requirement and purchase for maintenance of PC. This software helps to resolve issues and maintain a nice healthy clean and efficient running PC. The installation of the software was complicated and took some considerable time to install. Once installed its easy to use and user friendly interface. I have a feeling that this software is very, very good. Essential and recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Use Acronis True Image 2010 standalone instead, 13 July 2010
This review is from: Acronis Backup and Security 2010 (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have been using the award winning Acronis True Image software for many years starting with version 9 on an XP machine.

Had to upgrade to True Image 10 when I bought a laptop running Vista then upgraded to True Image 2010 when I bought a new desktop running Windows 7 (64 bit)

Brilliant software, easy to install and use.

When I was given this version to test and review I was pleased at first, then the problems started.

First problem - I had to uninstall my paid for version of 2010 before this version could be installed

Second problem - unlike True Image standalone, this software nags and nags. I do not like to be told repeatedly that my computer is at risk when I know it is not.

Third problem - It does not like any other anti-virus or anti-spyware software to be installed at the same time, the conflicts slowed my computer down.

Fourth problem - 5 GBytes of online storage but only for one year before having to pay. Not good enough.

After persevering for some time, I uninstalled it, reinstalled my copy of True Image 2010, then my antivirus and anti-spyware software. Result, my normal fast machine with everything I need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ACRONIS 2010, 27 Jun 2010
By 
A. GILL "ag55" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Acronis Backup and Security 2010 (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was using Microsoft's free security essentials program for protection as its more than capable of protecting
you as long your aware of the risks out there. If you know not to visit bad websites, download questionable things,
and not to open any strange .exe files then half the job is done. MSE will easily take care of the rest for you.

For backup i was using Acronis True Image Home. Its great, can integrate with Windows, provide non-stop backups,
recover disks, clone disks, create recovery boot CDs - basically it will make sure all your data is 100% safe.

I was given this Backup and security combo so i'd thought i'd give it a try. The security part is decent. Fairly
simple to use, it includes 5GB of web storage space which is too small really. Paying for more is silly, just use
Dropbox.

The Backup section is identical to True Image Home which is great, as that was very good. As said before its the
easiest backup solution to use compared to Windows and Norton Ghost Backup. Its solid and will save your data.

CONCLUSION - Just buy the standard True Image Home program and use your existing security program
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Acronis Backup and Security 2010 VERY GOOD ., 27 May 2010
This review is from: Acronis Backup and Security 2010 (CD-ROM)
The Acronis Backup and Security 2010 is a good product i have had two products from this company ,and one was a back up program which i found very good indeed ,i back upped my hard drive all hassle free and i didn't even look at the manual .
This product is also very good i find this make a very reliable make and they deliver in my opinion very good software .
This does do what it states and i find it very straight forward and simply to use just a case of following the easy instructions and away you go .so i can say this is a very good product and im sure you'll agree ,well i hope you do just remember the name Acronis and you should be pretty safe bet all will be well .PS Its what you pay for too ,so ive no complaints with this product at all .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Acronis Backup and Security 2010
Acronis Backup and Security 2010 by Acronis Inc. (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
Used & New from: £19.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews