Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More realistic and engaging than a lot of other naval historical fiction
This book was a great read for someone like me who is not an expert on naval history as it was easy to get into and really made me feel I was there. The characters and situations felt realistic and engaging. The descriptions of the ships and the battles were clear and entertaining. The plot was original and thoughtful. I was not only entertained but afterwards felt much...
Published on 11 Oct 2008 by Sadhana

versus
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but not Alexander Kent
Not a bad read and quite enjoyable, but I did not feel the excitement that you get when reading an Alexander Kent novel. If the Author follows this up with a sequel maybe the charectors will become a little more expanded.
Published on 1 Nov 2008 by M. Gray


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More realistic and engaging than a lot of other naval historical fiction, 11 Oct 2008
This review is from: The Jackass Frigate (Paperback)
This book was a great read for someone like me who is not an expert on naval history as it was easy to get into and really made me feel I was there. The characters and situations felt realistic and engaging. The descriptions of the ships and the battles were clear and entertaining. The plot was original and thoughtful. I was not only entertained but afterwards felt much better informed about an important time in Britain's naval past. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Jackass Frigate: Excellent start for a new naval fiction series, 26 Sep 2008
By 
Astrodene (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Jackass Frigate (Paperback)
An excellent novel which deserves to be better known. Has a lot of well developed characters which gives good insight at all levels of the ships company and contains probably the best description of the Battle of Cape St. Vincent I've read in a fiction novel. Also seems to be a well developed back story for the characters as you get hints of their past on the 'Proteus' which leaves you wanting to know more. If you haven't read it, I recommend it and I'm looking forward to the sequel. The Jackass Frigate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this story it is different!, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackass Frigate (Fighting Sail Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This book is rather different in that there is NO single hero (progressing from Cabin boy to Admiral).
Well researched it is the story of members of the ship's crew and personages of the day. The author keeps the reader interested and carries one with him throughout the tale. It is significantly different from other stories of its ilk - though it shows the harshness of those days not a single seaman is flogged and the story rather promotes the spirit and cooperation necessary to make a successful fighting ship in those days. A super read with plenty of action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackass Frigate (Fighting Sail Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent start to what looks like a really entertaining series. Rather than build a plot around a central character Bond has developed excellent storylines around a ships company with great success. Should appeal to all fans of Jack Aubrey and Thomas Kydd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jackass frigate, 23 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackass Frigate (Fighting Sail Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
The whole of the Fighting Sail series are very good,quite factual,always keeping the reader interested,unable to put this book down.A few of the main characters are carried through each book with King being one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 16 April 2010
By 
G. M. Moore (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Jackass Frigate (Paperback)
I loved this book. It was ideal escapism, fresh and fast paced. The way it incorporated real hero's and historical events around an intricate and twisiting story was refreshing. I am not normally a nautical fan but this book has converted me. The only problem was it came to an end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Navy action.., 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackass Frigate (Fighting Sail Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic twists and turns, really enjoyable , got right under the skin of sea-going daring do...
Continuing saga of various individuals ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great insight into the life on board a frigate, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackass Frigate (Fighting Sail Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
A good follow up to the first book in the fighting sail series.

It was good to see some of the interesting characters from the first book reappearing. It was good to see how the battle of the "Glorious first of June" from a frigates viewpoint.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars n intersting newcomer, 18 Feb 2010
By 
TJ "Tone" (Wexford Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Jackass Frigate (Paperback)
What initially drew me to this book was the strange title and the unusual binding. The book itself lives up to the slightly unusual story line. The author is not reluctant to kill off major characters early in the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 16 April 2010
By 
A. Askaroff (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Jackass Frigate (Paperback)
Fast and furious just what I like. I rushed through the book and could almost smell the sea breeze.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews