Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alaric Bond grips readers with his detailed knowledge of the Georgian navy
In his new novel His Majesty's Ship Alaric Bond once again grips readers with his detailed knowledge of the Georgian navy. In this prequel to The Jackass Frigate the earlier careers of crew members we have become familiar with are developed. From gundeck to quarterdeck, from powder monkey to Captain, we follow all divisions of the crew of HMS Vigilant, a 64 gun...
Published on 16 May 2009 by Astrodene

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars there obviously wasn't the necessary proofreading - my second favourite howler is referring to Revolutionary France as being
This is a fair story, but the editing stinks - literally. "Reeked havoc"? Apart from the past tense of the verb being "wrought", there obviously wasn't the necessary proofreading - my second favourite howler is referring to Revolutionary France as being, effectively, under "marshal law"!

There are far too many more, and that distracts...
Published 3 months ago by Stephen Wortley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alaric Bond grips readers with his detailed knowledge of the Georgian navy, 16 May 2009
By 
Astrodene (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
In his new novel His Majesty's Ship Alaric Bond once again grips readers with his detailed knowledge of the Georgian navy. In this prequel to The Jackass Frigate the earlier careers of crew members we have become familiar with are developed. From gundeck to quarterdeck, from powder monkey to Captain, we follow all divisions of the crew of HMS Vigilant, a 64 gun ship-of-the-line, as she is got ready for sea and then escorts a convoy. Ending in a climactic battle, the book, first in the 'Fighting Sail' series, fulfils the authors promise to "give an insight into the world of the seamen and naval officers who fought during the Revolutionary war" and will delight all readers of historic naval fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Short Story, 8 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. Owen Dunsire (Athenry, Galway, Eire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have found that books by this publisher tend to short stories rather a full length novel, the print is large and well spaced and you get the odd end of chapter blank page. That said, this book was rather unique to me in that it deals with only one event and does not waste time getting there. Insight is given into the characters involved without becoming bogged down in thoughts and dreams etc,. You meet the people and the ship and off we go ! Some of the detail can be a little over powering if you know nothing of the sea and sailing ships but it is highly readable and moves along at a crisp pace with a few surprises towards the end. I am deliberately not saying much about the actual story as it is, as I said, only about one event and do not want to give the storyline away.
I look forward to the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His majesty's Ship, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Majestys Ship (The Fighting Sail Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I have read four of this series. They are all linked which i like. The content is good and the descriptions of ships and events clear and detailed enough to keep the story flowing. All books in this genre follow a similat theme, but I liked Alaric Bond's handling very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History brought to life., 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Majestys Ship (The Fighting Sail Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The author really knows his subject , and puts you the reader right in the seat of the action , with the why and the how of a ship of sail in fighting action , bringing this time of history into vibrant life . He made me feel like I had travelled back through time and was actually there seeing for myself .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Majestys Ship (The Fighting Sail Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The research and details are fantastic whilst not getting in the way of a good story line. I know it’s a jaundiced to say it (and others already have) but I will anyway - you really do feel part of the ships company sharing their adventures – I’m on the 4th one at the moment having read them back to back (the books not me)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REVIEW, 17 Mar 2013
By 
Mrs. B. M. Bales "music addict" (Norfolk England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Majestys Ship (The Fighting Sail Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
EXCELLENT Very interesting read well illustrated True to the times in which it is set. Will read more of this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sailing stories that grip., 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Majestys Ship (The Fighting Sail Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I am new to Alaric Bond, and am pleased at the plot complexity and detail in the lives of the characters.
The series is now a must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slow,steady build up to fantastic action,felt I was really there amongst it!, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Majestys Ship (The Fighting Sail Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
First time I have read this author and it took a little time to get used to the style.Once into it I was thoroughly gripped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written rounded story, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Majestys Ship (The Fighting Sail Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
His majesty's ship is a well researched and enjoyable take on the Napoleonic naval story. Well worth a read. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A 'mist' for all who enjoy this genre!, 15 Aug 2014
This review is from: His Majestys Ship (The Fighting Sail Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Who

His Majesty’s Ship. Commenced for the second time 050814
Had no idea that I had read this before! Very good all the same.
What a Marvellous book and educational too!The daily lives of
Tall shouts sailors brilliantly illustrated. A must for every fan
this genre. What a book! 78% it is superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews