Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read.
This is book one in the Being Human series and it doesn't disappoint.
It has the same tone as the brilliant series and so doesn't seem completely unattached as some t.v books can. It mentions many of the events from series one and two which were very good additions.
The main storyline is engaging and gripping. The only reason it does not gain 5 stars from me is...
Published on 17 May 2010 by Lydia Clare

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not bad, but...
This book arrived promptly, the delivery was no hassle at all.
It was used, so I expected some frayed pages and things, but there were a couple very Very folded back on themselves, which was a shame, but not really surprising in a small, second hand paperback novel.

On the book itself, it is very well written, but the plot gets very convoluted at points...
Published on 4 Mar. 2013 by Robin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read., 17 May 2010
By 
Lydia Clare (Winsford England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Being Human: The Road (Paperback)
This is book one in the Being Human series and it doesn't disappoint.
It has the same tone as the brilliant series and so doesn't seem completely unattached as some t.v books can. It mentions many of the events from series one and two which were very good additions.
The main storyline is engaging and gripping. The only reason it does not gain 5 stars from me is because it's conclusion did feel a little rushed but overall a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good start, 28 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Being Human: The Road (Paperback)
This is Book 1 of the first three-book bunch, "Chasers" being Book 2, and "Bad Blood" being Book 3. I haven't finished it yet, but the only other review about these books says "Bad Blood" is the first one, which is not the case, and I thought I set that right before other people read them in the wrong order. Additionally, it must be said that it is set after Episode 2 of Season 2, if not later (I haven't seen further than Episode 2, for now). For the book itself, I can say that the characters are spot-on, and overall it gets the tone quite right. You really can imagine what's happening as if it was shown on your TV screen, and you get a bit more insight into these characters, which is all you could ask for in a TV-tie-in novel. And, BTW, it's creepy, too. :-) I'll get back to you when I've finished it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Same old characters - different stories, 27 Mar. 2011
By 
This review is from: Being Human: The Road (Paperback)
If I'm honest when I came looking for Being Human books I was looking for something based on the series', as a massive fan I was a bit sceptical when I read that they were spin-off books. I have never been into the whole super-natural thing so worried a bit that these might be more 'Twilight-esque' than the general day to day of Being Human. I am pleased to say I was wrong!!

There are three books in the series The Road, Chasers and Bad Blood (in that order) which are based within the second series of the show and definately stay true to it but managing to differ the story without going to far off the mark.

The Road starts off with the same kind of introduction tot he show just a general caqtch up of who and what the main characters are so would be easy for a non-watcher to just pick these up and read, then the plot line begins quite early on so you get time to get into and visualise the new character which makes it easy to read. The story cantres around Annie (mainly) as she tries to make sense of and help a lost ghost who has just appeared in their home with no reason or idea why she could be there. Throughout the book there are hints and clues to keep you guessing but in the end the story ties up nicely witht the ending tying in directly withe beginning fo the second book.

At times it does seem like it is leaning towards the teen genre but it quickly comes back and is generally a tale for anyone over the age of 14, it is easy to read and has everything sadness, thrill, angst and a few twists and turns without straying from the TV show too much.

I really like the fact that th characters are so well written with the actors as we know them in mind, there are parts where it describes movements like Annie being nervous and playing with her neck which is a trait we can picture from the show itself.

Overall a great read and definately a must for fans of the show and new comers alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm only human...Or am I?, 27 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Being Human: The Road (Paperback)
In the mould of Sci-fi/Fantasy shows such as Doctor Who and Torchwood (Being Human creator Toby Whithouse cut his teeth writing for both of the above) Being Human is an engaging and imaginative TV series that is very much of the moment.
This is the first TV Tie-in novel for the series and is a competently written and atmospheric slice of fiction that echoes the TV series and could indeed be an episode - although the show's trademark gore and darkness is largely absent here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read, 19 April 2010
By 
E. Garrett (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Being Human: The Road (Paperback)
Good story and told in the same way as the TV series. 3 books available, all by different authors but telling a good tale nonetheless. Have read and enjoyed all 3 books and am just waiting for more to be published!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Being Human: The Road (Kindle Edition)
Haven't ever watched Being Human, which is part of the reason I picked up this book. Simon's writing is distinctive yet elegant, and the characters leap off the page brilliantly. I'll definitely be reading more of his books and seeking out films he's scripted.

The book is a companion to series 1-3, something I found out to my horror when I opened a series 4 episode and... Well, I'll refrain from spoilers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still Being Human..., 24 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Being Human: The Road (Kindle Edition)
Pretty good story, and accurate characterisations of the principal cast. I was initially a bit thrown as to the absence of Nina until I figured at which point in series 2 this takes place, but all in all a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 15 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Being Human: The Road (Paperback)
i loved the show, so just had to try the books! a great little read, and very in keeping with the show. would recomend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 23 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Being Human: The Road (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this story very good if you have watch the tv series or as a stand alone.
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not bad, but..., 4 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Being Human: The Road (Paperback)
This book arrived promptly, the delivery was no hassle at all.
It was used, so I expected some frayed pages and things, but there were a couple very Very folded back on themselves, which was a shame, but not really surprising in a small, second hand paperback novel.

On the book itself, it is very well written, but the plot gets very convoluted at points and you're left trying to piece together what's happened in a way you wouldn't expect from this sort of book.
Also, if you're looking for an extension of the TV series, this really isn't it. The three characters are there, and believable, but this book lacks the fast witty humour that made me love the show so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Being Human: The Road
Being Human: The Road by Simon Guerrier
£3.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews