Customer Reviews


462 Reviews
5 star:
 (234)
4 star:
 (108)
3 star:
 (57)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


343 of 362 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jo Nesbo - Yet Another World Class Thriller
You'd be forgiven for thinking that 'snowman' was a slang term for a cocaine dealer - but you'd be wrong. In this, the fifth Jo Nesbo to be translated into English, there's a particularly nasty, hyper-intelligent serial killer of that name; a man with serious psychological issues rooted in a past event. Nesbo's marvellous creation - detective Harry Hole - initially...
Published on 22 Mar 2010 by G. J. Oxley

versus
31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chilling - in every sense of the word
The Snowman tells the story of Harry Hole as he becomes embroiled in a sinister serial killer case. Norway is not known for its serial killers, and Hole has a lot to prove to the rest of the police department to ensure that they believe they are dealing with multiple murders. Assisted by mysterious new detective Katrine, Hole can feel the tension ramping up as he tries to...
Published on 12 Nov 2010 by A. L. Rutter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars better than Stig, 11 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Snowman: A Harry Hole thriller (Oslo Sequence 5) (Kindle Edition)
Its difficult not to make comparisons with Stieg Larsson, but this is better- more action in the story, less irrelevant meanderings and no irritating product placements. Funny lot the Scandinavians though - a rather depressed view of life but enlivened by a healthy interest in kinky sex.(chicken or egg?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 29 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Snowman: A Harry Hole thriller (Oslo Sequence 5) (Kindle Edition)
great book---superb characters and great plot kept me reading and finished in 2 days.nesbo keeps you wondering till the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull and badly translated!!, 30 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. C. P. Maxwell "Maxwell" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Got this book as ive read a few similar ones but was disappointed by the translation,i think in its first language it would probably read a lot better. There is way too many characters with unpronounceable names and you tend to get bogged down with it and cant enjoy the story,maybe its just me being lazy but i couldnt get into it and found it too slow and it feels a little depressing at times! Dont take my word for it though,have a read and let me know what you thought!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars overated, under delivered, 20 May 2011
Overall I thought the book was distinctly average. There were some real strong parts to the story and other parts of the story were confusing and seemed out of place in the book. I didn't find this a nail biting or page turning read, the twists and turns in the plot were aplenty but many of them I felt were confusing or irrelevant and found the latter part of the book extremely disappointing. However, the quality of writing was very good in general and I will certainly try other books from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowman: A Harry Hole thriller (Oslo Sequence 5) (Kindle Edition)
He can do no wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 July 2014
No further comment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowman: A Harry Hole thriller (Oslo Sequence 5) (Kindle Edition)
Highly Recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snowman: A Harry Hole thriller (Oslo Sequence 5) (Kindle Edition)
Great story line
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Failed to live up to expectations......, 4 April 2011
After many people will be reeling after Larsson's Millenium Trilogy, and wanting more, their attention is turned to Jo Nesbo - "the next Stieg Larsson" - how very wrong this statement is.

This is my first book by Nesbo and I think it will be my last. I was thoroughly unimpressed with the writing style, a poor-man's Larsson, it lacked the depth and quality that the Millenium trilogy had, and also the intricate details which made the plot and also gripped the reader from the start. I was bored and confused by page 50, and completely failed to become enthralled by the plot.

I think this is ok for a quick trash-fiction read on a journey, but ineveitably as it will be compared to Larsson, it lacks the depth or quality to the characters/plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 2 Sep 2010
Having just read the three Stieg Larsson novels and thought they were magnificent, i have been bombarded by billboards proclaiming 'the next Stieg' all over London.
What a load of rubbish.
This was a straight forward dectective novel, with, ooh, a policeman with a drink problem and a difficult relationship with a woman. How totally unoriginal.
The narrative is disjointed and unconvincing, the prose at the beginning overdone which then tails off after a few chapters. You don't care for the characters as none other than Hole have any depth.
The reason for the killing has to be outlined as the author couldn't integrate it into the book earlier, possibly as he didn't want to ruin the twists which are nonsensical.

All in all poor, I only finished it as I did want to know what happened, which is why it gets 2 stars, not none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews