Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bad movie gets luxury treatment
This is a favourite of mine from the 70's and the first AA picture ( 15 now) I saw when I was actually 13.
Scared me witless at the time, but now I can appreciate it for the badly acted, poorly scripted B movie mess that it is.

HD sure does give movies a new lease of life, and this looks stunning even for a cheap exploitation film of the 70's. Great colour...
Published 7 months ago by filmboychris

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Smelting!
The Incredible Melting Man is written and directed by William Sachs. It stars Alex Rebar, Burr DeBenning and Myron Healey. Music is by Arlon Ober and cinematography by Willy Curtis.

Astronaut Steve West's body begins to melt after he was exposed to radiation during a space flight to Saturn.

Escaping from the hospital, West trawls the land in search...
Published 5 months ago by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Smelting!, 22 Oct 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The Incredible Melting Man is written and directed by William Sachs. It stars Alex Rebar, Burr DeBenning and Myron Healey. Music is by Arlon Ober and cinematography by Willy Curtis.

Astronaut Steve West's body begins to melt after he was exposed to radiation during a space flight to Saturn.

Escaping from the hospital, West trawls the land in search of human victims to eat in the desperate hope of staving off the melting of his body.

It's as bad as you most likely have heard it is, and Rick Baker's makeup work is as good as you have heard it is! Intended as a horror parody but switched to being a "supposed" horror with some cuts and swipes requested by the studio, it's pretty evident upon viewing the film that was clearly the case. Tale doesn't add up to much more than the melting man of the title walking from one scene to another dripping in goo whilst meeting up with a host of bad actors. He's pursued by a pal who wants to help him, while it all builds to some fireworks at a power plant where the "big" battle unfolds.

You can't really do much with the story, after just 8 minutes of film he starts melting and once his bodily parts start falling off you just know he is beyond help. The tragic creature vibe is strong enough to hold interest, if you can stop yourself from laughing at everything else that surrounds him (it) during its Quatermass Experiment journey. The power plant scenes are nicely photographed, the final demise of the creature is bleakly sad and Baker really comes through with the only bit of quality in the piece. It's messy in more ways than one! But fun to be had if in a very forgiving mood. 4/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A trip down memory lane you need not take., 31 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I was a young(er) lad than I am now, back in the late 70's, I spent one particular day full of excitement, as we had planned to go to the cinema to see "THE SAVAGE BEES", which, for reasons relating to my age and perhaps not knowing any better, I was quite excited about. Imagine my despair and anguish then, when we reached the cinema, a half hour train journey away, only for me to be turned away. It turned out that although the certification for "The Savage Bees" was PG, the accompanying feature (this being in the 70's and in the days of double features), "The Incredible Melting Man", was not and I could not get in to see either of the movies as a result. I spent a train journey home with my mum, rubbing some `dust from my eye' vowing that one day I would see this film.
Well, thanks to this bluray release, that time has come, and I finally saw what I had been missing all these years... one of the most awfully acted and directed movies of a time when cheap and nasty movies were abundant. It has two qualities which redeem it slightly - it falls into the `so-bad-its-good' category, in a "Plan 9 From Outer Space [Blu-ray] [1959] [US Import]" kind of way, making it quite chuckle worthy if you are in that frame of mind - and one can only imagine that you know what you are getting into, when you buy an ultra low budget 70's movie called "The Incredible Melting Man". The second is Rick Baker's make up, which surely must have inspired the make up for Pizza The Hut in Mel Brooks "Spaceballs: 25th Anniversary Edition [Blu-ray] [1987] [US Import]". It's gloriously gloopy and daft, must have been awful for the actor, but actually is just a little disturbing, when you see eyeballs popping out of sockets etc. However the tension which the movie seems to spend much time trying to build prior to each killing as the melting man tries to replenish his human cells (yes, really..) is undone by the hammy cries as the pursuer finds some gloop on a tree and declares "My God, it's his ear.."
The accompanying interviews seem to indicate that the director had more genuine comedy or pastiche in mind, but whether that is true or not, the result is a mess. Pardon the pun. It looks cheap, has hammy acting, was shot on cheapest locations, has almost zero plot.. and although I'd have to say it is in some ways quite unique, I just can't find it in me to give this more than one star, despite Rick Bakers wonderful makeup.
(2/10)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The Incredible Melting Talent., 8 April 2014
This review is from: The Incredible Melting Man [DVD] (DVD)
Let's be honest, there are far worse movies out there than The Incredible Melting Man. But boy, not many.
This isn't all bad, a little hammy filled with unintential comedy moments. But two things will strike you when you watch the movie. (1) the acting is dire, (2) everything right down to the DVD case feels cheap.

Let's rewind a little and talk about the acting. Alex Rebar in the tiny role he has as a human is god awful, there are no two questions about it. His famous one line about not seeing anything until you see the sun through the rings of Saturn feels not only forced but also that he took 900 takes to get it right, and still failed. Though Rebar should be credited in his make up, he gets the look and posture right and looks like something out of a classic Universal or Hammer horror pic. Burr De Benning- such a great name plays the doctor and our would be hero. Very flat performance, but that's nothing compared to his wife played by Judy Nelson. Absolutely horrific! Even Troll 2 would have turned her down- she hasn't worked in the industry for 30 years since.
Acting vet Mylan Healey plays it more for laughs- as it should be, he plays a general who seems more interested in where the next beer and chicken leg is coming from, and bless him he gets it before meeting Mr Melt.

The two redeeming qualities here are the strangely powerful social commentary at the films climax about space travel and the dangers that lie ahead, and the gross out effect of Rebar finally melting. Kudos to Rick Baker for that.

So two stars here- but don't let that put you off, if you like low budget trash, with literally no gore, and a few unintentional laughs, it's worth picking the movie up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sticky fingers indeed!, 4 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. J. G. Thomas "Jash" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Incredible Melting Man [DVD] (DVD)
Following Universal's triumphant release of Jaws in the summer of `75, it became virtually impossible to break free from the clutches of the rival studio's relentless output of blood-lusting, man-eating monsters. Fox deservedly struck gold with Alien, Roger Corman affectionately sank his teeth into a side of ham with the never less than entertaining Piranha, and TV stations around the world shivered their younger viewers' timbers with Snowbeast.

In the midst of all of this flesh-tearing silver screen carnage, bottom feeder schlock jockey William Sachs brought us his rather unique take on this ever expanding genre, featuring a creature guaranteed to bring his victims to a sticky end.

Astronaut Steve West is the sole survivor of a disaster in space. Rushed to hospital with severe radiation burns, he finds his flesh beginning to melt because of a strange extra-terrestrial contamination. When he escapes from his doctor's care, he sets in motion a bizarre series of cannibalistic killings in order to stem his own deterioration.

To pigeon hole this film as shallow would be an understatement. However, to dismiss it as a waste of time would be unfair. THE INCREDIBLE MELTING MAN does offer an evening of mindless fun for those willing to surrender themselves to its paranoiac 1950's sci-fi storytelling style. The entire cast delivers its lines with the same sense of stilted cadence and overbearing sincerity that made that generation's movies such a camp delight, and it works here, as long as you arm yourself with a hefty sense of play-along humour. In addition, Rick Baker's pre-Thriller prosthetics lend the production a technical value far in excess of its overall calibre...this movie must have proved quite a calling card for that gifted young fellow in the years before his American Werewolf triumph at the 1983 Oscars. Credit should also be given to the movie's cinematographer, Willy Curtis, who manages to bridge the less interesting scenes with a number of rather eye catching sunsets that almost contradict the artlessness of the movie's main body.

With Hollywood currently remaking its entire 70's back catalogue, it would be interesting to observe how Tinseltown would go about putting a new spin on this old timer. With a decent screenplay, and a whole lot more emotional content, they could conceivably lead our sticky fiend into the 21st century with his gloopy sights set on the horror A-list. Saying that, with all of the discarded eyes and ears on show here, one could argue that T.I.M.M. has already paved the way for David Cronenberg's rather similar stage by stage dismantling of Jeff Goldblum in his perfectly crafted remake of The Fly. Perhaps the powers that be should simply relegate this one to the B-movie archive after all, and consider that fact triumph enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "I'm not scared, just ashamed", 17 July 2004
It's a low budget affair as you would expect and starts with stock footage of spaceships floating around.
It relies on spurious 'scientific' reasoning (radiation from looking at the Sun through the rings of Saturn) to explain the astronaut Steve West's affliction. The plot then cuts straight to his hospital bed.
Similar to 'The Quatermass Experiment' in many ways, the 'creature' , (Steve) displays very little signs of humanity and is totally anonymous.
The film seems more about the guy trying to catch him - Dr Ted Nelson and his pregnant wife. The film revolves around their relationship and the threat Steve poses to their happiness.

The acting is a little better than most films of this calibre and the camerawork & effects are professional enough (lots of sunsets and silhouettes).
In fact the effects are the cornerstone of the movie: visceral and slimy.
It's very slow in places and but then livens up for an attack. They went for a lot of suspense in the build-up and it just grates on the nerves after a bit.
There are incongruous comedy scenes (supposedly to relieve the tension but they don't work and just serve to aggravate the viewer more).
It's a lot about threat: threat of radiation and 'contagion' from his dripping limbs, physical threat to kids and a pregnant woman, but thankfully they didn't stoop that low. Just an array of innocent bystanders and cops.
"I'm not scared, just ashamed" the doctor says at one point. I echo his sentiments
They left the last bit to best. It's quite effective, ironic and very depressing.
There are no happy endings here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I'm Melting, I'm Melting..., 20 Aug 2003
By A Customer
As with most b-movies this film revolves around the creature described in the title. It feels a little obvious and even churlish then to criticise the ludicrous plot, terrible acting, atrocious script and overall bad filming... so I wont.
For these are insignificant factors that simply allow the 'melting man' to limp from one horrific flesh gorging to the next. The special effects were created by Rick Baker, who also gave us the transformation sequence in 'American Werewolf in London' and are of course the only reason for watching the film. The melting scenes are great, the actuality of someone in a mask covered in goo is still far more convincing and unpleasant than any computer generated creation, and, although he never seems to get any worse (or thinner!) the amount of oozing and dripping leaves the viewer in no doubt that this is a creature in a state of constant physical flux.
When you get to the final melting sequence you may wish you had simply skipped to it in the first place and saved yourself some time. There is no tension, you do not care in the least for any of the characters and in no way could it be referred to as 'scary', but again this isn't really of any consequence. Its bad, its really bad, reading the title will tell you that much, so if you want a thrilling, disturbing and intelligent horror movie then watch 'The Shining' or something, if you want a truly bizarre and revolting gore fest interspersed with a hilariously appalling film then you should enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bad movie gets luxury treatment, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a favourite of mine from the 70's and the first AA picture ( 15 now) I saw when I was actually 13.
Scared me witless at the time, but now I can appreciate it for the badly acted, poorly scripted B movie mess that it is.

HD sure does give movies a new lease of life, and this looks stunning even for a cheap exploitation film of the 70's. Great colour and really vibrant detail that leaps off the screen, and really catches your eye.
I'll forgive the terrible music and awful fashions, and enjoy this for what it is, a fun slice of monster mayhem, with some truly revolting ahead of their time makeup effects that do convince you this guy is slowly melting away.

This is region A blu-ray so in the UK you will need a multi-region player to see it. Vital if you love this kind of film, as they won't be putting this sort of thing out in region B for a long time, if ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Setting the record straight!, 12 July 2011
By 
P. Collison (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Other 5/5 reviewers have already explained how good this film is.
I just wanted to say that I watched this film recently, having first watched it as a 10 year old in 1981, and it still stands up today as a grim, very scary film.
The effects are outstanding , miraculous for it's time really, and there are some very scary moments in the film.
If you watch this late at night and with an open mind I guarantee you'll find it disturbing.
Everyone is entitled to their opinion, but I can't believe how people have trashed this film's reputation.
I've seen every horror film imaginable and this is a great one.
Of course, there's silly bits in it and 'bad' acting but every horror has daft bits - just look at 'Texas Chainsaw' , 'The Shining' , 'Hills Have Eyes' et.al.and then try and tell me they have better acting and effects (as brilliant as they undoubtedly are).
There's a snobbery about 'Melting Man' and it's cool to take the mickey out of it but it's as good as any horror ever made in my opinion.
Watch without prejudice!Please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars melting brilliance...., 12 Jun 2010
By 
S. S. Rowsell "bloodhound" (sydney australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Incredible Melting Man [DVD] (DVD)
It has to be said - it is about time this title and other Films of its time (like Humanoids from the Deep) have been picked up by DVD distributers and released. Ok these types of exploitation shock horror films may have aged badly by todays filmmaking standards - but for those of us who saw these Films like Incredible Melting Man in their day - they were the most full on serious FX films of the time. The SPFX industry progressed massively through these types of off the wall titles, like Toxic Avenger and Street Trash. These science gone wrong Films are and always will be an inspiration to all those who enjoy those mad scientists, incompetent military officials, and the results of man playing with God's handiwork... the results... flesh melting off the bones, dripping onto the ground and bubbling and hissing! .... One of Rick Baker's first serious FX films showing his skills with no budget, it must be seen to be believed; even most 'expensive rubbish CGI FX' Films today are left wayyyyy behind in its gooey tracks! Incredible Melting Man will always remain an enjoyable latenight Film where the MAIN character is MELTING before your very eyes and is a completely crazed mutoid ... brilliant! Any melting FX done in the years after this title were much inspired... it deserves its place in SPFX history.... a must have to all horror FX archives....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm Melting, Melting!, 21 Mar 2003
By 
An entertaining movie in the ilk of 50's Sci-Fi, graphically illustrating the pitfalls of space exploration. Here Alex Rebar returns to earth, the sole survivor of a shuttle mishap. Over the next eight-five or so minutes, he gradually decomposes into a miasma of radioactive waste. In addition to his affliction, he has somehow developed a voracious appetite for human flesh, which he quenches at every opportunity.
Good cast (Burr deBenning, Myron Healey) and some outrageous make-up effects offer some entertainment value for the brave, whilst others are bound to be offended by the gratuitous, often nauseating dismemberments that are frequent throughout the film. I saw this movie about 12 years ago, and my impression was that despite the premise, this was a "one of a kind" movie, worthy of the horror film afficionado's home collection. I think it's worth seeing, not only for the make-up effects, but also for a healthy dose of tongue in cheek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7b2133c)

This product

The Incredible Melting Man [DVD]
The Incredible Melting Man [DVD] by William Sachs (DVD - 2010)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews