Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars St Kilda ........ amazing
What a great place. I just loved all the information, the way it was told and of course the commentators. Stories abound about island life as it was then. Tough and unforgiving. Islands at the western corner of the British Isles, now a world heritage site. The scenery is wild and rugged and wildlife abounds. I would like to know what happened to the folks once evacuated...
Published on 14 April 2011 by fairyface

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite interesting
An interesting look at St Kilda, an island many British people don't know exists. In this DVD, Steve Backshall, Dan Snow and Kate Humble go out to the island and camp out, alone apart from the film crew, National Trust Warden and MOD staff. They look at the natural history in the shape of the bird life, puffins, gannets, Shearwaters and skuas, and the St Kilda field...
Published on 13 Oct 2011 by Keith Douglas


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite interesting, 13 Oct 2011
By 
Keith Douglas (Wales,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Lost World - Story Of St Kilda [DVD] (DVD)
An interesting look at St Kilda, an island many British people don't know exists. In this DVD, Steve Backshall, Dan Snow and Kate Humble go out to the island and camp out, alone apart from the film crew, National Trust Warden and MOD staff. They look at the natural history in the shape of the bird life, puffins, gannets, Shearwaters and skuas, and the St Kilda field mouse. As usual Steve Backshall wastes no time getting his shirt off at every opportunity, climbs a lot and goes swimming. Dan Snow looks at the very interesting history of the island, from vikings right up to the second world war, and resists taking off his shirt. Kate Humble plays her head girl role, marshalling the 'boys', she goes diving in quite rough seas, and enthuses about puffins and other seabirds. She keeps her shirt on at all times, sadly.
My main quibble with this DVD is that it is broken down into 5 episodes, all of around 23 minutes each. This means you have to endure the opening titles and closing titles 5 times,and constant reminders of what the presenters are doing there and what went on in the last episode you just watched etc. It is billed at being 115 minutes long, but remove titles and repeats of what went on ten minutes before and you can knock off about 20 minutes.
I am sure the programmes were in 3 episodes when shown on TV. Surely it would have been easy to edit this into one long programme.
That said, an interesting programme with engaging presenters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars St Kilda undercooked, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Lost World - Story Of St Kilda [DVD] (DVD)
Had looked forward to watching this dvd but overall found it rather disappointing and dare I say it amateurish. The three presenters did not work as a team and all three seemed equally hell bent on hogging the limelight to detriment of the finished product. Kate Humble much better working solo than as part of any team.They kept going on about the fact that the St KIldans decided to leave the island in 1930 but then failed to give any proper explanation/conclusion as to why the evacuation happened. And what was the point about wasting screen time on the two male presenters racing up a hill. Suspect the producer had thrown in the towel by then. A few years ago Bill Oddie did a programme on the wildlife on St. Kilda which was much more professional and informative.

Just about worth 3 stars because of the stunning scenery but programme definitely did not not do it justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why do they have to turn everything into a gameshow?, 9 Aug 2012
By 
Lj Forsyth - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Britain's Lost World - Story Of St Kilda [DVD] (DVD)
Why did they travel out on a rib instead of the regular boats? Why did they stay in tents when they could have stayed in one of the renovated cottages or with the contractors? Why do they pretend - we only have 10 days to discover the mysteries - when there has been a huge amount written about the archipelago? Why didn't the guy with the thighs stay in the cave bothy on Borerary where the islanders stayed? Why did the GWTT swim to Borerary instead of jumping onto the shelf where the islanders (who couldn't swim) jumped?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Britain's Lost World - Story of St. Kilda, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Lost World - Story Of St Kilda [DVD] (DVD)
This item arrived in good packaging, on time. I was disappointed with the content, as the full story was not given (fortunately, I had read a detailed book about it - which didn't have coloured images). I find Kate Humble very irritating - but overlooked this in the hope that the scenery & information would be good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars St Kilda ........ amazing, 14 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Lost World - Story Of St Kilda [DVD] (DVD)
What a great place. I just loved all the information, the way it was told and of course the commentators. Stories abound about island life as it was then. Tough and unforgiving. Islands at the western corner of the British Isles, now a world heritage site. The scenery is wild and rugged and wildlife abounds. I would like to know what happened to the folks once evacuated. What did they do and where did they go. The more I learn the more I want to go, but what about the prisoner of St kilda? It happened
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenomenal dvd!, 4 April 2013
By 
Frederiek "This picture was taken in the Zuid... (Nieuwerkerk aan den IJssel, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Lost World - Story Of St Kilda [DVD] (DVD)
I loved the dvd, and gave it five stars. I loved the shots of the beautiful scenery, the birdlife and rocky cliffs. What I missed were subtitles in English, especially when it came down to the names of various birds, like the gannet. But upon the whole it was not too difficult to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Film on St. Kilda, 7 Feb 2014
By 
Heike Heering - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Lost World - Story Of St Kilda [DVD] (DVD)
Having come to appreciate St. Kilda through Colin Baxter's eyes, it was very interesting to have a closer and realistic look into the island's past and presence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Britain's Lost World, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Lost World - Story Of St Kilda [DVD] (DVD)
Great short TV series that was filmed in a wonderful part of the UK. Bought as a gift, had to return as the DVD box was badly damaged and the replacement would not have arrived in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lost land of Britain, 9 April 2013
This review is from: Britain's Lost World - Story Of St Kilda [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen this on the tv I wanted to have it to keep. The whole family have enjoyed it, and we have watched it several times. A nice Sunday afternoon viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice to have...could have been a lot better, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Lost World - Story Of St Kilda [DVD] (DVD)
service was excellent and price great. the tv show is only average. the guests in the show have done little research- there is surprisingly little discussion on the lifestyle and history of the people who lived there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Britain's Lost World - Story Of St Kilda [DVD]
£7.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews