Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly great film.
Quite simply this is the best documentary I have ever seen. Mike Campbell and Ben Freeth are a real inspiration. The film is incredibly emotional, the cinematography superb and the film score really adds to the tension of the film.
Published on 22 April 2010 by A. Fox

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Civilization and the law
There are of course many ways to look at the same thing, and the case is put forward that the whites were brutal to black Africans for a long time and of course that's true. However,I just don't see how stealing land from people who have paid for it under the law and who are gainfully employing black Africans redresses this in the least, especially when the land is going...
Published 18 months ago by Carmen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly great film., 22 April 2010
By 
A. Fox (Lymington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mugabe And The White African [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Quite simply this is the best documentary I have ever seen. Mike Campbell and Ben Freeth are a real inspiration. The film is incredibly emotional, the cinematography superb and the film score really adds to the tension of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a very important film, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mugabe And The White African [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Mugabe and The White African is a "must see" film to know what has been going on in that country. The bravery and Christian conviction of the two families featured in the film is inspirational. Mike Campbell never really recovered from the injuries sustained during the time of the filming and subsequently died in April 2011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mugabe and the White African, 1 May 2010
By 
Mrs. V. M. Puttock "Vicky Puttock" (Nutfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mugabe And The White African [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This film was viewed in a special screening, many of which are currently being shown across the UK. It is a powerful true story of one white farmer's struggle against the injustice of the Mugabe dictatorship.
In my view this film should be shown in schools. The issues raised of race, culture and discrimination can then be seen within the context of the 21st century.
One family show courage and determination against all the odds. Their Christian faith is the backbone of decisions made.
A remarkable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mugabe And The White African [DVD] [2009], 8 April 2011
This review is from: Mugabe And The White African [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
After living & working in the Chibiluma Copper Mine in Zambia (1968 to 1972)I moved to Rhodesia & worked as an Engineer (1972 to 1977)in the Rodia Chemical Industries Fertilizer Plant on the Umtala Road just outside Salisbury (Now Harare).When I left in 1977 Rhodesia was one of the best countries in the world to live & raise a family.It had one of the best Education & Medical Systems in the world(had the lowest infant mortality rate in Africa).The DVD was excellantly made but horrowing & upsetting to watch.How can the civilised world stand back & let that evil & treacherous man Mugabe slaughter the innocent people of Zimbabwe both black & white. The Campbell family & their farm employees were heroes in confronting Mugabe & his cohorts.Mugabe And The White African [DVD] [2009]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mugabe and the White African, 11 July 2012
This review is from: Mugabe And The White African [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Very informative on issues affecting all the people of Zimbabwe. The courage of this family in their struggle for justice for the nation is inspirational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars too close to home, 6 July 2010
This review is from: Mugabe And The White African [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I was at school with Laura, and their struggle is too close to the bone. We fled Africa in search of safety. It answers pefectly the question of why we left. I cried through most of it. Their faith and strength shines through and I am so proud of them. I am also grateful for the staid safety of the western world, while homesick for the beautiful land of my birth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best documentary of the year, 20 May 2010
This review is from: Mugabe And The White African [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
wow this was so gripping i just felt so absorbed by the story, i really feel for the family in the story. wish everyone gets to see this, such a tragic reality .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing documentary!!!, 19 May 2010
This review is from: Mugabe And The White African [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This documentary really is amazing, and I think everyone should watch it. I'm amazed and humbled by the bravery of Ben and his family to stand up to all the potentially deadly situations, the bravery of the film crew, the farm workers, and everyone that stood up for what is right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Civilization and the law, 11 May 2013
By 
This review is from: Mugabe And The White African [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
There are of course many ways to look at the same thing, and the case is put forward that the whites were brutal to black Africans for a long time and of course that's true. However,I just don't see how stealing land from people who have paid for it under the law and who are gainfully employing black Africans redresses this in the least, especially when the land is going to a Minister's son and not a poor man. Mugabe rewarded his cronies and allies and of course the result was massive loss of jobs and the total decline of agricultural production. Look at Uganda and what happened when the Asians were thrown out and you'll find much the same.
The people in the film are not heroes, they're fighting for their livelihoods and what is theirs UNDER THE LAW independently of what white people did before them. And people who have been to Africa and lived there, as I have, should remember that there is still tribalism and prejudice and hostility between black people which is at least as bad as that of the whites. The driver we hired in Africa would not get out of the car or eat as long as he was in the territory of another tribe in his own country as he considered them "inferior" -- though the food was as clean as it gets in Africa and good, and though he was hungry, he considered that tribe as "untouchable".
Also, I wonder how Africans would feel if all black people were thrown out of Europe and the rest of the world and their property and belongings confiscated?
Even if this has happened before in history to them, what good does it do to seek revenge or compensation in this way? None. In fact, the result only benefited a small minority of oligarchs, while common people went on suffering.
I do agree we should have seen more of the workers, who were worried about themselves and rightly so, because this shows that there is a chain of people who suffer when the law is not upheld.
As far as the Chinese, which the Minister's son mentions as great guys, a cartoon I saw recently in Uganda depicted a huge Chinese man throwing bags of money at a poor black African who was all happy but thought "I wonder if they want something in return?" Wait and you'll see...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mugabe and the White African, 19 July 2010
This review is from: Mugabe And The White African [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
An Inspiring film. Fantastic cimenatography, showing a snippet of how the world is not a smaller place. There are places in the world that still exist which defy all logic and are a'flipside' to life as we know it, living in a first world country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mugabe And The White African [DVD] [2009]
Mugabe And The White African [DVD] [2009] by Lucy Bailey (DVD - 2010)
£4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews