Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Meaningful
I'm a huge fan of the original 3 Karate Kid films and i'm usualy very skeptical when follow ons like this are made ( such as Rocky 5 ). Admittedly this film lacks the magic of the first three as its starting from ground zero with a new kid, but having spent the whole day watching all four i have realised that its not the plot or the actors that make it a Karate kid film...
Published on 2 Jan 2005 by Thomas Baldwin

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best film in the series.
Having seen all three of the Karate Kid movies i sat down to this one quite excited. I was disappointed, but only slightly. The storyline was not that great. In the original, the build up to the big karate championships is great, however all this tension is lost in this film and all Julie ends up doing is fighting some petty boys that are teasing her and her...
Published on 27 Nov 2003 by no1filmaddict


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Meaningful, 2 Jan 2005
I'm a huge fan of the original 3 Karate Kid films and i'm usualy very skeptical when follow ons like this are made ( such as Rocky 5 ). Admittedly this film lacks the magic of the first three as its starting from ground zero with a new kid, but having spent the whole day watching all four i have realised that its not the plot or the actors that make it a Karate kid film but the way delivers a positive outlook on life and a deeper meaning in a very heartwarming way. Its an 80's film made in the 90's and following the first three it was doomed from the start but My love for Mr Miagie and his amazing way with words made it worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best film in the series., 27 Nov 2003
Having seen all three of the Karate Kid movies i sat down to this one quite excited. I was disappointed, but only slightly. The storyline was not that great. In the original, the build up to the big karate championships is great, however all this tension is lost in this film and all Julie ends up doing is fighting some petty boys that are teasing her and her boyfriend.
At least we get to see the wise Mr Miyagi again, and hear some more of his teachings.
Overall i guess its not that bad a movie but i would only recommend it to a die-hard fan of the karate kid series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Next Karate Kid, 2 Oct 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
After the luke warm reception of "Karate Kid III" you would be quite right to ask whether a forth instalment of the series is really necessary. On first looks you can say well at least they dropped the ragged looking Daniel and Mr Miyagi combination and through a rather contrived opening sequence transported the diminutive caretaker to Boston and the home of the widow of a former Army friend.
The home also houses unruly teenager Julie Pierce, a girl with a liking for short cut off jeans and breaking and entering her high school to look after a rescued hawk. It becomes pretty clear how the film is going to develop with Julie getting suspended from school after a run in with the local gang of bullies and Mr Miyagi getting on the wrong side of the school's football coach. During Julie's suspension Miyagi takes Julie away to a Buddhist monastery retreat where in scenes that are much similar to the very first "Karate Kid" film he teaches her karate techniques and his own brand of philosophy.
The rest of the film could be guessed by anyone even slightly familiar with the series and none of it comes as any surprise although the scene where the monks come to visit Miyagi in Boston and they all go bowling is quite amusing.
Hilary Swank who plays Julie does a pretty good job to be honest and she's the one real bright light in the film, apart from being extremely attractive in those cut off jeans she favours she gives a great entertaining performance and she always keeps the viewer rooting for her.
If you were of an age to have missed the original Karate Kid when it was released in 1984 and saw this one first then you'd enjoy it just as much as those of us brought up on the original. For any veterans of the series this does seem like a repeat in places but it's not all bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not a bad film, 25 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Next Karate Kid [DVD] (DVD)
not as good as the first 3 but it is wicked because it has mr myagi in it and Hilary Swank plays quite a good role also
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good entertaining film, 20 May 2011
By 
I. G. Ross (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good film , action packed . You can see through the theme of the film that Miagi doesn't like bullies .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Next Karate Kid DVD, 14 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Next Karate Kid [DVD] (DVD)
This was an enjoyable and relaxing DVD. The quality of the picture and sound was excellent, and the storyline was easy to follow and made you feel good. This is a great DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Next Karate Kid [DVD] (DVD)
vey good film just as good as the other three films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars `Fighting no good, but if must fight, win!', 16 July 2013
By 
This review is from: The Next Karate Kid [DVD] (DVD)
Miyagi Yakuga (Noriyuki "Pat" Morita) is called on for help, by the widow of an old war buddy.
She doesn't know what to do with her pretty but rebellious teenage granddaughter, after the recently orphaned girl was put in her care.
Meanwhile the girl, Julie, has her own troubles with a gang of local thugs at her school, led by a sadistic sports coach, while keeping her pet, a lame hawk hidden in the school grounds.
Her own love interest, a boy named Eric, is involved in the same battle with the gang called the Alpha elite.
Mr Miyagi knows just what to do, and the first thing is to teach Judy some self-discipline and inner calm.
The best line in the movie comes from Mr Miyagi, and isn't it the truth?

`Fighting no good, but if must fight, win!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kids love, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Next Karate Kid [DVD] (DVD)
I got this as a present for christmas for my daughter, she loves them. It takes me back to when I was younger thats how old they are they came out in the 80's but they are still great fun to watch. Even though they are about kids learning karate they are still great for a family film in the afternoon great great great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Next Karate Kid [DVD] (DVD)
new dvd half price or less to the shops and came just as quickly so its a big thankyou from us
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Next Karate Kid [DVD]
The Next Karate Kid [DVD] by Christopher Cain (DVD - 2010)
6.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews