Customer Reviews


207 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (61)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great.. unless you like bass
I seem to go through headphones at a terrible rate, I'm lucky if a pair lasts a month, so I was pleased to be able to try these sports headphones which may, I hope, fare better.

The Good

Robust construction which may well last a reasonable length of time
Clear and distinct sound with good separation, pure highlights, loud but free from...
Published on 15 Jun 2010 by marcoscu

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars VERY tinny sound and awful fit (they won't stay on even with the loops)
They come with 3 different sizes of earbuds, which is good, but the buds point forwards on the headphones at a REALLY strange angle. Because of the loops over your ears it's impossible to get them to fit. They won't stay on if you're moving around and the sound is awful (I'm really not that picky) and lacking any mid-range sounds let alone bass - it's like listening to...
Published on 27 May 2011 by shlubby


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great.. unless you like bass, 15 Jun 2010
By 
marcoscu "marcoscu" (Chorley,UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Philips SHQ3000/10 Washable Sports Headphones with Anti-Bacterial Agent (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I seem to go through headphones at a terrible rate, I'm lucky if a pair lasts a month, so I was pleased to be able to try these sports headphones which may, I hope, fare better.

The Good

Robust construction which may well last a reasonable length of time
Clear and distinct sound with good separation, pure highlights, loud but free from distortion or clipping
Selection of earplug fittings supplied
Once in place they are very secure and unlikely come off during jogging or other exercising
Hard case supplied
Clip attached to cord to stop it flapping about when you move around
Waterproof and indeed can be cleaned in running water.

The Bad
No Bass. If you want a bassy sound then walk on, nothing for you here.
Fitting them is a two handed job (three would be better), but maybe that's just me.
No volume control, this is a nuisance with a sports headset as it can be difficult to access you iPhone or MP3 device when jogging
Supplied case is large, and whilst difficult to open still manages to be quite flimsy

In short, these are very much a set for joggers or those who need a headset on the move and of course these are sold as such. This headset is not for audiophiles - the sound is very clear, sharp and unmuggy (is that a word?) but it has to be said the bass frequencies just are not there as they should be in a unit that is by no means cheap. The build quality is good and if you can live with the over the ear hook design (many can't) they will be very secure when in place. Joggers need fear the rain no more as this headset is fully waterproof

For the non bass loving jogger these would be a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what i needed. 9/10, 9 Feb 2011
By 
Daniel A. Savva (Burton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philips SHQ3000/10 Washable Sports Headphones with Anti-Bacterial Agent (Electronics)
After going through another pair of headphones that were ruined from the rigorous strain and the sweat at the gym i decided to fork out and buy a proper pair of exercise headphones.

SOUND QUAITY
One of the big factors of head sets is the sound quality, this head set offered superb sound, the bass was just right even though i know some have complained about such things on phillips sports headphones but i didn't have any such problem. The noise canceling ear buds were great at blocking out the sounds around me and whatever crap the gym decided to stick on which improves the sound quality in itself.

BUILD QUALITY/DESIGN
The quality of the head phones is quite obvious, its made from strong but flexible plastic that allows it to be shaped to any ear, although it most likely wont be necessary. The cord also seems quite strong but only time will tell on that. Any part of the headphones that sweat may get into is very nicely protected so i have strong faith in their sweat-proof-ness. They are very well designed and fit very snugly in the eat, a lot of head phones i have tried in the past with the noise canceling buds on i have found very uncomfortable and irritating, that is not the case with this headset, it was very comfortable, fit very well and there was no irritation. This may be down to the placement of the ear plugs/buds themselves they are at an unusual angle that i have not seen before, but ether way, it works.

PROBLEMS
The only problems i can find with these headphones is the length of the cord, i think phillips may have over done it a little bit. Even with my phone in my pocket and i am 6'2 so its not a small distance from my ears to my pocket and there is still a lot of excess cord. This is a minor problem and easily solved.

The second problem is that it has no controls on the cord to pause, play or skip music but this too is a minor problem and you adapt pretty quickly

DELIVERY
I was very impressed with the speed of the delivery, i ordered them at 10pm, i got an email confirming dispatch at 11am the next day, they then arrived the following day well packaged and with a specialise carrying case which is a nice touch

CONCLUSION
These are a cracking pair of headphones for anyone who likes to exercise and tired of going from one cheap pair of head phones to the next, the sound is great, they look stylish, well made and most importantly are a very reasonable price

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars VERY tinny sound and awful fit (they won't stay on even with the loops), 27 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips SHQ3000/10 Washable Sports Headphones with Anti-Bacterial Agent (Electronics)
They come with 3 different sizes of earbuds, which is good, but the buds point forwards on the headphones at a REALLY strange angle. Because of the loops over your ears it's impossible to get them to fit. They won't stay on if you're moving around and the sound is awful (I'm really not that picky) and lacking any mid-range sounds let alone bass - it's like listening to the built in speaker on my ipod nano.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 19 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips SHQ3000/10 Washable Sports Headphones with Anti-Bacterial Agent (Electronics)
These earphones sound great but in practice are not. The sound is very poor, like the music is being played through a tin can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent piece of kit - highly recommended, 12 Jun 2010
By 
Bryan (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Philips SHQ3000/10 Washable Sports Headphones with Anti-Bacterial Agent (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Having tried various 'in the ear' earphones without success (they always fall out when I move!) I was keen to try this new product from Philips. These headphones have a unique clip over the ear design with the earphone itself positioned in such a fashion that it sits comfortably in the ear without slipping out, like so many basic earphone styles. A simple twist ensures the earphones sit perfectly in the ear and the pack comes with three different size ear caps so they should fit all ear types. The orange colour sets these headphones aside from the basic black and silver types readily available on the market and each pair of headphones comes with its own black plastic storage case which I think is a great idea rather than leaving them lying around to get dirty. But dirt is not a problem as these headphones can be easily washed to maintain their cleanliness. The other thing I liked about these headphones is the white plastic stay which keeps the two leads in place and the black clip-on fastener which is useful to stop the lead moving around excessively. The sound quality through the headphones was exceptional and as a result I cannot fault this item in any way! Excellent work, Philips!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Keep away from these headphones!!!!!!!!, 15 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips SHQ3000/10 Washable Sports Headphones with Anti-Bacterial Agent (Electronics)
As my title says...do not consider these headphones if you:
. like a a bit of 'bass' in your songs = all you can hear while running are high pitched cymbals/snare and distant vocals
. want to run with them ( they definately don't stay in your ears...just because they are designed for Aliens' ears)

I have had the other philips in-ear hook type of headphones and they were brilliant (soundwise), far better than these so called 'sports headphones' ...I don't know who designed them but surely that person never used a human model to see if they' d fit human ears (the picture is very deceiving, the part that goes is in the ear is not lined up with the hook for some obscure reason,those who purchased this item will understand what I mean, try and go to a shop to have a closer look). Massive dissapointment and first time I have had to return an item.
I went on to buy the cheap JVC sport model (which is as bad by the way but cost only 6 quid). I am going to buy the other philips instead.

Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought after reading all the reviews.., 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips SHQ3000/10 Washable Sports Headphones with Anti-Bacterial Agent (Electronics)
So I was a little bad and bought these without reading the reviews. Mainly because I'm the kind of person who likes to make their own mind up based on my own findings. But when I read so many poor reviews on this site after I bought these headphones I was really concerned.
Anyway they came through this morning and first thing I did was take them out the packaging as carefully as possible in case they needed to be sent back and listened to a song with drum n bass lines in it. And to be honest, I don't understand why there's so many really bad reviews over this product. There's very little difference to Apples headphones. They fit my ears perfectly and are very comfortable, but I do have to explain I'm a woman so if you're a guy with Dumbo ears I wouldn't pick these. I don't have any 'tinny' sound to them and I can hear the bass, maybe there's some faulty ones being sold as with every product. Yes, its not as heavy as it could be but that's fine. But honestly they're really not as bad as some reviews have made out on here and for just over 15 seriously what do you think you're buying?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the greatest but they suffice, 30 Jan 2011
This review is from: Philips SHQ3000/10 Washable Sports Headphones with Anti-Bacterial Agent (Electronics)
Although the earphones look good they slip out of your ears if you start to perspire due to the angle of the ear piece. Keep having to put them back in so you can hear properly. Not good when trying to run, very distracting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete waste of money, 28 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips SHQ3000/10 Washable Sports Headphones with Anti-Bacterial Agent (Electronics)
Probably the worst 15 I've spent in several years.
The good: - err - I like the colour red.
The rest: Sound quality is appalling, no base, a tinny treble and you have to turn the volume up to maximum to hear anything much at all. External sound isolation is non-existent. Although the headphones are supplied with 3 different sized ear pieces this is of little use if the headphones can't be adjusted to fit correctly. Fiddly to put on and then they don't really fit in the ear.
Final good point: I don't intend using them again so I guess they will last well.
Conclusion - Best avoided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best item I've ever bought ...., 16 Oct 2010
This review is from: Philips SHQ3000/10 Washable Sports Headphones with Anti-Bacterial Agent (Electronics)
Bought this for running with iPhone
sound quality is poor, a little tinnie and quiet (not as good as the iPhone headphones by a long way)
also they do t fit very well (the right one is perfect but the left never feels comfortable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews