Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Testament of Johnny Cash
This is the very final installment of the Johnny Cash/Rick Rubin years and its going out on top. Whilst other artists would probably be scraping the barrel by this point, this set sees many of the tracks Johnny recorded in the time leading up to his death, and similar to the last few CDs in the series, they are poignant as well as special.

Johnny has been...
Published on 25 Jan 2010 by endlessharmony

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Album of Redemption
American VI is the final instalment in the Cash series and perhaps it might be an album too far. Whilst American V was never mawkish and saw a man confronting his mortality in song, this follow up, which came from the same sessions and was recorded in 2003. seems almost as if Cash is trying to convince himself on certain matters. So it doesn't have the immediacy of the...
Published 1 month ago by Mr. Peter Steward


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Testament of Johnny Cash, 25 Jan 2010
This is the very final installment of the Johnny Cash/Rick Rubin years and its going out on top. Whilst other artists would probably be scraping the barrel by this point, this set sees many of the tracks Johnny recorded in the time leading up to his death, and similar to the last few CDs in the series, they are poignant as well as special.

Johnny has been quoted as saying that the work he was doing with Rubin was the only thing keeping going after June sadly passed away and you can almost feel he's nearing the end as the songs see him looking back on his life and dealing with the difficult subject of salvation, faith and friendship.

This really is a wide range of songs that includes covers of Kris Kristofferson's 'For The Good Times'and'Redemption Day' by Sheryl Crowe, as well as one of the last songs he wrote 'First Corinthians', and its quite ironic that the set finishes with a song called 'Ain't No Grave'.

The Rubin years have really proved what a great talent Johnny was and that he can't be pigeon holed as simply a country musician, and this final set, almost 50 years on from his first recordings, is a great tribute to one of the great artists of popular music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw, honest and powerful, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its a good job we are not all the same as far as liking and rating music but fortunately that doesn't make any individual better or worst than the next. Music is a very individual thing, which is part of its appeal.

While many seem to somewhat dislike this album I actually think it is one of the best of the American recordings series, which as a whole are some of the best work Cash ever did.

I find the sometimes cracking and weaker voice on some tracks add to the power of this album rather than detract from it and Cash retains a great masculinity and honesty in his vocals despite his obviously weakening physical being due to ill-health.

Rather than being concerned about image or being pretentious Cash appears totally honest, sometimes brutally so and many songs appear to be him reflecting on the good and bad in his life.

In all Cash's work his voice is the stand-out factor to me and the simple arrangements in the American recordings series make the very best of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fully charged, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American VI: Ain't No Grave (MP3 Download)
Reading other reviews of this album that suggested this album made them feel sad, I couldn't help thinking that they may have been listening to a different album, unless the sadness expressed is a reflection of Johnny no longer being with us.

True it's not a "pop" album, but it like all the American albums it is packed with quality and the you could attribute a range of adjectives to the songs within. So for example:

"Ain't No Grave" - dramatic
"Redemption Day" - has a sense of urgency
"1 Corinthians 15:55" - poetic
"Satisfied Mind" - reflective
"Last Night I Had The Strangest Dream" - hopeful

The final song "Aloha Oe", which I know from the Elvis movie "Blue Hawaii", gives the impression to me that it was recorded by a man a man who was at peace with himself knowing that he was approaching the end of his days.

So I would say this final album is fully charged with different emotions, but "sad" is certainly not my overriding impression.

The album performed well in the charts on both sides of the Atlantic (US No.3 Billboard Top 200, No.2 County Albums, No.9 UK) and deservedly so.

I have thoroughly enjoyed acquiring and listening to the American albums from Johnny. I recommend the full set to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Touching, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was so sad to hear Johnny Cash's posthumous American V, which was a brilliant album and wonderfully produced. On first hearing, 'Ain't No Grave' continues where the last album left off. The title track s touching and ironic with its theme. Not as good as the last, mostly because the choice of songs is not quite as appealing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sad but good, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had this great cd and when I sold my car left it in the player. It is so good I had to buy it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 Aug 2010
This review is from: American VI: Ain't No Grave (MP3 Download)
Excellent album. It is a short album and rather dark, typical of his later material. If you like contempory folk music this is a must. all of his six american albums are brilliant and much different to his early stuff and appeals to a wider taste in music. Enjoy....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God bless Johnny Cash, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must have for anyone with a Johnny Cash collection. A truly wonderful end to a fantastic career and an incredible life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 20 Jun 2014
johnny cash at his best... very soul searching..lovely heartfelt songs really enjoy listening to these cd's.the last before he died.
....prompt delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Album of Redemption, 30 May 2014
By 
Mr. Peter Steward "petersteward" (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
American VI is the final instalment in the Cash series and perhaps it might be an album too far. Whilst American V was never mawkish and saw a man confronting his mortality in song, this follow up, which came from the same sessions and was recorded in 2003. seems almost as if Cash is trying to convince himself on certain matters. So it doesn't have the immediacy of the previous album.

Each song suddenly takes on a life of its own as a piece of redemption (hence the inclusion of Sheryl Crow's Redemption Day). He does inject some original feel to Kris Kristofferson's For the Good Times and Tom Paxton's Can't Help Wonder Where I'm Bound" speaks for itself. Less successful is the Cash original taken from the book of Corinthians straight from the Bible and there is a tired feel to Cool Water and Last Night I Had the Strangest Dream. As a legacy and reminder of the Man in Black this is a fitting epitaph, as an album in its own right it is passable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic album fast service delivery, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brilliant service, the album is superb, every song is fabulous and so good one of the best albums i have ever heard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews